We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why do they need to put so many pillows on the bed.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Harbour Castle

Save Saved
You added The Westin Harbour Castle to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Westin Harbour Castle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Harbour Square, Toronto, Ontario M5J 1A6, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Join SPG to save 5% more
Ranked #32 of 141 hotels in Toronto
Rome
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Why do they need to put so many pillows on the bed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I spent two days in the Westin Harbour for a conference. The room and conference facilities were excellent, as was the service. It's right on the lake, so the views are good, depending on the direction your room is facing and the location is convenient for visiting downtown. The bathroom could have used another bar for hanging towels, but that's pretty minor complaint. I can't comment on the price, as the room costs were covered by others.

Room Tip: Choose a lake view room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric A, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear badgertracks,
The Westin Harbour Castle offers excellent meeting space for such events like banquets, galas and conferences and I am pleased to know that your stay with us was enjoyable.

Thank you for sharing your review and we hope to welcome you back soon
Stay well,
Eric Ashton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,929 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    665
    745
    342
    108
    69
See reviews for
336
566
120
556
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed here for a couple days for a convention. I was given a preferred lake view room which was beautiful! The unobstructed view of the lake was stunning. The room was an okay size - comfy bed, clean. There aren't any vending machines around but luckily it's right downtown so a short walk can fix that problem.

Due to it's location, it can be quite pricey but overall, I had a comfy stay here. I would return for right price.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric A, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear TC¬_GTA,
Thank you for your review.
We are happy to hear that your stay at The Westin Harbour Castle was comfortable and relaxing. It is what we aspire to accomplish when guests choose our hotel, whether it be for business or leisure, the outcome we want to achieve is the same; stress free.

Hope to see you soon!
Sincerely,
Eric Ashton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed at the Westin Harbour Castle for business.

As for the hotel, the one big negative was that there are no vending machines anywhere in hotel, nor is there any sort of in-room mini-bar. What this means is that when I arrived late in the evening on my first night, there was no way I could get any sort of drink at all. I have NEVER stayed in a hotel where I could not get a bottle of water or a soda. When I called the front desk, they suggested room service or else I could go outside (in freezing rain) and get a drink down the street.

As for the room, it was average at best. I’m a Starwood Gold preferred member so I expected a room upgrade. When I checked in, they first said that my Gold membership was not on the reservation so that they had no available upgraded room. When I questioned further why that was the case (when my reservation clearly had my SPG number in it), the front desk person then said she found it and that it was in there. She then said there was one upgraded room left – but on a low floor. I took it and I am not sure it was an upgraded room. When I asked later in the week, they said it had a balcony so that made it upgraded. (Of course, it was cold so that was not something I’d never use.) Then, on the first night, there was a huge leak in the bathroom – water leaked from the ceiling all over the sink and floor and all over my toiletries. I called down and they came up and fixed it (never even offered to switch rooms). But when they fixed it, they did not even clean up all the water that was everywhere! So I had to call again and this time they sent up someone to clean.

As for the positives, the bed was comfortable. The double-headed shower was also great. The gym is very good and open 24 hours – it even has a swimming pool to do laps (although I didn’t use it). The conference room facilities also were very nice, as was the food that was served throughout the week.

So overall, I will say that I was disappointed. As a Westin, I expect a certain level of quality and service and I am not sure it was met here. I'm not sure I'd stay here again on my next trip to Toronto.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric A, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear seth2930,
Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointed experience you describe in your review. This is not reflective of the high levels of service we strive to offer our guests.

Rest assured I have personally followed up with our teams so they are aware of our guest's perception and how they can handle things differently in the future. Also, I will make sure to share your feedback on the absence of vending machines at our next director meeting.

I would really like to speak with you and apologize personally and would appreciate if you could email me at experienceteam@westin.com

Again dear seth2930, thank you for taking the time to send your feedback so we know where we have fallen short in our service delivery.

Sincerely,
Eric Ashton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Been coming here since I was a kid! The hotel has always been amazing even before renovations.

The rooms are always clean and well kept with great water and city views!

The pool is awesome.

Best room service Pizza ever

The hotel is right down town and conveniently located near everything


Downside - sometimes the air conditioners are a bit loud
- After the renovations they removed the grand piano in the lobby
-Spa is expensive but nice

Room Tip: Get a Jr. Suite facing the water and the city. Best of both worlds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric A, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear ChelsDmax,
It is great to hear that after all these years, our guests still come to us for their getaway destination, we appreciate your loyalty and thank you for taking the time to share your review.

I am sorry you missed the grand piano – we actually still have it in the hotel and move it depending on how busy the hotel is. We also are very proud to have a pianist entertaining guests in the lobby lounge several evenings every week. I hope you can come back and listen to her playing as she really is amazing!

Be well,
Eric Ashton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We booked this hotel off the net and scored a discounted rate. Very clean, lots and lots of amenities. If you want to your Toronto, excellent location!! The only negative is the initial registration. Very hectic parking situation.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric A, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear TheProbst ,
Let me thank you for taking the time to share your great review.
The Westin Harbour Castle has many programs revolving around their amenities, including WestinWORKOUT, swimming pool and whirlpool with beautiful views looking out to Lake Ontario.

I would like to apologize for the parking situation as the hotel can get very busy at times.
Warm regards,
Eric Ashton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stay at this hotel frequently with work and I really like the hotel. Fast check in, great area, close to transit, Toronto Island ferry, etc. The front desk staff and concierge are great.

I only wish they would spend a little more time monitoring their maids. I have had dirty carpets, and less than perfectly clean bathrooms on several stays. If they had their maids better trained I would have given this property a perfect score.

Beds, TV, internet, restaurant, room service, all are excellent.

Room Tip: Upper floors have less street noise but they are all decent in my experience. Both towers are of eq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric A, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear LongKeel,
First of all, let me thank you for taking the time to share some thoughts on your most recent stay and for being a loyal guest of The Westin Harbour Castle.

I would like to apologize on behalf of our Housekeeping department and will follow-up today with our Director of Rooms to ensure that extra care is given to the condition of the rooms in the future. What you described is not acceptable for our hotel and I would really appreciate if you could email me a phone number I can reach you at at experienceteam@westin.com to discuss the matter further.

Kind regards
Eric Ashton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for two nights as part of a business conference. The hotel is located on the waterfront in Toronto overlooking the Islands and the island airport. The rooms were clean but the hotel is very worn. Public washrooms are looking very old. Had food catered and it was fairly good. Valet parking was quite quick considering there were a large number of people leaving after the conference. The sound of toilets flushing all night was a little disruptive. Staff was very nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric A, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear tjocCanada,
Thank you for sharing your review and for staying with us during your recent conference.

I have noted what you’ve said about the décor of the hotel and can assure you that I will bring it up in the next monthly meeting in order to serve you better. Thank you for your feedback.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon

Sincerely,
Eric Ashton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Westin Harbour Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Harbour Castle

Also Known As:
Westin Harbour Castle Hotel
Westin Harbour Castle Hotel Toronto
Westin Hotel Toronto
Westin Toronto
Westin Harbor Castle Hotel Toronto
Toronto Westin
Westin Harbour Castle
Westin Harbour Castle Toronto
Address: 1 Harbour Square, Toronto, Ontario M5J 1A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto , Harbourfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#26 Family Hotel in Toronto
#33 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Harbour Castle 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto. Our downtown Toronto hotel is located on the vibrant waterfront of Lake Ontario, where you can enjoy Toronto's seasonal events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Westin Harbour Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Harbour Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.