Please take time to read this whole review if you'd like an honest opinion of this hotel.
I have now amended my previous review - the old one which you can see below this one.
I stayed here with my partner in July and as you can read below, wasn't overly impressed. What I will say is after writing to the management, I was most surprised to later find a generous refund in my account. I don't think Booking.com handled my complaint particularly well but top marks directly to Greg H and all at Radisson for actually listening and understanding my initial disappointment & frustration and acting upon it.
It does take a lot of professionalism to actually agree that things could have been better and even more in the tough economic climate to give a refund regardless of how large/small a company you are. I am also impressed when the manager responds on tripadvisor to a less than favourable review. This does mean that they really care & actually listen. I'm sure they will initiate actions to prevent these errors happening again. It is very generous of them to give a refund and It certainly reflects VERY positively on the Radisson group. I wish more companies would actually listen to their customers. After all, where would they be without them?
It is refreshing to have a happier end than expected and I will therefore be giving the Radisson group another chance in the future. In all honesty It still wasn't the best part of my holiday but Greg and co have done all that is possible to rectify the situation and I applaud them all. As I previously mentioned, the staff here are really great to say the least and it shows even more now. I love Canada and hopefully will be back in the future when a fully revamped Radisson Harbourfront will be in fine form.
I have left the original review below and also Greg's reply. I think this only fair to show the entire situation/story but I also think that their actions have redeemed the situation admirably. There isn't much you can do after the situation has occurred (even though the wonderful staff did all they could at the time) and we are now 3500 miles away but they've certainly done their best. Thank you to all & good luck after the refurb & roadworks are completed. Isn't it nice when your faith in large companies is restored by the great folk running things for them.
Thanks Greg & best regards to all.
(For the record...)The original; review...“Not as good as a Premier Inn!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013
Had expected a lot more than this. I thought the building work outside may have finished but it hasn't - gets noisy in the mornings but that isn't their fault. Had a studio suite and it was shabby and in dire need of a refit. Room was obviously ready to be demolished - everything was broken or very badly fitted. Many wooden slats were broken on the windows - if you like sleeping in a dark room don't stay here. Broken electrical socket - dangerous, poor fittings with large gaps, dirty cup rings on bedside table, used condiment wrappers left, broken soap dish in bathroom, shower control fitting upside down. Just NOT GOOD ENOUGH. I thought the telescope would be fun in the room overlooking the lake but that was broken too so you couldn't focus it- have all photos.
Actually had to DOWNGRADE to a room with curtains to sleep but no compensation - not even a bottle of water. Don't stay here it's overpriced and tired. Not impressed and a horrible ending to our last days in Canada. Staff are great though & try very hard considering the rubbish quality rooms they have to allocate to people. I expected more than a shabby broken budget hotel room.
Room Tip: Lake view rooms are furthest from roadworks
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
1 of 5 stars Value
2 of 5 stars Location
1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
2 of 5 stars Rooms
2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
4 of 5 stars Service
Greg H, Front Office Manager at Radisson Admiral Toronto Harbourfront, responded to this review
August 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Thank you also for acknowledging the work of our staff. They are our lifeline and we appreciate each and every one of them for their work during this transition period.
We do everything we can to keep the units up to par, however there are some issues that can only be rectified with a room renovation. I am excited to say that of our rooms will be refinished later this year, hopefully rectifying some of the issues you have brought forth.
Lake view is best if the roadworks are still happening outside.
If you like a very dark room to sle...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
Thank you for the follow up and the kind words. I am glad we were able to somewhat redeem ourselves as well as the brand. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to show off our improvements, as a direct result of your feedback, to you in the future.
All of the best and thank you for the renovation well wishes.
Front Office Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.