We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seems a bit tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Harbour Castle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Harbour Castle to your Saves list
The Westin Harbour Castle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Harbour Square, Toronto, Ontario M5J 1A6, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #38 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Seems a bit tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

This is a good hotel in a very central downtown location. The hotel has great views of the lake and surrounding areas. Lobby is smart looking, clean, with very professional staff. The rooms are very basic and leave a lot to be desired. Doors are chipped, walls need care, and a some checking on the cleaning. My cordless phone did not work. No minibar or anything special to say about toiletries. OK for a business stay or conference, but still $180 per night.

Room Tip: Get a view to the lake or you will be looking at an empty lot on the left or buildings to your right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWestin, Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Raul S,
I thank you for sharing some comments on your recent stay.
I am pleased to read that you interacted well with our teams and relaxed in our newly renovated lobby.

The hotel is currently undergoing a complete renovation of all public space and we will then start working on refreshing the guestrooms. I trust you will be pleased with the result.
I will look forward to welcoming you back soon. Should you need anything in the meantime, please email me personally at experienceteam@westin.com

Be well
Candida Azevedo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    809
    932
    410
    141
    84
See reviews for
414
701
143
677
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

After multiple trips to Toronto and staying at the Hyatt Grand, I decided to try the Westin and am glad I did

The rooms were bigger-
They were better decorated
The location of this hotel by the water was a nice addition.
The restaurants nearby were great.
The price was better-

As a frequent traveler,
My future trips will definitely be here at the Westin.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWestin, Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Pnieboer2,
I am glad you trusted us and decided to book a room here too!

It was a pleasure to welcome you, and I am really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that we now are your hotel of choice when in Toronto.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Should you need anything in the meantime, please email me personally at experienceteam@westin.com
Be well
Candida Azevedo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed at the Westin Harbour Castle following a 4-day trip on the Via train service across Canada.

After living in very cramped conditions for those days, we were delighted to find the Westin to be so well proportioned and laid out, clean and modern and the bathroom was a total gem. Our booked lake view was not quite what we had expected, but the room was so comfortable we stayed put. Also, very quiet so very peaceful. Breakfast the following day was very good, but we think rather expensive, so we chose not to use that service again. The harbour area to the rear and side of the hotel is laid out delightfully, and with many pleasant walks.

David the concierge needs special mention as being so particularly helpful and courteous, he went out of his way to assist us with our pre-booked trip to Niagara/Niagara on the Lake and to organise the bus tour of Toronto for us. We thank him for his kind help, unlike his companion who was not quite so courteous and appeared to find her role rather tedious and showed it!

Downside for the hotel is that maybe out of season there did not seem to be much choice in restaurants/bars locally, but believe that changes dramatically during the summer season when the harbour area comes to life again. Toronto is such a vibrant city that there is very much to do there, but the Westin is rather away from the centre. Also, seems a great shame that such a large group as Westin had no input in the airport shuttle service; in that the shuttle stop was on the opposite side of the road to the hotel on an area completely open to the elements, and so waiting there early on was not exactly pleasant to say the least. (Maybe we are rather spoilt in the UK with our bus shelters?)

If we visit Toronto again we would certainly stay at the Westin Harbour Castle but would try to go there during the summer months.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are available, but make sure you get placed in the right tower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWestin, Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Caz06,
Your journey across Canada sounds wonderful!
Thank you for staying with us to relax after visiting all these wonderful places. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will make sure to thank David for taking such great care of you!
We would love to welcome you back in the summer – as you mentioned, the city really comes to life then after the long Canadian winters.

Safe travels,
Be well
Candida Azevedo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We had 4 nights in the hotel and it was fine. The location is good especially as it was right on the lake so the views are lovely and didn't feel like we were in the huge metropolis we were in. Rooms were a little tired as were corridors but all clean and the rooms were large. Bathrooms were older and again tired.

Breakfast was not worth the money, we only had it once as for the $50 they charge we chose to go to a place around the corner where the food was high quality and not drenched in cheese.

We had one night of hell with residents next door playing music, having very loud "relations" and screaming more swear words I ever heard in one place; it was disgusting and as it kept us up until 5am it ruined our penultimate day. Security did deal with my complaint and they were quiet for a time but this didn't get rid of the uneasy feeling of having these very aggressive people next door. The next day we complained to the guest relations who were very apologetic and gave us breakfast on our last morning and a late check out. This was all they could do to say sorry as the refund for the night I requested wasn't possible - I understand the lady couldn't do anymore herself but perhaps Westin should review their policy on this as it was the worst experience I have ever had in a hotel. I would like to say the hotel did what they could but in my opinion this wasn't enough.

Pool was a good place to relax for an hour or so, was very busy on our stay but nice to have the facilities. It is also super handy for the Air Canada centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a good lake view, well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWestin, Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Kerry B,
I appreciate you staying with us recently and sharing your experience.
I understand that you enjoyed our location and took advantage of our swimming-pool to relax.

Thank you for reporting the noise issue to our security team right away. I am pleased to read that they reacted quickly and efficiently and that our front office manage offered you complimentary breakfast to apologize for the uneasy feeling you had the night before. If you would like to speak with me personally and discuss your stay in further details, please email me your contact information at experienceteam@westin.com

Thank you again for bringing your comments to my attention,
Be well
Candida Azevedo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

The Location is good if you want or need to be by the water.. It is close to the ACC and Roger's Centre. The location lacks proximity to restaurants, bars and other attractions.
There is no real ramp to street level. We had to take two strollers through a steep parking garage area to get to the street. The staff was very friendly and helpful and weren't just looking for tips. The hotel was very good about getting us set up with two cribs in the room.

Room Tip: Used getaroom.com to book and the hotel gave us rooms on the penthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWestin, Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear AnitaDK,
Thank you for staying with us recently.

I am sorry that our team did not notify you of our street level entrance – by the ferry building.
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and connected well with our teams.

Thank you again for sharing your recommendation.
Be well
Candida Azevedo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We had an amazing stay April 5th (our 17th wedding anniversary) at the Westin Harbour Castle. We went with another couple and stayed in a penthouse suite. The rooms were nicely decorated and classy. They were very clean and inviting. The staff heard it was our wedding anniversary and surprised us with a bottle of champagne and a chocolate tray! A very thoughtful gesture and made our stay that much more welcoming.
We were very impressed with the staff and how friendly and attentive they were. The other couple we went with have stayed at the hotel a few times and were recognized by Efra a few of the staff members, which was very impressive. We were very pleased with the Mizzen staff. They were friendly, cleared plates quickly and filled coffee cups and juice glasses without having to ask.
We are looking forward to our next visit to Toronto and will be sure to stay at your hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWestin, Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear carrieig,
First of all, happy belated wedding anniversary!

Thank you for celebrating this special occasion with us. I am really pleased that you stayed in one of our penthouse suites and enjoyed your visit.

At Westin, we strive to make sure that our guests leave us feeling better than when they arrived and I am truly pleased we succeeded.
We are also looking forward to your next visit to Toronto.

Be well
Candida Azevedo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We arrived on a March 31, 2014 from the Dominican Republic before returning to Winnipeg, MB. Check-in was quick. Dinner in the lounge was satisfying. A very late check-out was accommodated to fit with our flight schedule.
All in all, a stress less stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWestin, Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Brn2trvl2014,
I am pleased that our teams took great care of you and that you were able to relax well between your flights.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your quick visit to Toronto and thank you kindly for sharing your kind recommendation with fellow travelers.

Safe travels and hoping to see you soon!.
Be well
Candida Azevedo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Harbour Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Harbour Castle

Address: 1 Harbour Square, Toronto, Ontario M5J 1A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto , Harbourfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#24 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#27 Family Hotel in Toronto
#27 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#34 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Harbour Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 977
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto. Our downtown Toronto hotel is located on the vibrant waterfront of Lake Ontario, where you can enjoy Toronto's seasonal events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Starwood, Orbitz, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Harbour Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Harbour Castle Hotel Toronto
Westin Hotel Toronto
Westin Toronto
Westin Harbor Castle Hotel Toronto
Toronto Westin
Westin Harbour Castle Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Harbour Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.