We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay -always” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Harbour Castle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Harbour Castle to your Saves list
The Westin Harbour Castle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Harbour Square, Toronto, Ontario M5J 1A6, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #38 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Orillia, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent stay -always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Having stayed twice in the past year, once on business and most recently with my spouse for a weekend, and many times in prior years, the stays are always 5 star.
The property, the service, the location and the amenities nearby are top of the class for Toronto.
If you have a chance, get out and walk to Harbourfront, the scenery and ambience are fantastic.
Lots of restaurants and pubs to choose from.
Enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear hockeyfamily9,

Thank you for choosing our hotel as your home away from home.
It is always a pleasure to welcome you and I appreciate you taking the time to share your kind review. This is exactly how it should feel for all our guests.

I look forward to your next visit, and should you need anything in the meantime, please email me directly at experienceteam@westin.com

Be well,
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    863
    1,006
    437
    153
    88
See reviews for
451
747
152
731
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (683)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Westin Harbour Castle has a few things going for it:
1) Location! The hotel is located right on the harbour, so if you're planning to spend a lot of time along the lake, this is a great spot for you.
2) Fitness: they take it seriously at Westin. They offer workout sneakers and clothes for the duration of your stay, and their fitness facility is huge compared to other chain hotels (Marriott, Hilton).
3) Service: I booked an extended stay (11 days), and I received a couple different welcome packets from a Guest Experience manager. Nothing too fancy, but a nice touch that stood out to me.
4) Lobby bar: they serve free bar peanuts/spicy nuts. It's a minor thing, but I found myself ordering an extra round to chat with the bartenders while I finished my free snack.

Now, the run of the mill stuff...
1) Food: not the best, not the worst. You'll want to explore Toronto's food scene instead of relying on room service each night.
2) Housekeeping: I signed up for their "Go Green" initiative (can't think of the name) which basically meant that I would only receive housekeeping three times during my 11 day stay. I didn't get my last round of housekeeping, and had to call a few times to get my towels and coffee refilled. This is a voluntary initiative, and I admire their effort to conserve, I would just recommend not doing it if you're staying for more than 3-4 nights, as it gets messy. But that's just me. This leads to my last point...
3) This place is HUGE. Lots of rooms means lots of people, which meant for me bus loads of kids in town for school trips. Sounds like I'm being a downer, but I honestly waited 20 min. for an elevator while 25 children crammed in and out. Tough go of it if you're there with your boss, trying to chat/plan dinner.

Overall - I really liked this place. I admired their effort to reach out to me to optimize my experience, and I loved my view/location. The "green" initiative is also admirable, probably harder to manage with so many rooms.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor, the view is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Dom_from_CLE,

Thank you kindly for sharing your review and bringing your comments for improvement to my attention.

First of all, I am pleased that you enjoyed our location and took advantage of it to explore Toronto. I will thank the team for taking good care of you and sending you some nice amenities during your long stay to make you feel at home.

Now, I apologize for the not-so-flawless execution of our Make a Green Choice Program. I will reach out to our Director of Housekeeping to ensure it is better managed in the future and avoid similar issues.

I would really appreciate if you could email me prior to your next visit (at experienceteam@westin.com) so that I can make sure the team is ready for your arrival and to ensure we take extra good care of you
See you soon and thank you again kindly for taking the time to review your recent visit.

Be well,
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redbridge
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

On arrival the check in was fast and very friendly. The room was spacious, clean with a great view of the lake. Comfy bed & no problem with the air con. Coffee maker with Starbucks coffee.
Ice machine available on the floor in a separate room was much appreciated.
Agree there is a lot of construction going on in front of the hotel which made getting in and out of the hotel a challenge but hardly the fault of the hotel.
Its a 30 minute walk to the Eaton Centre or for just 3 dollars a number 6 bus from round the corner will get you there. A very good service.
A very pleasant walk along the waterfront just around the corner.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear romford99,

I am pleased to know that our team exceeded your expectations during your recent visit and that you slept well in the Westin Heavenly Bed.

Thank you for sharing your kind review. I will look forward to your next stay and should you need anything in the meantime, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at experienceteam@westin.com

Be well,
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thedford, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Excellent service, friendly people behind the counter. Spectacular views of Toronto and of the islands and downtown airport. Beautiful grounds, great walking areas, close to restaurants and entertainment. Downside, parking is expensive.

Room Tip: Request upper floors, choose either city view or the water. Request a room with partial views of bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Don,

WOW, what a great review! Thank you kindly for sharing it with fellow travelers.

Sounds to me like a flawless visit. I will look forward to welcoming you back soon
Enjoy the summer!
Be well,
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRAVENHURST
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Two days there while attending the 75th International Barbershop convention were very comfortable. I had the best nights sleep and very nice breakfast buffet.
Toronto has too much construction going on but the waterfront is still enjoyable and the view of the harbor is impressive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Alan,

Thank you kindly for staying with us during the Barbershop convention and for taking the time to share your review.
I am so pleased that you slept well in the Westin Heavenly bed and enjoyed your breakfast in our Mizzen restaurant.

I look forward to your next visit,
Be well,
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We often stay at the Westin Harbour Castle when visiting Toronto, but this trip wasn't up to our expectations. We stayed for a weekend in May, which we booked months ahead of time - we were pleased that we had booked it so early since later a Rolling Stones concert was scheduled for the same night.

Unfortunately, upon our arrival, despite having booked prior to the concert's announcement, the hotel didn't have the room type we reserved. They gave us a room, but it was smaller and less pleasant than we were expecting. In particular, the double beds were very tight for us, and the view was absolutely dreadful.

On the upside, service in the lobby bar was quite good and the valet parking service went off without a hitch.

Mixed experience, so I think we'll try another place next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear markp30,

Let me start by thanking you for being loyal guests of our hotel.
I am sorry that your most recent Westin experience was not as flawless as it usually is.

Because you are familiar with the quality of service and amenities we provide, you know that your most recent visit was unusual. I apologize that you did not get your usual room because our hotel was so busy. I would really appreciate if you could email me at experienceteam@westin.com prior to your next visit so that I can make sure our teams are all aware of your arrival and take extra good care of you.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon,
Be well,
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Our Wedding Day and stay at The Westin Harbour Castle Hotel in Toronto was fantastic.  Staff at the hotel are professional, knowledgeable, very helpful and friendly. Toula restaurant has great food, friendly staff, and the best views of Toronto. All our guests were very satisfied with the service at this hotel. We highly recommend Westin Harbour and the Toula restaurant to everyone who appreciates high quality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerWestin, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Bea,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us for your special day!
The whole team is pleased that you celebrated well with us and I thank you for sharing your kind review.

We look forward to seeing you soon – maybe for your first-year anniversary celebration?!

Be well,
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Harbour Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Harbour Castle

Address: 1 Harbour Square, Toronto, Ontario M5J 1A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto , Harbourfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#27 Family Hotel in Toronto
#27 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#27 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#37 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Harbour Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 977
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto. Our downtown Toronto hotel is located on the vibrant waterfront of Lake Ontario, where you can enjoy Toronto's seasonal events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Starwood, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Harbour Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Harbour Castle Hotel Toronto
Westin Hotel Toronto
Westin Toronto
Westin Harbor Castle Hotel Toronto
Toronto Westin
Westin Harbour Castle Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Harbour Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.