We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Lombard Street, Toronto, Ontario M5C 2T9, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #53 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pretty good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

After reading other recent reviews of this hotel, I would have to say that it was just as I expected it to be based on those reviews, and that made for a great trip.

As others have mentioned, the hotel decor is outdated and is in need of updating in terms of style, but other than that, the rooms are fine. When we first got up to our room on the 10th floor, we smelled smoke (we had asked for a non-smoking room). My husband went back to the desk to ask for a new room after explaining our issue, and we were immediately given a room upstairs one floor - a fresh-smelling room. Who's to say that the last person in the room didn't just decide to smoke in the room, even if it was labelled as non-smoking, just before we got there? It's a possibility, and since we were moved to a new room without any trouble, we were happy.

We were traveling with our one-year old son and wanted a place for him to sleep. They provided us with a somewhat-old playpen (two mesh sides, mesh all the way down to the bottom). I had hoped for an actual crib of sorts, but this was our first time to travel with our baby so we didn't know what to expect. We brought our own fitted crib sheet cover which we used in the playpen since they had just folded up a bedsheet in there. We were worried that our active son would bury his face in the covers so using our own sheet, we felt fine about him sleeping in there. There seemed to be a bit of a hard bottom to the thing. I think an actual crib would be better and more comfortable for him.

Our room was clean and we had a view of St. James Park by the hotel. The bathroom was sparkling and bright and had what you want - a couple of bars of soap, the typical shampoo and conditioner, and towels for all 3 of us. They also had plastic cups, so if you're a hard-core environmentalist, you might not like this fact. As a person who has stayed in many, many hotels in many countries and had dirty glass cups in bathrooms before, I appreciated getting a clean plastic cup to use.

The free breakfast was good. Scrambled eggs and bacon one day as part of the hot meal, and cheese omelettes and sausage the next. There were plenty of bagels, pieces of bread, sweet buns, yogurt, milk, juice, pancakes and cereal. Even when it was busy in the breakfast room on our second day there, the staff was quick to keep all trays filled with food. They also had a coffee, a variety of teas and hot chocolate.

The location is really great - very close to the St. Lawrence Market (we had dinner there our first night at Buster's Sea Cove - great fish and chips), and close to the King St. subway station. The Eaton Centre was about a 10 minute walk away. Lots of restaurants and pubs around the area. We went to the Royal Ontario Museum one day, and that was about a 7 minute subway ride away. We enjoyed our walks around the hotel neighbourhood.

The staff overall are friendly and helpful. Our only complaint would be with the room heating. We wanted it a touch warmer in our room and turned on the heater to what we thought would be a low setting, but it only seems to have two settings - cool or hot. We set it on before going to bed, but I woke up hot and turned it off. It would be nice to have more precise temperature controls in the rooms. Parking was $20 which I find a bit annoying as well, but it seems that all hotels in Downtown Toronto charge something for parking.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for something with a view, something on a higher floor. We had a view of St. James Park, so as f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We appreciate your through and complimentary review of the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown. We are always thrilled ot hear from our guests that have great experiences with us and this is no exception. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and found our services to be helpful and useful. I will be sure to share your comments with my guest services team. Once again, thank you for taking the time to write about us and I would like to personally welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown for any of your future visits to our fair city.
Tariq Azad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    353
    163
    42
    17
See reviews for
156
256
62
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I was on business in Toronto, but decided to bring my family with me. We stayed 2 nights at this Holiday Inn Express. I am not too familiar with downtown Toronto, however I felt the location was great. It was within walking distance of everything you needed. The hotel itself was clean and well appointed. The underground parking was a great feature. The breakfast area was clean and tidy, and the food was good. The hotel staff were professional in their appearance and demeanor. I have stayed at many Holiday Inn Express Hotels, and this hotel carries on the good name. When I am in Toronto again, I will be staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown Hotel and would like to thank you for leaving a glowing review. We will look forward to your next stay with us.
Thank you,
Tarq Azad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was my second stay at this hotel. The location is a bit out of the way of the immediate downtown, but if you don't mind walking a bit it is just fine. There is parking close by, but you do have to pay for it (less than many other downtown hotels charge). Breakfast is included with eggs, pancakes, bacon, muffins, etc. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The bedding is really nice. It was quiet and we slept well. The staff members were friendly. Both check-in and check-out were efficient.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We truly appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you so much for your really great review. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon!
Tariq Azad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Canada
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We found our room to be very adequate, clean and comfortable. We also had a nice view of downtown Toronto.

The staff were friendly and accommodating. One of them even offered to search the Internet looking for a nice Blues bar.

This is the second time in less than six months that I've been impressed with a Holiday Inn Express. (The other one was in downtown Vancouver.)

The price includes a breakfast and most of it was quite good although I didn't care for their egg concoction.

This place is very close to downtown and within easy walking distance to Yonge Street, Union Station, the Eaton Centre and all the theatres.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write and tells us about your stay. I am pleased that you and your guests enjoyed your time in Toronto and that our staffs were able to accommodate your needs. The complimentary breakfast buffet is truly a great added bonus and with the many choices is continuously changing to provide more selections to meet the needs of all of our guests. Our location is great and close to much of what Toronto has to offer and close enough to the transit system to be able to get you anywhere without the stress of city driving. Complimentary Internet and newspapers is one of the ways to say thank you for choosing us.
Once again thank you for taking the time to write you comments. Hopefully we will be able to host your next visit to Toronto.
Tariq Azad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed one night at the beginning of March. Great hotel if you're just looking for somewhere clean to rest your head at night. Check-in was good and staff was friendly and helpful. Parking was in a handy location and was reasonably priced compared to other hotels in the same area. Room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was decent (can't complain too much since it was free). Location was awesome.
It's a pretty basic hotel, but we weren't looking for anything fancy as we were only in it to sleep at night. If that's all you're using it for, then this is a great choice in a good location. We paid $119 plus tax which I think was definitely worth it. I probably wouldn't pay much more for it, but if you can get it for around that price it's definitely a good bang for your buck.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you taking the time to write such a nice review of the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests are pleased with their accommodation while staying with us. Our location is truly a gem as we are within walking distance to much of what Toronto has to offer and close enough to our city’s public transportation system to get you any where without the stress of driving.

I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for any of your future visits to our great city
Tariq Azad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

If your looking for just basics, this is a good hotel. Stayed here one night for business and it did the trick. Check in was a bit slow. Wi-fi was good and the breakfast....well it's free. Rooms are clean and the location is central.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write and tells us about your stay. We are glad you were able to stay with us during your trip to Toronto. It sounds like we were able to meet all of your expectations and we hope to have you return on your next visit so we can exeed them.
Thank you,
Tariq Azad.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was in Toronto on business and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express. When checking in the staff was polite and friendly. The room was clean, bathroom clean, beds comfortable. They throw in a free breakfast which is pretty good considering its free. For the price, it is a good value for Toronto.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you taking the time to write such a nice review of the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time in Toronto and that our staffs were able to accommodate your needs. The complimentary breakfast buffet is truly a great added bonus and with the many choices is continuously changing to provide more selections to meet the needs of all of our guests. Once again thank you for taking the time to write you comments. Hopefully we will be able to host your next visit to Toronto.
Tariq Azad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown

Address: 111 Lombard Street, Toronto, Ontario M5C 2T9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart in Our Hotel in Toronto, Ontario You'll enjoy an ideal location at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel - Downtown Toronto. Our hotel's location is near Pearson International Airport (YYZ), Toronto Island Airport (YTZ), Toronto Union Train Station and the underground shopping/walking paths, which makes it easy to navigate Toronto.Lodging here puts you in close proximity to famous attractions like the Hockey Hall of Fame and Distillery Historic District. Toronto is also home to Eastern Canada's largest shopping mall, Eaton Centre, which is within walking distance of the hotel.Toronto, Ontario's government buildings, the Queen¿s Park and Provincial Parliament are nearby, as well as First Canadian Place, BCE Place, Sears, Ryerson University, Saint Michael's Hospital and other businesses in downtown Toronto. Our hotel's amenities include a 24-hour Business Service to help you complete your work.Unlike other hotels in Toronto, our hotel offers multiple complimentary services: a hot breakfast bar, high-speed Internet access in every room, a daily newspaper and local calls. Each room is outfitted with a triple-sheeted bed, a cable TV, a work area with two phones and a bathroom with specially designed amenities. Our downtown Toronto hotel's staff looks forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown Hotel Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.