We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Harbour Castle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Harbour Castle to your Saves list
The Westin Harbour Castle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Harbour Square, Toronto, Ontario M5J 1A6, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #38 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We booked this hotel off the net and scored a discounted rate. Very clean, lots and lots of amenities. If you want to your Toronto, excellent location!! The only negative is the initial registration. Very hectic parking situation.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric A, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear TheProbst ,
Let me thank you for taking the time to share your great review.
The Westin Harbour Castle has many programs revolving around their amenities, including WestinWORKOUT, swimming pool and whirlpool with beautiful views looking out to Lake Ontario.

I would like to apologize for the parking situation as the hotel can get very busy at times.
Warm regards,
Eric Ashton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    810
    934
    410
    142
    84
See reviews for
414
701
145
679
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (621)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stay at this hotel frequently with work and I really like the hotel. Fast check in, great area, close to transit, Toronto Island ferry, etc. The front desk staff and concierge are great.

I only wish they would spend a little more time monitoring their maids. I have had dirty carpets, and less than perfectly clean bathrooms on several stays. If they had their maids better trained I would have given this property a perfect score.

Beds, TV, internet, restaurant, room service, all are excellent.

Room Tip: Upper floors have less street noise but they are all decent in my experience. Both towers are of eq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric A, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear LongKeel,
First of all, let me thank you for taking the time to share some thoughts on your most recent stay and for being a loyal guest of The Westin Harbour Castle.

I would like to apologize on behalf of our Housekeeping department and will follow-up today with our Director of Rooms to ensure that extra care is given to the condition of the rooms in the future. What you described is not acceptable for our hotel and I would really appreciate if you could email me a phone number I can reach you at at experienceteam@westin.com to discuss the matter further.

Kind regards
Eric Ashton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for two nights as part of a business conference. The hotel is located on the waterfront in Toronto overlooking the Islands and the island airport. The rooms were clean but the hotel is very worn. Public washrooms are looking very old. Had food catered and it was fairly good. Valet parking was quite quick considering there were a large number of people leaving after the conference. The sound of toilets flushing all night was a little disruptive. Staff was very nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric A, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear tjocCanada,
Thank you for sharing your review and for staying with us during your recent conference.

I have noted what you’ve said about the décor of the hotel and can assure you that I will bring it up in the next monthly meeting in order to serve you better. Thank you for your feedback.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back soon

Sincerely,
Eric Ashton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

On arrival, the doormen greeted us warmly and the man on reception upgraded our room when he found we were on honeymoon so we had a lovely view over the harbour area which you can sit on the chaise lounge and stare at for a long time. The airport at side of harbour seemed to be quite busy while we were there with small planes taking off quite a lot although it wasn't a noise that you could hear loudly.
Beds are very comfy and sturdy feeling with the double mattresses. Could hear some noise from the room next door but nothing too bad.
I loved the Starbucks coffee machine in the rooms and having the small fridge to keep drinks in was great. Room was a nice size to move around in and good selection of TV channels compared to some other hotels.
The showers have 2 heads which seems great at first although I found it a bit sore on the skin but that's probably just me.

We ordered room service our 1st night as we were tired from travelling and it arrived quickly. Very pricey but considering it was our honeymoon we thought it worth the treat. Had the breakfast buffet next morning which had a good variety of foods but again very, very pricey for what it was. The service from the waiter however was great.

The hotel seems best suited for those travelling for business and considering the prices I would have liked to have free WiFi in the rooms but that was not to be. Also be prepared to pay a fortune if you choose to have anything sent to be laundered / dry cleaned from what I read on the price list.

I would stay here again if I was in Toronto but find cheaper places to eat :)

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms are the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We were quite happy with the comfort and service provided by this Westin. Our room was clean and comfortable. All employees we came in contact with we're pleasant and helpful. Parking could be a problem if you like to self park. You have to park off site. We chose valet parking as it was only $10 more. We saved by using the excellent public transportation that Toronto provides. We will definitely stay here on future visits. You can't beat the location.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric A, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your review, dear Mike L.

Our associates have one thing in mind during your stay at our hotel: you. We want to make sure you are well when staying at The Westin Harbour Castle, and we are happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay.

We hope to see you soon,
Warm regards,
Eric Ashton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalkey, Ireland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I had to stay here because I was attending a conference recently in Toronto. No doubt it is very close, as in across the street, to the convention center. So good marks for that, but then that is just coincidence---nothing to do with quality, service and value. Overall I like staying at Westins when traveling on business.

Sooooo that being said, for a Westin I was quite surprised at the overall 'fit and finish' of the property. By that I mean things like exposed caulking in the bathroom, old chairs with nicks and scratches going a bit over the normal wear and tear, dirty-looking old elevators.

The elevator inside doors one must look at when closed are as if someone has never bothered to clean them after drunk conventioneers possibly spilled their drinks or coffee on the way up to their rooms. Not in just one elevator, but practically all of them.

A 'red feather boa piece' on the floor next to the bed on arrival? I guess someone had some fun and the housekeeper thought it was ours? Anyone could have missed it while cleaning a room, but then that's my point overall about this place---rough around the edges.

We spent insane amounts at the bar entertaining clients and tipped cash to the staff, but then staff came back and asked for more to be put on the credit card receipt? Really? Yes really. And in fact this type of activity was reported to me by others in attendance. What's up with that kind of behavior? Is that a local thing? Do they think they are not getting tipped enough? I have no idea but I must say I was floored.

Then the coffee kiosk personnel were consistently of a 'non-friendly' vibe. Not overtly rude but just a tad on the 'this is just my job' mode and not really caring to care for the customer that ultimately pays their salaries? Two days in a row they got a simple coffee order wrong and then actually went through the paper receipt to check what I ordered vs. what they delivered just to make sure I wasn't shorting them on the tab vs. just correcting the order immediately and getting on with it. But no, they had to check and then the line just got longer and longer. As if I am running a scam to get free coffee each day?

As Westin beds go the bed was top notch in terms of comfort. My room had a great view of the lake. The fridge worked. The water has hot. Food in the lobby level restaurant approached being OK. But I found to be insanely priced compared to street pricing---but then I guess that is the 'captive audience' game being played in this conventioneer part of town.

My recommendation: Depending upon your schedule, pace and logistics you might *need* to stay at this property because of the proximity to the conference center and you just 'deal with it.' Otherwise from numerous previous visits to Toronto there are plenty of other worthy properties in the city centre that are only a short cab ride away. NO WAY I would stay here as a tourist.

Overall I regrettably state that this is one of the lower-end Westin properties I've ever experienced. Staff needs a boost or better training. Property needs attention to detail.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric A, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear pinkysworld ,
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback from your recent stay.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointing experience you and your clients had at our hotel, and for the interactions you had with our associates which left you with the feeling of not being cared for. What you describe in your review is totally unacceptable and I would like to assure you that we are taking this very seriously. Rest assured that I am personally following up with my teams so we are able to avoid these issues in the future.

In the meantime, I would really appreciate if you could send me a private message or email me at experienceteam@westin.com with a phone number where I can contact you to further discuss.
Again, thank you for taking the time to share your review to let us know where we have fallen short in our service delivery and standards.

I look forward to connecting with you soon,
Stay well,
Eric Ashton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

It's time for an update...
While, this wasn't a bad stay recently, I feel the price isn't worth what you get. The room is nice, but no bigger than a standard Hilton. The rooms are comfortable, with a small bathtub. The beds are nicely comfortable and the service is generally good. My shower didn't work properly the first morning (either ice cold, or scalding hot - nothing in between), but it was fixed later than day by the staff.

Unfortunately, the rooms are quite noisy - I was able to hear the elevator go up and down through the ventilation system. The walls are OK, but I have a colleague who had to phone 3 times due to neighbours partying too loudly. 3 times? After the 2nd time, is it not time to kick them to the curb??

I found the food to be mediocre, and the upcharges for internet access ($14/day) were insane. I know upscale hotels charge for Internet, but those are 1990s prices!

Overall, these (combined with the high room rate) left a bad taste in my mouth. Nevertheless the stay wasn't bad...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric A, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear FunkyMan3333,
I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us and I am sorry that your experience at our hotel didn’t meet your expectations.

We always pride ourselves in delivering impeccable service and after reading your review, I understand better where we fell short. I would really appreciate if you could email me at experienceteam@westin.com with a phone number I can reach you at so that I discuss your stay in further details.

I look forward to connecting with you
Stay well,
Eric Ashton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Harbour Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Harbour Castle

Address: 1 Harbour Square, Toronto, Ontario M5J 1A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto , Harbourfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#25 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#26 Family Hotel in Toronto
#27 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#34 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Harbour Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 977
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto. Our downtown Toronto hotel is located on the vibrant waterfront of Lake Ontario, where you can enjoy Toronto's seasonal events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Starwood, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Harbour Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Harbour Castle Hotel Toronto
Westin Hotel Toronto
Westin Toronto
Westin Harbor Castle Hotel Toronto
Toronto Westin
Westin Harbour Castle Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Harbour Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.