We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seen Better Days” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Lombard Street, Toronto, Ontario M5C 2T9, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #55 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Toronto
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Seen Better Days”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

It seems that the business plan of Holiday Inn Express is to find old economy level hotels and give them a minor branding upgrade; this hotel follows this model.

Very dated hotel furniture, beds that are sunken in the middle, cheap foam pillows, worn and dirty carpets in the room and corridor.

The breakfast room is small and devised into two spaces of the lobby. The menu - the usual over-processed frozen food items.

The location is good and by day a great neighborhood, however the area is not good for walking after dark. There is a homeless shelter directly across from the hotel; the parking garage makes no secret that your vehicle is at risk of break-in.

I would only return if the rate was good; not worth more than $85/night. Better options in the area are Hilton Garden Inn, The Grand Hotel, or the Mariott courtyard.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown. These reviews are used as a training tool to help us to better accommodate our guests and ensure that we are doing all that we are able to do to so that all of our guests have an enjoyable and memorable stay with us. In the coming year our hotel will undergo numerous upgrades and improvements including renovations to the hotel room. We look forward to significantly raising the level of comfort and guest satisfaction throughout the hotel.
Again, thank you for your valuable feedback which can only serve to make us better. Truly sorry if your experience was less than expected and hopefully you may give us another chance in the future.
Thank you
Tariq Azad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    353
    163
    42
    17
See reviews for
156
256
62
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We went to the Esplanade, Eaton center, Air Canada center, CN Tower, Hockey Hall of Fame, distillery district, all of them within 20 mins walking distance if you're a fast walker. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Our room was a corner room on the 12th floor. You sometimes hear people at the ice machine outside the door but it wasn't a problem for us. One weird thing we noticed about the room was the walkway between the end of the bed and the TV shelf was quite small due to the large shelf. Also there wasn't much of a view outside the window. All in all, we liked the hotel very much because of its superb location. The staff were friendly too and gave us advice on where to go to the first night and the breakfast is good and plentiful.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
The Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown hotel thanks for leaving such a glowing review of our property. We pride ourselves on our associates’ ability to offer individual attention to each of our guests and make their stay an experience to remember. It will be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the futures.
Thank you
Tariq Azad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Another good Hotel, quiet and a excellent Buffet Breakfast. One bad comment is that the Heating System in the room is very noisy (fan). At this time of year you need Heat in the room.
Should also have a Kettle in the room along with the Coffee machine.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you taking the time to write such a nice review of the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown. We have noted your comments about the heating system, and we are sorry your encountered issues during your stay. My engineering team has addressed the Heating unit, and will continue to monitor this and others to ensure they are performing at their best when we need them most winter in Toronto.
Once again thank you for taking the time to write and tell us about your stay with us and we look forward to seeing again when you get the chance to visit our fair city.
Tariq Azad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for New Years Eve. We wanted a hotel close to Massey Hall (where we were seeing a comedy show) and to this specific area's restaurants/pubs. This hotel satisfied that need at a really reasonable price.

The room was comfortable and clean. It does need some sprucing up but I'm sure that they'll do that in good time. The wifi was very slow, but at least it was included. The underground on-site parking was convenient, although we got there in early afternoon. The lot filled up by dinner time (could be due to the night though). We were on a schedule the next morning so we didn't try the included breakfast.

There were a lot of young kids celebrating New Years. The hotel did a good job trying to prevent them from disturbing the other guests (you had to sign a no partying sheet lol). You could still hear yelling etc. but it didn't bother us too much (it's a special night really and we understand that). Except around 3am I heard knocking at my door...nobody was there. I said hello and a security guard popped out of the hallway and asked if I was ok. I told him what just happened and he asked if I was alone (?). I told him no, my husband and I have been sleeping since just after midnight. It was weird. Not sure if he thought I was making noise, causing trouble or checking to see if I was indeed ok lol. All in all, no harm done.

We will definitely return if we are frequenting the area again and want an economical stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and found our services to be helpful and useful. I will sure to share your comments, with my guest services team. I hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.
Thank you,
Tariq Azad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

If you're driving from the west it's easy to get off the expressway and travel just a couple of blocks into the city to find this hotel. The location is especially good if you like to avoid much city driving. It is also nice that you can pull your car off the city street into a courtyard for check-in before parking in the hotel's parking garage whose entrance is located in the same courtyard. The room was clean and comfortable although the wallpaper in the bathroom was a bit worn. We were there on the last two nights of 2013. Unfortunately on New Year's Eve we were awoken several times through the night by noisy guests, which obviously is not the hotel's fault. (I just wish that people wouldn't talk so loudly and slam doors in the middle of the night when they're guests in hotels. People, PEOPLE...) All-in-all it was a good stay and I would stay there again if I were traveling to Toronto by car.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review of the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown. The best compliment that we can possible receive is that our guests can say that they would recommend us to other traveler. Thank you again for this.
Our location is such that you are within a short distance to the many great venues that Toronto has to offer and close enough to the subway system to get you to the other spots.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to write about us and I would like to personally welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown for any of your future visits to our fair city.
Tariq Azad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed here after flying into the island airport from Sault Ste. Marie on our way to Cuba the next day. We wanted to stay downtown as we had a full day to kill and it was so convenient to walk to the distillery district, Eaton Center, St. Lawrence Market is only a few steps away. The staff at the front desk were very helpful in getting us a nice limo to Pearson the next day. The breakfast was great and is so nice to be included. Nice clean room, no complaints at all and will stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and found our services to be helpful and useful. I will sure to share your comments, with my guest services team. I hope we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.
Thank you,
Tariq Azad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Great location in downtown Toronto close to all major attractions either by walking, a short cab ride or the subway is also accessible close by. Front desk staff were quite good and very friendly. Parking is underground and only suitable for smaller cars etc, (also an additional $20 per day). The room we were in was far too small for the four of us - only two double beds and no room for a cot (due to fire regulations we were told). I would book a bigger room next time. It is an older hotel as mentioned by other reviewers but well kept and clean. The breakfast area was very crowded but ample room for seating if you go across the hall. The food seems to be a standard HIE fare, but I wish they would change up the type of eggs and bacon the offer. It is a pre processed type and throughout the year I have stayed at different locations of this brand and the food borders on acceptable to almost inedible. I think it depends on how long it has been sitting out for. This locations eggs and bacon wasn't great but ok. They offer other types of continental style food so you can skip this option and have cereal or fruit etc.. I would likely stay here again under other circumstances.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your detailed review. I really appreciate your taking the time to share your recent experience. Thank you for the kind words about my staff. I was glad your overall experience was enjoyable and found our services to be helpful and useful. You are right the location of the hotel is truly a gem as we are close to so much of what Toronto has to offer, not to mention the subway system another of Toronto’s Public Transit System.
Once again thank you for taking the time to write and tell us about your stay with us and we look forward to seeing again when you get the chance to visit our fair city.
Tariq Azad
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown

Address: 111 Lombard Street, Toronto, Ontario M5C 2T9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart in Our Hotel in Toronto, Ontario You'll enjoy an ideal location at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel - Downtown Toronto. Our hotel's location is near Pearson International Airport (YYZ), Toronto Island Airport (YTZ), Toronto Union Train Station and the underground shopping/walking paths, which makes it easy to navigate Toronto.Lodging here puts you in close proximity to famous attractions like the Hockey Hall of Fame and Distillery Historic District. Toronto is also home to Eastern Canada's largest shopping mall, Eaton Centre, which is within walking distance of the hotel.Toronto, Ontario's government buildings, the Queen¿s Park and Provincial Parliament are nearby, as well as First Canadian Place, BCE Place, Sears, Ryerson University, Saint Michael's Hospital and other businesses in downtown Toronto. Our hotel's amenities include a 24-hour Business Service to help you complete your work.Unlike other hotels in Toronto, our hotel offers multiple complimentary services: a hot breakfast bar, high-speed Internet access in every room, a daily newspaper and local calls. Each room is outfitted with a triple-sheeted bed, a cable TV, a work area with two phones and a bathroom with specially designed amenities. Our downtown Toronto hotel's staff looks forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown Hotel Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.