We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks good on the Internet, but...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Toronto Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Toronto Centre to your Saves list
Novotel Toronto Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 The Esplanade, Toronto, Ontario M5E 1W2, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Get our Winter offer!
Ranked #48 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Looks good on the Internet, but...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked this hotel in Toronto because the location and the room rate were good. The lobby and the restaurant are very beautiful and recently redecorated. Our room was booked with a CAA rate. It was right next to the elevators. It was long and narrow and the décor can be best described as tired. The hotel was very, very quiet. Its location is excellent if you like to walk to the downtown or to the Distillery District. There are several restaurants and pubs across the street. The St. Lawrence Market is only a 5 minute walk. The buffet breakfast at the hotel was excellent. All items were kept hot and kitchen staff constantly checked the buffet items to ensure that guests were not left wanting. We would have raved about this hotel if only the room had been updated. We felt as if we were staying in a University dormer.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Janak, General Manager at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this review, yesterday
Thanks for your candid review. While it’s great that we could provide you with a centrally located place to stay and a delicious breakfast, I am sorry that we missed the mark in other ways. Please rest assured that I will be sharing this feedback with our team so that we might make improvements going forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    579
    232
    79
    56
See reviews for
261
355
98
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Basic business class corporate hotel with comfortable bedding and down comforters. Large room and bathroom. The fitness room and indoor pool was nicer than we expected. Food was decent in the restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Janak, General Manager at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you for your four-star review. I am happy that you found your stay with us to be a comfortable one. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here over night after visiting the Christmas Market in the Distillery District. The hotel is a 15 minute easy walk to the Market and some great pubs across the street so you don't have to go very far to find a place to go out to.

When we checked into our room we could here a dog barking and howling down the hall. Yes this is a pet friendly hotel. With my wife being a light sleeper I asked her if she want to switch rooms now or later tonight. Well we went down to the front desk and asked to move because of the dog. No problem, the manager found rooms for us and our friends and although they weren't ready yet she had our luggage moved when they did become available.

That's the type of customer service that will keep us coming back to this centrally located hotel in the heart of Toronto. Great job Novotel!

Room Tip: Stay off the pet friendly floor unless of course you have a pet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Janak, General Manager at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thanks for your positive review! While I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay, I’m glad that we could rectify your situation in a professional manner. We hope to serve you on a future stay in Toronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I love staying here! This was my 11th year while I am in Toronto for business.
I am always greeted warmly by the front desk staff and all of server's in the
restaurant and bar. I feel safe and secure. Beds are comfortable! My room was a little noisy this year and I was transferred to a quieter area of the hotel
for no extra money.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Janak, General Manager at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Cynthia, we are truly honored that you have continuously stayed with us during your trips for more than a decade! I’m so happy that our friendly staff and guest rooms could help you feel safe and comfortable while in Toronto. Thank you very much for your review and your continued patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Ontario
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We took our seven-year-old Granddaughter into Toronto on the GO train from Oshawa to see the Christmas displays and for a children's play. This is an ideal spot to walk to from Union Station, visit countless sites within easy walking distance and not break the bank. The hotel is modern and very comfortable and well appointed. Lovely indoor pool, fitness centre and whirlpool and places to get snacks and food and many restaurants nearby.
We enjoyed our stay and although not particularly exciting it is a good family place stay. Check for specials for room rates.

Room Tip: Rooms at the font and near street level get noise from the local pubs. Look for 6th floor and up and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Janak, General Manager at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for your positive review. I am thrilled that we were able to provide you with a comfortable, contemporary place to stay while you were out with your granddaughter exploring Toronto. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Toronto Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Toronto Centre

Address: 45 The Esplanade, Toronto, Ontario M5E 1W2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Toronto Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Toronto is nestled in the historic district of Old Town Toronto. Get a glimpse into Toronto’s past strolling through cobblestone streets, enjoy a wide array of gastronomical international treats at the St. Lawrence Market or savour the flavours from myriad restaurants and pubs. Just steps from the Hockey Hall of Fame, Harbourfront and Union Station, the Novotel is 30 minutes from Pearson International Airport and 5 minutes from Billy Bishop Airport.With a European flavour, whether you are staying for business or pleasure the hotel offers a variety of services to make any stay exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Toronto Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Toronto Centre Hotel Toronto
Accor Toronto Centre
Toronto Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Toronto Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.