We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“misleading” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Lombard Street, Toronto, Ontario M5C 2T9, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE between 10-30%!
Ranked #51 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“misleading”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The hotel is well located and reasonably price but not very clean. The service is poor and the available amenities described on the web may not exist or are described in a misleading way. For example, the claim they have an “off site” health center but all that means (according to the on-site staff) is that they are close-by fitness centers that may have fee-based daily access.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are very concerned by your feedback as your experience was in no way reflective of the exemplary standards of service, cleanliness and overall quality that guests should expect from our hotel. We have contacted you directly to apologize. Our General Manager and Executive Committee are aware of your feedback and we are in the process of addressing each issue that you report. We will ensure that your experience is not repeated and appreciate your bringing this problem to our attention via Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    335
    155
    38
    17
See reviews for
148
250
60
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ajax, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located in the downtown area. Close to the business district, 2 blocks away to the Lawrence market. The room is a little bit tight. The hot breakfast is great addition to the amenities this hotel offers. The parking is also a deal, $20 for 24 hours that allows you to go in & out (all included). An affordable place to stay in the downtown area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very for your comments regarding your recent stay. We are glad you chose to stay at the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown hotel, and are very happy you had a nice experience. We hope to have you return on your next trip to Toronto city.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Have stayed here a few times now for work and leisure. Place is always clean and comfortable, rapid easy check-in, and the very pleasant guys on the desk always call a few mintues after check-in to make sure the room is in order - a small but nice touch in a less expensive hotel. Guys up front are really nice.

Nothing much on the streets immediately around the hotel but it's right downtown so nothing is very far. Well served by a constant stream of cabs on all the surrounding streets as well as public transit. Starbucks 1 block away at Church & Adelaide. Would be nice if the hotel had a few more basic services but they offer a full breakfast for those who want that and there is a convenience store a block away.

This is not a lush, Fairmont type experience but then you're not paying for that. To me it offers very good value in a more basic kind of place, comfortable, clean and reliable at a decent rate for downtown TO.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side if you are bothered by a bit of road noise, but even on the Jarvis S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Valued,
Thank you for your kind review which you posted on Trip Advisor. It makes me very proud to receive such great feedback from you - especially your kind comments about our associates. Our associates are our asset and we are very proud to have such great individuals working for us that make the difference! Thanks again for your great comments and please do visit us soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I don't really have anything negative to say about this hotel.

Everything was great for us: Service, location, cleanliness, breakfast, etc. We never had a problem with anything.

If you are looking for "fancy" this would not be the hotel for you but otherwise it is a great budget hotel.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have good views. Ours looked into the window of a neighbouring building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
We truly appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Thank you so much for your great review. We appreciate the business and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel itself is dated and extremely busy but the staff made up for it. I found them extremely welcoming and caring, no query was too much for them, from printing out directions, advice on where to eat and in arranging our transfer to the airport. The room was small and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was basic but welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for the great review of the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown and the amazing things that you have said about our staff members. It always a thrill to hear that our staff have gone above and beyond to ensure that you, are guests, are treated right. Amazing customer service is what all of our staff strive to give to each and everyone of our guests and we hear so many great comments about the things that they have done, but we never get tired of hearing more. Once again thank you for taking the time to write and tell us about your stay with us and we look forward to seeing again when you get the chance to visit our fair city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here September 27-30, as we were attending a wedding in downtown Toronto. As many other reviewers have stated, the hotel is conveniently located and the price is good value for money.

Getting around -
We had travelled VIA rail into Union Station, and found it easy to navigate the metro up one stop to King, which is located a few short blocks from the hotel. We used the TTC our entire trip, very easy to get around on foot, no need for cabs. We happened to be in town during Nuit Blanche - a contemporary arts festival with locations all over downtown, U of T campus, etc - that runs from dusk to dawn. We were ideally located for this in particular, and had a fantastic time checking out the exhibitions.

Staff -
Friendly front desk staff. I'm horrible at remembering names, but everyone was great. As our last night there was Nuit Blanche, we requested a later check out and they were happy to accommodate us.

The room itself -
Our room was on the 14th floor. A bit dated and basic, but very clean. Comfortable bed with nice duvet, we both slept well. I had originally been concerned as we were across from the elevator and I'm a light sleeper, but were not bothered by it during our stay. We didn't use the TV at all, but the free wi-fi was reliable. The A/C was the only catch - it was rather old and kind of loud, but it did it's job.

Breakfast -
Part of our reason for choosing this hotel was that breakfast was included. Others have described the breakfast itself, so I won't get into details. My fiancé liked it, I found it ok but I'm pickier :). It was close quarters but not uncomfortable. Friendly ladies keeping everything well stocked. Nice that the hours are extended on weekend mornings.

Overall, we had a good experience and would stay here again. Not fancy, but friendly, economical and convenient.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review of the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown. It is a proud moment for us when a guest writes a great review and even better when they can end the review with a comment like “I would stay there again”. The location of the hotel is truly a gem as we are close to so much of what Toronto has to offer, not to mention the subway system another of Toronto’s Public Transit System. i will pass along your comments to our front desk staff , as well as our housekeeping staff, they work very hard at what they do and it is always a pleasure to hear that they have met or exceeded our guest’s expectations. I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel for any of your future visits to our great city. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Breakfast area was an odd layout and very crammed. the rooms were fairly nice but there were definitely temperature control issues in the common areas of the hotel. the hallways were really hot causing the hotel to feel very muggy even in the evening. Staff was very nice and the location is easy to find and a close walk to a few options for dinner. I stayed there twice in a couple of weeks, so it was about the same experience both times.

Room Tip: Ends of the halls have slightly larger rooms than the rest of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TARIQ A, Assistant General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
I would like to thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown. Thank you for the kind words about my staff. I want to personally apologize for your disappointment with our breakfast area. Again, thank you for making the effort to share your thoughts. We value you as a guest, and I do want you to know that your concerns are our concerns! Please visit us again soon so that we can demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.
Tariq Azad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown

Address: 111 Lombard Street, Toronto, Ontario M5C 2T9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart in Our Hotel in Toronto, Ontario You'll enjoy an ideal location at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel - Downtown Toronto. Our hotel's location is near Pearson International Airport (YYZ), Toronto Island Airport (YTZ), Toronto Union Train Station and the underground shopping/walking paths, which makes it easy to navigate Toronto.Lodging here puts you in close proximity to famous attractions like the Hockey Hall of Fame and Distillery Historic District. Toronto is also home to Eastern Canada's largest shopping mall, Eaton Centre, which is within walking distance of the hotel.Toronto, Ontario's government buildings, the Queen¿s Park and Provincial Parliament are nearby, as well as First Canadian Place, BCE Place, Sears, Ryerson University, Saint Michael's Hospital and other businesses in downtown Toronto. Our hotel's amenities include a 24-hour Business Service to help you complete your work.Unlike other hotels in Toronto, our hotel offers multiple complimentary services: a hot breakfast bar, high-speed Internet access in every room, a daily newspaper and local calls. Each room is outfitted with a triple-sheeted bed, a cable TV, a work area with two phones and a bathroom with specially designed amenities. Our downtown Toronto hotel's staff looks forward to serving you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown Hotel Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.