We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Lombard Street, Toronto, Ontario M5C 2T9, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE between 10-30%!
Ranked #50 of 141 hotels in Toronto
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
“Excellent Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Love, love the hotel, very clean, great location. Almost everything is walking distance, the staff is super friendly and very helpful. The free breakfast is really good. It will be my fist alternative on my next trip to Toronto.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you taking the time to write such a nice review of the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown. Our location is great and close to much of what Toronto has to offer and close enough to the transit system to be able to get you anywhere without the stress of city driving. Complimentary Internet and newspapers is one of the ways to say thank you for choosing us. Once again thank you for taking the time to write you comments. Hopefully we will be able to host your next visit to Toronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    300
    133
    33
    13
See reviews for
133
214
56
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Picton, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

I had a good meeting at the Gladstone Hotel on Queen in Toronto that ended after dinner. Tired out I just had to hop on the red rocket to Jarvis and walk down to the Holiday Inn. The front counter person was friendly and efficient. My room was clean and quiet for being downtown. And the free breakfast was hot and good. I just wish they had more than one type of fruit. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review of the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown. The best compliment that we can possible receive is that our guests can say that they would recommend us to other travelers. Thank you again for this. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for any of your future visits to our great city.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We booked this hotel for it location near the union central train station so we can go to other places by train after 1 night stay. Great mistakes as you can imagine 3 of us with our luggages and no taximan willing to take us there! We came a long way from the Alaska cruise , drove across the Rockies ,Quebec and to be left standing at the taxistand after arriving from Montreal by train! Eventually one of the taximan felt sorry for us and suggested extra charges .We were more than happy to pay for the "extra charges" and even tipped him for his kindness .When we arrived at the hotel it was the opposite service. The staff was very helpful and offered to order taxi for us anytime. The hotel is very reasonable priced. Free use of the internet service at the lobby .Breakfast was included and have to get there early to avoid the crowd - just have your toast, coffee and go ! Clean spacious room and modern furnishing .Watchout for the aircon which sounded like a jetplane taking off in the middle of the night which make me jumped out off my bed to switch it off. I can even hear the next room aircon and they must be "good sleeper"

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay. We are glad you chose to stay at the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown Hotel, and are very happy you had a nice experience in the hotel. We do hope to have you stay with us again on your next trip to Toronto city.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hotel has a very good location - in the old part of Yorkville (where Toronto begun). So the area is quiet on one hand, near the older parts of Toronto and within walking distance of the center on the other hand. It's very close to St. Lawrence market, which allows you to buy fresh foods there.
Parking costs 20$ per day, in a garage underground, right near the hotel.
The room (1406), 2 dbl beds, nonsmoking, was good and nice, though the TV was small and old (not flat screen). It's on a shelf in the closet.
There's coffee in the room.
Free wi-fi.
Breakfast was good. On the first day they had excellent sausages and on the other day - good bacon. There was omlette, bagels. toasts, fresh banana's and more. We didn't like the pastries much.
The staff was nice, but it was rainy, our umbrella broke down, and they had no umbrella to offer us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are glad we were able to provide you with such a wonderful stay and hope to have you back.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliphant
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife & I stayed here for one night before the Harbourfront Marathon. We made an excellent choice. Room was clean and bed was very comfortable, we even had a view of the water from our window on the 14th floor. Very quiet, the breakfast is far above the typical 'chain' hotel fare. No, it's not as good as you would PAY for at a restaurant, but what exactly do you want for free? Close to everything downtown, and with the marathon shutting down lots of traffic routes it was a blessing to be able to leave the car in the underground lot and walk to the start and finish. To those of you who think the TV's are too old - who cares? They work right? So what if they're not flat, give me a break! Same to those of you who think the parking is expensive. ALL the hotels I checked out charge for parking and most were more than $20.
For us this hotel provided a friendly comfortable quiet location at a reasonable (for Toronto) price. That's what we wanted and that's what we got.

Room Tip: Our room on the 14th floor was quiet - no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown Hotel and would like to thank you for leaving a glowing review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast, our comfortable bed and the location. Once again, thank you for taking the time to write about us and I would like to personally welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown for any of your future visits to our fair city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The hotel is well located and reasonably priced. They did not offer room service, which I would have appreciated, having arrived at 9:00pm after a long flight, however the front desk staff were very helpful in directing me to after-hours places where I could buy food or order for delivery to my room. I needed to use their luggage storage service the next day, and they went out of their way to ensure my laptop computer bag was specially monitored by front desk staff, rather than being placed in the luggage storage room. The breakfast area was inadequate for the number of guests, but the breakfast menu was OK. I was able to take breakfast to my room on a tray, although I had to specifically ask for a tray to be provided.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your recent experience. Thank you for the kind words about our staff. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that our associates were able to meet all of your requests. We look forward to your return on your next trip to Toronto.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My 1st time in Toronto and stayed here for 2 days, while attending a baseball game.
The front desk staff was very helpful and knowledgeable on where to go and how to get there. The hotel was very busy. The breakfast area was over crowded and people waited for a place to sit at breakfast. Most did not discover a room across the hall that was practically empty. Perhaps noticeable signage would be helpful.
The usual breakfast fare was offered.
There was a $20 day parking fee, which I thought should have been included, but oh well. We left the car parked for 2 days and took the bus around.
The rooms were clean and comfortable. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown. It is always nice to hear how well our guests are treated by our associates and we focus on training them to provide each guest with an exceptional stay. With Toronto’s parking spaces at a premium and a limited number of spots available for our hotel guests we feel that the cost of parking is competitive to other lots in the area and the in/out privileges are a way of compensating for the cost as most of the parking lots do not accommodate this. Once again thank you for taking the time to write and tell us about your stay with us and we look forward to seeing again when you get the chance to visit our fair city.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown

Address: 111 Lombard Street, Toronto, Ontario M5C 2T9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 141 hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart in Our Hotel in Toronto, Ontario You'll enjoy an ideal location at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel - Downtown Toronto. Our hotel's location is near Pearson International Airport (YYZ), Toronto Island Airport (YTZ), Toronto Union Train Station and the underground shopping/walking paths, which makes it easy to navigate Toronto.Lodging here puts you in close proximity to famous attractions like the Hockey Hall of Fame and Distillery Historic District. Toronto is also home to Eastern Canada's largest shopping mall, Eaton Centre, which is within walking distance of the hotel.Toronto, Ontario's government buildings, the Queen¿s Park and Provincial Parliament are nearby, as well as First Canadian Place, BCE Place, Sears, Ryerson University, Saint Michael's Hospital and other businesses in downtown Toronto. Our hotel's amenities include a 24-hour Business Service to help you complete your work.Unlike other hotels in Toronto, our hotel offers multiple complimentary services: a hot breakfast bar, high-speed Internet access in every room, a daily newspaper and local calls. Each room is outfitted with a triple-sheeted bed, a cable TV, a work area with two phones and a bathroom with specially designed amenities. Our downtown Toronto hotel's staff looks forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown Hotel Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.