We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in convenient location - free wifi in rooms!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Toronto Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Toronto Centre to your Saves list
Novotel Toronto Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 The Esplanade, Toronto, Ontario M5E 1W2, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Get our Winter offer!
Ranked #48 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Great hotel in convenient location - free wifi in rooms!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

We arrived by limo taxi from the airport. Most of the tourist attractions can be reached on foot from the hotel - it's a pretty central and convenient location. City buses run right past. The nearest Metro stop is 2-3 blocks away (5-10 minute walk). The main railway station (with car rental offices) is also 2-3 blocks away. We didn't need it, but the hotel has a parking garage.

There's loads of useful facilities around the hotel... a small snack and 7Eleven place right next door. Some good restaurants across the road (more later). It seems a pretty safe area even we we returned late at night.

The staff are friendly and helpful. We had a bit of a mixup on arrival - having requested a twin room and got given a double - but they quickly changed it and reissued keys.

The rooms are pretty standard issue for a chain like Novotel. Everything was comfortable and worked as it should. The rooms have free wirless/wifi internet access. They also have two internet terminals in Reception.

The bathroom was a decent size and had shower in bath.

We only ate breakfast at the hotel (included in our rate). Good selection of hot and cold buffet items, some local Canadian things and something different every day. For evening meals theres some great options across the road - The Keg Steakhouse is quite pricy but the food was amazing. The Old Spaghetti Factory has a wide range of family friendly meals at fair prices. We also had a round of beers at the BierMarkt. Loads more options at St Lawrence Market just down the road.

We made use of the indoor, heated hotel pool and jacuzzi (on one of the upper floors).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    581
    233
    80
    56
See reviews for
262
356
98
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

staff really helpfull and location is amazing really central, and near all main atractions

Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

We just spent four nights here and really made good use of the excellent location. We could walk to St. Lawrence Market for breakfast every morning (great pastries and coffee), a milliner, a knitter/artist, food suppliers and little shops. We were also within luggage-rolling distance of Union Station. We walked one night to Marché, a kind of upscale food court with lots of good choices, and one night to Mercatto (reservations required) - good Italian, recommended by friends, good service and excellent thin-crust pizza. Our room was spacious (two queen) and by booking well in advance we paid only $120 on weeknights and $130 on Th-Fr. Rates go up further on event weekends (such as TIFF). There are two computers in the lobby for guest use (although painfully slow and they ration you at 20 minutes), but we almost always got on when we needed to. The time limit gave everyone a chance. We stayed here about four years ago and would do so again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

This was a nice hotel, close to amenities and good staff. It has two computers with free internet in the foyer for guests to use which I appreciated. I am sick of paying exorbitant internet fees at hotels. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

This hotel is located downtown (very good) but across the street from some restaurants/bars with outdoor patios. If your room faces that direction, and you are a light sleeper, you may be kept awake.

Clean room, but a little worn out - you could feel the springs when you sat on the day bed.

Noisy guests - most guests seemed on the younger side (25-35 yrs) - and my colleague had to call down to the desk one night to get her neighbors to quiet down. Maybe it was the film fest crowd?

Front desk staff did not create a good first impression. The woman started checking me in before she was finished with the guest in front of me. Basically threw a pen and sheet of paper at us, gave us our room keys, and took off. Clearly had better things to do than welcome paying guests to her hotel. Subsequent dealings with front desk were ok but not exceptional.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

We wanted a hotel within walking distance of the Air Canada Centre. Picked this one based on TA reviews and location. Hotel had good curb and lobby appeal, made a good first impression. Our 2 queen room was spacious and clean with chairs for reading. Free wifi worked well. We had the a la carte breakfast that was very reasonably priced for a downtown hotel (we also had breakfast around the corner at the new Fran's - a TO institution - recommended!). Room service in the evening was fast, tasty, nicely presented and well priced. The room faced the Esplanade which was surprisingly quiet. Only complaints: charge for local calls, no mini fridge, and stingy with the towels (but we didn't contact housekeeping to ask for more). Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

The location of the hotel is fantastic. Right across from restaurants and close to all the downtown sights. The buffet breakfast was included in our rate and it was great! The rooms and the service were good. We were a little disappointed that we didn't get the upgraded room we booked and were charged for, but once I pointed it out to the front desk staff they took care of it right away and credited our account, so no big deal. Overall we had a great experience and we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Toronto Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Toronto Centre

Address: 45 The Esplanade, Toronto, Ontario M5E 1W2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Toronto Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Toronto is nestled in the historic district of Old Town Toronto. Get a glimpse into Toronto’s past strolling through cobblestone streets, enjoy a wide array of gastronomical international treats at the St. Lawrence Market or savour the flavours from myriad restaurants and pubs. Just steps from the Hockey Hall of Fame, Harbourfront and Union Station, the Novotel is 30 minutes from Pearson International Airport and 5 minutes from Billy Bishop Airport.With a European flavour, whether you are staying for business or pleasure the hotel offers a variety of services to make any stay exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Toronto Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Toronto Centre Hotel Toronto
Accor Toronto Centre
Toronto Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Toronto Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.