We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for business in Toronto” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Harbour Castle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Harbour Castle to your Saves list
The Westin Harbour Castle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Harbour Square, Toronto, Ontario M5J 1A6, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #38 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good choice for business in Toronto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I fly in and out of the island airport to visit Toronto for work frequently. This hotel is a 5 minute ride from/to the airport. Rooms are a little boring, but almost always very clean and comfortable. Lobby area is welcoming and has the good Westin smell. Restaurant has a good breakfast, have never tried dinner.

The lake views can be fun when the weather is nice. Not a place to stay if you want to walk around downtown Toronto, as it is a bit cutoff by hghways. For a good clean business stay if you are okay with cabbing it to restauarants and stores, this is a good choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinFrizzell, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear DWtravelsalot,

Thank you for staying with us during your many business trips to Toronto. It is always a pleasure to welcome you.
I thank you for taking the time to share your review and I am pleased that you noticed our white tea scent in all common areas.

I wish you a Happy New Year and look forward to welcoming you back!
Stay well,
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    1,007
    437
    153
    88
See reviews for
451
749
152
731
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (684)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and I went to my works Christmas Party that was held at the Westin Harbour Castle. The Hotel is outstanding with amazing views of Lake Ontario. The room was very comfortable with a nice guest lounge chair and a very comfy king size bed. Bar fridge and flat screen tv in the room. The food at both the Bar and at the Westin Conference centre was very good. Grey Cup weekend was great as there were a lot of CFL fans at the hotel having a good time.

Room Tip: Get a Lake View in the South Tower it is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinFrizzell, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Katian70,

WOW, this is great to hear that you and your wife truly enjoyed your weekend and holiday party was us.
I am glad that you were able to join us during the excitement of the Grey Cup and hope you managed to see Bob Irving broadcasting every evening from our lobby!

I look forward to welcoming you both back soon and wish you a Happy New Year!
Stay well,
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Ontario
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is lovely, nice rooms, great views. Everything was lovely. With one exception. The lobby bar service is disappointing. Very efficient but not at all friendly. All I'm asking for is a smile, nothing crazy. This is twice now and nothing has changed.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinFrizzell, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Candace,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your review following your stay with us and thank you for your valuable feedback,.
I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and I apologize for the disappointed service you got at the coffee bar. I will follow-up accordingly with the team and truly hope that you will email me at experienceteam@westin.com prior to your next stay so that I can make sure it is flawless.

Warm regards and Happy New Year!

Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Back in the day when I was a travel agent in Detroit, I used to book a lot of trips to Toronto. The Harbour Castle was always considered too isolated for tourists, and I still feel that it is. We stayed here for one night on Starwood points and it was fine. The hotel has recently been refurbished - the colors are muted and modern. The walls seem thin though - we could here clearly the people next door and others in the hallways during the night. The lobby area is maze of dreariness. The staff are friendly and helpful though. No concierge was on duty so the guys at the luggage desk were more than happy to help us find our way around town. We had a problem with a very slow sink in our bathroom, which we reported when upon check out, since it didn't really impact our stay, but we thought they would like to know. They took the price of parking off our bill... very nice. If not using starwood points, I probably wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinFrizzell, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Fossettes,

Let me start by wishing you and your loved ones a Happy New Year!

This is disappointing to know that we didn't exceed your expectations during your most recent stay with us.
I thank you for sharing your comments about our location and I am sorry that you did not take advantage of our free shuttle to the Eaton Centre and downtown. We hope that you will be able to stay with us in the summer this year so that you can really enjoy our location right on Lake Ontario and steps away from the ferry to Toronto Islands, the harbourfront centre and much more!

Please kindly email me at experienceteam@westin.com prior to your next visit so that I can make sure that it is flawless.
Sincerely,
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Went to Toronto to see the Bills play at the skydome (Rogers Center) and stayed overnight at the Westin Harbour Castle. The staff were terrific, very attentive and eager to please. I got a beautiful room on a higher floor just as I had requested when making my reservation.The view was of both the water and the city and was spectacular even without paying extra for one of the water view rooms. The room had all the modern amenities, flat screen high def TV, minifridge, coffee maker, internet connections. The bed and bedding were first rate and very luxurious. The room and bathroom was in like-new condition. The pool and fitness center were good sized and very modern. The hotel is about a $15 cab ride from most attractions in the city. I'd highly recommend the Westin Harbour Castle Hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor for the great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinFrizzell, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Ray,

This is exactly how we hope our guests feel when staying at The Westin Harbour Castle.
Thank you for your kind review and happy new year!
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind regards,
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The hotel is located a few blocks off the city centre but I think thats nice because its not so crowded. The hotel stay experience was perfect. Exceptional service, clean and state of the art ammenities. The most impressive was the bed/mattress. I think by far this has been the most comfy sleep I have experienced in all of my travels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinFrizzell, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear brobro888,

I am so glad that you rested well in our famous Westin Heavenly Beds!
I thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay and I look forward to welcoming you again in 2013

Warm regards,
Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

my girlfriend and I stayed at the Western harbor castle for my birthday. I had a wonderful experience, Even though purchasing from a website i expected to get everything they offered. i didn't get everything the website offered but Juan Carlos made up for it. he was very hospitable and accommodating. Juan made us feel special and appreciated everything was quick and easy. we highly recommend this hotel and had a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinFrizzell, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear 231Alejandro_C,

THANK YOU for sharing such a great review and for staying with us for your birthday!
I will make sure that I thank Juan Carlos on your behalf for the great personal service he offered you!
It is always a pleasure to know that our associates make a difference in guests' stays and I will share your great feedback with the team.

Stay well, and I look forward to your next visit - happy new year!

Edwin Frizzell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Harbour Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Harbour Castle

Address: 1 Harbour Square, Toronto, Ontario M5J 1A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto , Harbourfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#27 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#27 Family Hotel in Toronto
#27 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#37 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Harbour Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 977
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto. Our downtown Toronto hotel is located on the vibrant waterfront of Lake Ontario, where you can enjoy Toronto's seasonal events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Starwood, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Westin Harbour Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Harbour Castle Hotel Toronto
Westin Hotel Toronto
Westin Toronto
Westin Harbor Castle Hotel Toronto
Toronto Westin
Westin Harbour Castle Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Harbour Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.