We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice View of Harbour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Harbour Castle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Harbour Castle to your Saves list
The Westin Harbour Castle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Harbour Square, Toronto, Ontario M5J 1A6, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #38 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Newmarket, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice View of Harbour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great location, we had a room on 8th floor overlooking the harbour.. Would have been great in the summer, November not so much.
Room was a little on the small size but did have Kingsize bed, but the bed was a little too soft for me..
Would be a nice summer location right on the water front.
Parking a little expensive at $40 for Valet parking I thought, but its prbably the norm for Downtown TO.

Room Tip: Ask for a Hoabour View the higher the better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric A, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you, Pdorgan, for sharing your review.
Summer is when our hotel shows best with its spectacular views of the lake and Toronto Islands. We hope to see you in the summer to experience this breathtaking scenery.
Sincerely,
Eric Ashton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    809
    932
    410
    141
    84
See reviews for
414
701
143
677
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

One of the best parts of this hotel is its close proximity to Union Station. We prefer to take the GO train and avoid driving which was the perfect decision on this trip as it rained the entire weekend, and traffic was awful! A three block walk had us at the hotel and we checked in a bit early. We had two lake view rooms at the end of a hall, and we had an additional short hall that made for perfect quietness along with a view of the islands. While there were two large groups meeting there, we wouldn't have known except for the signs in the lobby...it was that quiet. Despite the rain we walked to the St. Lawrence Market one afternoon and to the Mirvish Theatre the next. This hotel is always clean and bright and the staff is always polite and friendly. This was not our first stay nor will it be our last.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric A, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear NRuthC ,
Thank you for your amazing review.
I am very happy to hear that your stay at The Westin Harbour Castle will have you coming back. We appreciate your loyalty and try our best to make sure that our guests leave us as relaxed and revitalized as possible.

See you soon,
Warm wishes
Eric Ashton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Westin Harbour Castle is a magnificent hotel for business and meetings. Huge surface with many many meeting rooms with perfect accommodation. Hotel rooms are good organised, nice flat screen, good bathroom. Except one aspect : you can hear the neighbours quite well, so a good soundproofing is welcome. Anyhow, very friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric A, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We appreciate your review, dear RUUDVS.
It is nice to hear from guests like yourself that the hard work we put in to display features of the hotel are valued and noticed. Our associates are always here to help you with anything and I am pleased to know that your meetings went very well.

We look forward to your next visit,
Stay well,
Eric Ashton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I loved staying at Westin Harbour, the breakfast was awesome with a lots of choices. The rooms were very clean with big windows overlooking lake ontario. The food at the revolving restaurant is high quality but a bit bland, loved tirumisu after the dinner. Awesome staff but valet is a bit slow compared to other hotels in the area. I give it 4.5 stars...

Room Tip: look for a higher floor overlooking the lake - it is worth the premium you pay for waterview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric A, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Nan S.,
What you describe is exactly how it should feel. Thank you for taking the time to share your kind review.

The Mizzen is indeed a great choice to experience our Superfoods for breakfasts and lunches as it offers a variety of dishes suited for your taste buds.
Sincerely,
Eric Ashton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I am just back from Toronto and stayed in this beautiful hotel. It is right on the lake and views are beautiful, we stayed on the 30 th floor views of the whole lake and adventure park from here were tremendous. Big thank you to Laura on reception and Manager Johnson Conmee for their professionalism during our stay, organising tours to Niagra Falls, vineyards , old towns to visit etc. These people are assets to this hotel. Highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric A, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for sharing such a great review Arah0.
It is truly wonderful to hear that your stay at our hotel was nothing short of amazing. I will congratulate Laura and John for their outstanding customer service delivered to you.
We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to your next stay,

Sincerely,
Eric Ashton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

I was only here overnight for a conference and so my experience was limited, but I'd still highly recommend this Westin hotel. Professional staff, very clean rooms, extremely comfortable beds, great view. I will certainly choose this hotel again on my next stay in Toronto.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric A, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for sharing your review, dear CapitanaD.
I appreciate your recommendation and your loyalty to The Westin Harbour Castle. We are pleased to hear that your stay was exactly as how we envision; that you leave feeling better than when you arrived.

We look forward to your next stay with us,
Sincerely,
Eric Ashton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed here for two nights on a business trip. As a platinum guest, I was upgrades to their junior suite. The room was excellent - it was shaped like a quarter circle with windows around its circumference that were facing the water (sorry for being too technical :)) The view was awesome!

The hotel features an excellent pool and gym. Be sure to take advantage of this during your stay.

They ironed my suit in less than 45 minutes at no cost (tip well though!) The concierge was nice enough to print me a couple of pages (vs. asking to me go to the business center). Buffet breakfast looked good. I however ordered from the menu.

Location is 20 minutes from the airport - there is a express shuttle that takes you to the airport for ~$27CAD one-way. Leaves from the hotel.

Overall, great property - you don't need anything more than this Westin for your next trip to Toronto!

Room Tip: Stay in the South Tower and get a room with a view of the harbour to make the most of your stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric A, General Manager at The Westin Harbour Castle, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear wildfirekunal,
Thank you for sharing your amazing review and for being such a loyal guest!

I am delighted to hear that your stay at our hotel was nothing short of excellent. It is guest experiences like yours which The Westin Harbour Castle has a standard of achieving and even exceeding. Our associates take pride in helping guests with whatever they need and it’s great to hear your interactions with them were very positive. Hope to see you again.
Sincerely,
Eric Ashton
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Harbour Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Harbour Castle

Address: 1 Harbour Square, Toronto, Ontario M5J 1A6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto , Harbourfront
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#24 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#27 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#27 Family Hotel in Toronto
#34 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Harbour Castle 4*
Number of rooms: 977
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto. Our downtown Toronto hotel is located on the vibrant waterfront of Lake Ontario, where you can enjoy Toronto's seasonal events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Starwood, Orbitz, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Harbour Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Harbour Castle Hotel Toronto
Westin Hotel Toronto
Westin Toronto
Westin Harbor Castle Hotel Toronto
Toronto Westin
Westin Harbour Castle Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Harbour Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.