We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable business stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Harbour Castle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Harbour Castle to your Saves list
The Westin Harbour Castle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Harbour Square, Toronto, Ontario M5J 1A6, Canada (Downtown West)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #38 of 139 Hotels in Toronto
Toronto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Comfortable business stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed here for a couple days for a convention. I was given a preferred lake view room which was beautiful! The unobstructed view of the lake was stunning. The room was an okay size - comfy bed, clean. There aren't any vending machines around but luckily it's right downtown so a short walk can fix that problem.

Due to it's location, it can be quite pricey but overall, I had a comfy stay here. I would return for right price.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TC_GTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric A, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear TC¬_GTA,
Thank you for your review.
We are happy to hear that your stay at The Westin Harbour Castle was comfortable and relaxing. It is what we aspire to accomplish when guests choose our hotel, whether it be for business or leisure, the outcome we want to achieve is the same; stress free.

Hope to see you soon!
Sincerely,
Eric Ashton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Santa Monica
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed at the Westin Harbour Castle for business.

As for the hotel, the one big negative was that there are no vending machines anywhere in hotel, nor is there any sort of in-room mini-bar. What this means is that when I arrived late in the evening on my first night, there was no way I could get any sort of drink at all. I have NEVER stayed in a hotel where I could not get a bottle of water or a soda. When I called the front desk, they suggested room service or else I could go outside (in freezing rain) and get a drink down the street.

As for the room, it was average at best. I’m a Starwood Gold preferred member so I expected a room upgrade. When I checked in, they first said that my Gold membership was not on the reservation so that they had no available upgraded room. When I questioned further why that was the case (when my reservation clearly had my SPG number in it), the front desk person then said she found it and that it was in there. She then said there was one upgraded room left – but on a low floor. I took it and I am not sure it was an upgraded room. When I asked later in the week, they said it had a balcony so that made it upgraded. (Of course, it was cold so that was not something I’d never use.) Then, on the first night, there was a huge leak in the bathroom – water leaked from the ceiling all over the sink and floor and all over my toiletries. I called down and they came up and fixed it (never even offered to switch rooms). But when they fixed it, they did not even clean up all the water that was everywhere! So I had to call again and this time they sent up someone to clean.

As for the positives, the bed was comfortable. The double-headed shower was also great. The gym is very good and open 24 hours – it even has a swimming pool to do laps (although I didn’t use it). The conference room facilities also were very nice, as was the food that was served throughout the week.

So overall, I will say that I was disappointed. As a Westin, I expect a certain level of quality and service and I am not sure it was met here. I'm not sure I'd stay here again on my next trip to Toronto.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seth2930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric A, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear seth2930,
Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointed experience you describe in your review. This is not reflective of the high levels of service we strive to offer our guests.

Rest assured I have personally followed up with our teams so they are aware of our guest's perception and how they can handle things differently in the future. Also, I will make sure to share your feedback on the absence of vending machines at our next director meeting.

I would really like to speak with you and apologize personally and would appreciate if you could email me at experienceteam@westin.com

Again dear seth2930, thank you for taking the time to send your feedback so we know where we have fallen short in our service delivery.

Sincerely,
Eric Ashton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Been coming here since I was a kid! The hotel has always been amazing even before renovations.

The rooms are always clean and well kept with great water and city views!

The pool is awesome.

Best room service Pizza ever

The hotel is right down town and conveniently located near everything


Downside - sometimes the air conditioners are a bit loud
- After the renovations they removed the grand piano in the lobby
-Spa is expensive but nice

Room Tip: Get a Jr. Suite facing the water and the city. Best of both worlds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChelsDmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric A, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear ChelsDmax,
It is great to hear that after all these years, our guests still come to us for their getaway destination, we appreciate your loyalty and thank you for taking the time to share your review.

I am sorry you missed the grand piano – we actually still have it in the hotel and move it depending on how busy the hotel is. We also are very proud to have a pianist entertaining guests in the lobby lounge several evenings every week. I hope you can come back and listen to her playing as she really is amazing!

Be well,
Eric Ashton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We booked this hotel off the net and scored a discounted rate. Very clean, lots and lots of amenities. If you want to your Toronto, excellent location!! The only negative is the initial registration. Very hectic parking situation.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheProbst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric A, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear TheProbst ,
Let me thank you for taking the time to share your great review.
The Westin Harbour Castle has many programs revolving around their amenities, including WestinWORKOUT, swimming pool and whirlpool with beautiful views looking out to Lake Ontario.

I would like to apologize for the parking situation as the hotel can get very busy at times.
Warm regards,
Eric Ashton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stay at this hotel frequently with work and I really like the hotel. Fast check in, great area, close to transit, Toronto Island ferry, etc. The front desk staff and concierge are great.

I only wish they would spend a little more time monitoring their maids. I have had dirty carpets, and less than perfectly clean bathrooms on several stays. If they had their maids better trained I would have given this property a perfect score.

Beds, TV, internet, restaurant, room service, all are excellent.

Room Tip: Upper floors have less street noise but they are all decent in my experience. Both towers are of eq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LongKeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric A, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear LongKeel,
First of all, let me thank you for taking the time to share some thoughts on your most recent stay and for being a loyal guest of The Westin Harbour Castle.

I would like to apologize on behalf of our Housekeeping department and will follow-up today with our Director of Rooms to ensure that extra care is given to the condition of the rooms in the future. What you described is not acceptable for our hotel and I would really appreciate if you could email me a phone number I can reach you at at experienceteam@westin.com to discuss the matter further.

Kind regards
Eric Ashton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for two nights as part of a business conference. The hotel is located on the waterfront in Toronto overlooking the Islands and the island airport. The rooms were clean but the hotel is very worn. Public washrooms are looking very old. Had food catered and it was fairly good. Valet parking was quite quick considering there were a large number of people leaving after the conference. The sound of toilets flushing all night was a little disruptive. Staff was very nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tjocCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric A, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear tjocCanada,
Thank you for sharing your review and for staying with us during your recent conference.

I have noted what you’ve said about the décor of the hotel and can assure you that I will bring it up in the next monthly meeting in order to serve you better. Thank you for your feedback.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon

Sincerely,
Eric Ashton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

On arrival, the doormen greeted us warmly and the man on reception upgraded our room when he found we were on honeymoon so we had a lovely view over the harbour area which you can sit on the chaise lounge and stare at for a long time. The airport at side of harbour seemed to be quite busy while we were there with small planes taking off quite a lot although it wasn't a noise that you could hear loudly.
Beds are very comfy and sturdy feeling with the double mattresses. Could hear some noise from the room next door but nothing too bad.
I loved the Starbucks coffee machine in the rooms and having the small fridge to keep drinks in was great. Room was a nice size to move around in and good selection of TV channels compared to some other hotels.
The showers have 2 heads which seems great at first although I found it a bit sore on the skin but that's probably just me.

We ordered room service our 1st night as we were tired from travelling and it arrived quickly. Very pricey but considering it was our honeymoon we thought it worth the treat. Had the breakfast buffet next morning which had a good variety of foods but again very, very pricey for what it was. The service from the waiter however was great.

The hotel seems best suited for those travelling for business and considering the prices I would have liked to have free WiFi in the rooms but that was not to be. Also be prepared to pay a fortune if you choose to have anything sent to be laundered / dry cleaned from what I read on the price list.

I would stay here again if I was in Toronto but find cheaper places to eat :)

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms are the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dizzee-skittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
Delta Toronto
Delta Toronto
#8 of 139 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 stars 924 reviews
Downtown West
The Fairmont Royal York
The Fairmont Royal York
#21 of 139 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,148 reviews
Downtown West
Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel
Downtown
The Omni King Edward Hotel
Downtown
Grand Hotel Toronto
Grand Hotel Toronto
#19 of 139 in Toronto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Harbour Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Harbour Castle

Address: 1 Harbour Square, Toronto, Ontario M5J 1A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West , Harbourfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#27 Family Hotel in Toronto
#28 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#28 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#41 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Harbour Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 977
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto. Our downtown Toronto hotel is located on the vibrant waterfront of Lake Ontario, where you can enjoy Toronto's seasonal events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Odigeo, Otel and Travelocity so you can book your The Westin Harbour Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Harbour Castle Hotel Toronto
Westin Hotel Toronto
Westin Toronto
Westin Harbor Castle Hotel Toronto
Toronto Westin
Westin Harbour Castle Toronto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#