We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Harbour Castle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Harbour Castle to your Saves list
The Westin Harbour Castle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Harbour Square, Toronto, Ontario M5J 1A6, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #38 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a great hotel in a great location. I recommend a lake view room. The staff is attentive and eager to be helpful if they can be found. Expect lines and waits at the bars, check in desks and concierge during events and peak times. It is ideally located within a few blocks of most of Toronto's Downtown, attractions and transportation. Taxi and bus transportation is continuous and practically door to door. The decor is fresh, clean and inviting. The conference wing is huge, easy to access, with plenty of guidance. Pros: Staff eagerness. decor, location, amenities. quiet rooms. Cons:Price, Costly internet access, Costly business center access. Costly local calls, Staff availability. Lines/Waits.

Room Tip: Up high and lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Bombero474,
Thank you kindly for sharing your recommendation.

I am sorry you had to experience some delays at check-in and bars – I appreciate you noticing the recently renovated space and am pleased that you like it and find it inviting.

At Westin, we value feedback and realize how important it is for our guests to stay connected while they are on the road. This is why we are currently working on a new tier-pricing process that will offer all our guests 30 minute complimentary connection to check emails.

I look forward to your next visit, Should you need anything in the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact me at experienceteam@westin.com

Be well
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    1,007
    437
    153
    88
See reviews for
451
749
152
731
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (684)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This hotel was in a very convenient location for our touring around Toronto. The rooms were very pleasant, the beds particularly comfortable. Our room had a nice lake view. Exceptionally quiet! even though the hotel appeared quite busy judging from lobby activity, we never heard a bit of noise from the hallway or other rooms. The staff was helpful and friendly. Construction on the street might have caused a bit of confusion if we were driving to and from the hotel, but was easy to navigate on foot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Hazel S
What a great review! Thank you kindly for sharing it.

I am delighted to read that you took advantage of our location to explore the city and managed to relax well in your room .

Our team is looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Should you need anything prior to your next visit, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at experienceteam@westin.com

Be well
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a very large hotel but you don't feel lost in it as the staff are very attentive giving first rate service. The location, on the harbour, is ideal and you are not far from public transport. Unless you buy it in a pckage breakfast will cost you but there is a very extensive spread to choose from. All said a very pleasing experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear bub_s869,

I truly appreciate you sharing some nice comments on your recent visit.
I am delighted that you enjoyed our location and facilities and I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Be well
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our reception by the Bell Staff started off our visit to the Toronto Westin with style and grace. They were more than helpful in offering to take our bags and when we declined because we only had a single suitcase, they were equally gracious in helping us and giving us any guidance we needed. Checkin was efficient and nicely handled with the receptionist giving us a room with a view of the Lake.

The rooms are spacious, very stylish and very, very clean. The beds comfortable and the bathrooms stocked with plenty of towels, washcloths and a bathrobe.

The hotel location is well within walking distance of central downtown with the Four Seasons Theater (where we saw La Boheme), no more than a 20 minute walk north of the hotel. This was the northern extent of our visit and we found all other shops and restaurants between the theater and the hotel easily accessable.

I highly recommend the Toronto Westin Harbor to any one who would like a beautiful and comfortable hotel while visiting Toronto.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Coticon,

This is exactly how it should feel at Westin!

I was delighted to read your kind review and to know that our teams took such great care of you from the moment you arrived at our hotel.

I truly appreciate you sharing your recommendation and I will look forward to welcoming you back soon – maybe for another great show at the Opera!

Be well
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My wife and I were there with a convention in early October. While the weather did not fully cooperate, the hotel and staff made our stay very memorable. When reading the reviews prior to our visit, we were impressed that the General Manager, Edwin Frizzell took the time to read and respond to each review. When checking in, we asked for a room 'up high' with a nice view. We were given a 20th floor room with a great view of the lake. The room was clean and well appointed in every way. The beds where exceptionally comfortable. The staff was helpful and friendly. Especially Danilo in the Chartroom Bar. Just ask for him if you want great, friendly service. All-in-all, we had a wonderful four night stay and would highly recommend that you give the Harbour Castle a try.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear KasoJax,

Thank you to you and your wife for staying with us during your recent convention and for sharing some nice words on your stay.

At Westin, we value all our guests and this is why I make sure to connect with everybody the best I can. I am delighted to read that this little touch made a great impression on you.

I will make sure to thank Danilo on your behalf and we will all look forward to welcoming you both back – maybe next spring when you can enjoy our city with a nice warm weather!

Be well
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergele
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel en route to family. Both times have been excellent. From speedy check ins, helpful bell boys, pleasant staff. Lovely rooms overlooking lake Ontario. The breakfasts are somewhat pricy, but the coffee shop serves the purpose just as well. The restaurant on the top floor, serves first class food, with views to die for, not 'quite' as high as the CN tower but magnificent. Would certainly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Bonny-Wales

Thank you for being a loyal guest of our hotel.
It is a pleasure to know that your stays are consistently excellent and that our team always takes
great care of you.

I truly appreciate your kind recommendation and look forward to seeing you soon!

Be well
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kincardine, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed at the Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto September 25th for one night. This was not our first stay but definitely our last! We had a room in the south tower and the hallway was awful. The wallpaper was bulging and the carpet was all stained. In our room we had two phones, neither of which were working! We had to use our cell to get room service. After two repairmen couldn't fix either phone we decided to tell them to leave it where upon we had a visit from a very rude security person telling us there had been a complaint of noise! The check in took ages also even tho' we have preferred membership. They did give us a rebate and free breakfast next day and also said it is going to be refurbished, but we won't go back. Gail W.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Gail W

First of all, thank you for being a loyal SPG guest and for sharing some thoughts on your recent
visit.
I am taking your comments seriously and will make sure to track the room you were in and have
our team investigate what happened.

As you mentioned that you already stayed at our property several times, you know that your
recent experience doesn’t reflect the quality of service that we usually deliver. This is why I would like to discuss with you in further details. Could you please email me your contact
information at experienceteam@westin.com?

I will look forward to your email and to connecting with you,
Be well
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Harbour Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Harbour Castle

Address: 1 Harbour Square, Toronto, Ontario M5J 1A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto , Harbourfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#27 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#27 Family Hotel in Toronto
#27 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#37 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Harbour Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 977
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto. Our downtown Toronto hotel is located on the vibrant waterfront of Lake Ontario, where you can enjoy Toronto's seasonal events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Starwood, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Harbour Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Harbour Castle Hotel Toronto
Westin Hotel Toronto
Westin Toronto
Westin Harbor Castle Hotel Toronto
Toronto Westin
Westin Harbour Castle Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Harbour Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.