We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   280 Bloor Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5S 1V8, Canada (Formerly Quality Inn) (The Annex)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #76 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Quebec
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

Spent Thanksgiving weekend at the Holiday Inn on Bloor Street in Toronto and it was wonderful. Perfect location. Great, comfy beds and clean beyond belief rooms. The local colour of the neighbourhood is a welcome addition and its proximity to fabulous restaurants (Fresh and Over Easy), museums (the ROM and Gardiner), the subway, and lots of funky shopping west of the hotel and higher end (Winners, Holts, Indigo) to the east end makes this the best location in the city.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    142
    107
    34
    15
See reviews for
65
76
46
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We got into the hotel at 1a. The front desk staff was awesome, even that late at night. They gave us the location of 24h restaurants nearby, as well as exchanged our money for free. There was parking adjacent to the building, so no hassles there.

The only complaint we had was the air conditioning in the room seemed to be on the fritz. The room never seemed to get cold enough. But, that was a minor complaint. All in all, we had a great stay here.

FYI, if you plan to drink, the prices are very high, almost as high as Downtown Chicago. We got a beer and a White Russian, and the cost was 14 dollars. Wow. In fact, I think the beer was the more expensive of the two.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

Below-average service. They have discounted ROM tickets, but when I asked what ages would be eligible for a 'children's ticket', the front desk staff didn't know, and couldn't find out any information on the Internet. Later I easily found out on the Internet, but was then told they were only sold after 10 am by the hotel management. The Internet connection in the hotel lobby is incredibly slow -- circa-1997 speed. The bedrooms are okay and it is a good location, but service is slow. Not recommended.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidtownerToronto, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this review, August 31, 2009
Thank you very much for your comments regarding our hotel.

Upon your initial inquiry regarding the ROM Tickets, because we could not answer you immediately, we continued our search and now know the ages to avoid any unnecessary delays to guests in future. Thank you for helping us be better.

The Royal Ontario Museum opens daily at 10am and our Duty Managers sell the admission tickets from 9:30am.

We appreciate your comments regarding our wireless internet connection in the lobby and will speak with our service provider regarding your observations.

We are pleased that you found our accommodation and location to your satisfaction.

We hope that you will visit us again on your next trip to Toronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
790 reviews 790 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 146 cities Reviews in 146 cities
1,421 helpful votes 1,421 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Midtown upon the recommendation of a friend; it was good advice. While not a luxury hotel, this property was clean, it is located within walking distance to a number of cultural sites and good restaurants, and the staff was incredibly friendly and efficient. I was allowed to check in early (10:00 AM) and the room was what I reserved. The rooms have free wireless capabilities. Two blocks from the hotel is the Royal Ontario Museum, which is well worth visiting. All my experiences with the staff was positive. I would return to this hotel should I have the occasion to return to Toronto for pleasure.

Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

Placed very near to CN tower and in downtown toronto

  • Liked — ashthetic
  • Disliked — parking space
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie Ontario
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

I spent three weeks at this property in April 2009 while attending a course at U of T.
The hotel is located within walking distance to the University and a minutes to the St. George subway station.

Check-in was painfully slow. It was a Sunday night and only one staff member was working at the front desk.

The rooms are very basic. I had three seperate rooms during my stay. All the beds were comfortable and the rooms were fairly clean. The hotel itself is very dated and basic.
I paid $139 a night. It is definately not the Sheraton Centre or King Eddy, but a decent property if you want to stay near the University.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

It is a Holiday Inn so my expectations were not of a luxury hotel - but the service was lacking (forgotten wake up calls, a long wait to be served for breakfast when there is nobody else in the restaurant). Dingy carpets, mid 80s style furnishings and a noisy room fan (for both heat and cooling). Feels like a roadside motel rather than a hotel in downtown Toronto.

The lobby and attached restaurant smelled like a combination of sewage and onions - again dingy surroundings and the business centre? It's the computer in the lobby. The lobby itself was usually full of noisy travellers lounging (including on the floors) - has the feel of a dorm more than a hotel.

Few restaurants in this area of Toronto beyond fast food and several pubs - all the same but with different names.

A terrible experience - most certainly not a value as for 30-40 more I will stay at the intercontinental next time farther west on Bloor.

Awful - avoid this mess.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidtownerToronto, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, responded to this review, June 24, 2009
Greetings to Velojmp:

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We apologize that your experience did not meet your expectations and regret that you did not speak to us during your visit, as we would have been delighted to offer you assistance to ensure your visit was outstandingly memorable.

Our hotel is a proud member of the Holiday Inn family and as such provide a hospitality experience you expect from the world's most respected innkeeper. Our lobby is a public space and is intended as an area that guests arrive, meet and mingle while visiting our hotel. We provide complimentary computer access in our lobby for our guests usage and can provide additional "business centre" needs upon request. Our rooms are comfortable and conservatively decorated, providing a pleasing homey feel.

Our hotel is located in the University of Toronto area in downtown Toronto. We are surrounded by museum's, historical attractions and bordered by Chinatown, the Annex and Yorkville. There are over 150 restaurants within a ten minute walk of our front door offering everything from McDonald's to Morton's. Our location is well known for the abundance of restaurants to suit all dining preferences and budgets.

We would be very pleased to help you discover the many dining options available to you on your next visit. Afterall, hospitality is our business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville

Address: 280 Bloor Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5S 1V8, Canada (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > The Annex
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fashionably located in Toronto's upscale Yorkville area, at the historic University of Toronto, our comfortable rooms, professional staff and superb surroundings make our downtown Toronto hotel an ideal choice for business or leisure. Enjoy walking the tree lined streets to the surrounding museums or use the adjacent subway stop (St. George) to whisk you to your business appointment. Our 209 well appointed rooms ensure that you are well rested to start your Toronto adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bloor Yorkville Hotel Toronto
Midtown Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Toronto
Toronto Holiday Inn
Journeys End Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Toronto Bloor Yorkville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.