We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Toronto Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Toronto Centre to your Saves list
Novotel Toronto Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 The Esplanade, Toronto, Ontario M5E 1W2, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed two nights with the kids. The room was ready when we arrived, check in was smooth and staff friendly. A huge plus was the hotel parking for only $25 per night, with elevators straight up to the hotel.
The room was clean and comfy. The only thing to complain about really was the free wifi which was sporadic at best.

Room service was quite pricey, and unfortunately not very attentive. We ordered both breakfast and dinner, and both times the orders were mixed up. Not a big deal, just a bit annoying considering the steep price.

The hotel is situated right downtown, easy to get anywhere. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-NTC, General Manager at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I apologize that you experienced a couple of issues with our room service. I will certainly share your review with our team to see how we can improve in that respect. Nonetheless, I'm pleased to read you had an excellent stay, and enjoyed time with your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    622
    254
    87
    59
See reviews for
276
393
101
258
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Compared to other hotels in the area, Novotel is relatively inexpensive. The location is convenient to the convention center and much of the Bay Street business district. Not a new hotel, and the room I stayed in had not been refurbished lately, but the hotel is fine. Clean, quiet, decent beds.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-NTC, General Manager at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We really appreciate you taking the time to provide a review. We will share it with our team and use it for future improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Rented a room for 3 nights with 2 adults and 2 kids for March break (booked through CAA and got great rates) All of our activities were located downtown and we opted not to stay at the Royal York due to construction. What a pleasant surprise. Spacious, clean, well appointed rooms, 3 blocks from the heart of the city with a lot of services within 1 block. (St. Lawrence Market, tons of pubs, tons of restaurants, LCBO, grocery store....) We opted to get the room plan which included buffet breakfast for 2 adults in the rooms price (kids eat free)...OMG WHAT A FANTASTIC DEAL! Service was phenomenal in the restaurant, really friendly and inviting for the kids especially and the buffet was a true full buffet breakfast. We really had nothing bad to say about this hotel and the service. GO.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-NTC, General Manager at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Hi Chris - Wow! Thank you for your fantastic review! We're very happy you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. I appreciate you highlighting the phenomenal service you received in our restaurant, as well. Hope to see you next time you should visit Toronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stittsville, Canada
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
485 helpful votes 485 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This was handy to the train station so you could walk but the street was under construction and may be for some time. Nothing out of the ordinAry in terms of rooms. Peeling paint on the ceiling in the shower/tub area. The hot tub in the pool area was not very clean and did not work very well.
It was overpriced for the room
On the other hand, the brunch was very good. The hotel brags about the BEST bread in Toronto and they may be right. The croissants were very Parisian in their fluffiness and crusty outside. Not like North American croissants which are too doughy.
The baguette was also delicious. Just like being in France!
It is worth going for brunch and it is handy to the esplanade restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Front street unless you want to hear the pub noise below
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-NTC, General Manager at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We really value your comments and will share them with our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This hotel is really well located for quick travel in and out of the Billy Bishop Airport or Union Station. Travellers can fly in to the island airport, catch the free shuttle to Union Station and then walk the short distance to the hotel. There is a lot of construction happening in the area right now, but the walk is short and easy even with rolling luggage in tow. The lobby is bright and has a minimalist décor. I especially like the faux tufting on the white wall surrounding the elevator bank. Check-in was quick and I headed up to my 8th floor room. I had booked a standard room at the government rate, so it wasn't huge but it was comfortable enough. It looked out over a parking garage and, on an angle, to the windows of the hotel's pool room, which is also on the 8th floor, located right off of the elevator lobby. The room was well laid out and had everything that I needed, including a small "cooler" fridge and a good-sized programmable safe. The king-sized bed was comfortable with a crisp white duvet and no top sheet. I know that this European style doesn't suit everyone (and the hotel does provide an extra sheet that you can add yourself, if you want) but personally I prefer a bed covering that is obviously sparkling clean and has been laundered after every single guest's departure over a coverlet or comforter that stays on the bed for weeks without cleaning. The room had a single chair and small settee under the window, and a long desk with lots of plugs that also housed a large flat screen TV. The bathroom was spacious and clean and I appreciated that there was a disposable loofah included with the bath products. The white towels that I received were still white and fluffy and there were sturdy wooden hangers in the closet near the door. Overhead fixtures and well-placed lamps provided plenty of light in the room. I only stayed one night on this particular business trip, but there are lots of amenities in the immediate vicinity, including restaurants right outside the hotel's door (e.g., the Keg, the Old Spaghetti Factory, the Bier Markt) and several entertainment options nearby (the Sony Centre for Performing Arts, the Air Canada Centre, the Hockey Hall of Fame). There is also a well-stocked convenience store quite literally next door to the hotel that is the perfect place to load up on snacks and soft drinks, as well as to pick up any toiletries that you may have forgotten. I did not eat in the hotel on this visit, but its café is in the lobby, looking out onto the street, and offers pretty standard fare for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel was busy enough, as evidenced by the fact that I saw lots of people in the lobby and in the elevators (which require the use of a room key to ride), but I didn't hear any noise in the hallways at all. Check-out was quick the following morning and the attendant was quick to offer to store my luggage for the day, even though I didn't require that particular service. As this hotel always delivers, I will definitely be back on my next visit to Toronto.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-NTC, General Manager at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for your great feedback. We really appreciate your thorough review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the room amenities and we hope to see you again on your next business trip. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, ON
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We had a room on the fourth floor facing the Esplanade. The room itself was minimally furnished. The beds were comfortable - the pillows not so much. We did not have any room or street noise (and we were there on a Saturday night). There were a couple of things that I didn't love. We could not turn the heat down in the room. It was very warm. There was no fan in the bathroom - so after we all had showers - the room became hot. The window could not be opened - so we roasted. Due to there not being a fan in the bathroom - the shower had a lot of mould. The hinges on the door were super rusty and gross looking. I don't really ever notice things like that - but even my kids commented on the rusty hinges. Another minor issue was that the alarm clock was broken. We had reservations and a show to go to - so we didn't mention these minor issues to the front desk (and that is our fault). Based on our experience with check in and out - I do believe that they would have tried to remedy the issues but we were truly short on time. There is underground parking at the hotel for $25 and there is an outdoor lot just down the street for $10. We chose indoor simply for convenience. The hotel is centrally located. We had breakfast and it had decent options at the buffet (cold cereals, selection of fresh breads, scrambled eggs, eggs Benedict, sausages, bacon, hash browns, cold cuts, cheeses, fruit, etc.).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-NTC, General Manager at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for your great feedback. We really appreciate your thorough review. We will share your maintenance observations with the team. We are glad your stay was enjoyable overall and we hope to see you again! ~Janak Bhawnani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

-We stayed here in December.
-location was good, with lots of dinning options nearby... Keg, old Spaghetti factory, some pubs, etc...
-Union station (Subway Access) or corner of Front st/Yonge st (Subway or PATH Access) were about a 5-10min walk away.
-Onsite parking (parking garage) was $20/nite and it allowed in/out privileges during your stay.
-Access to all floors via elevator requires Keycard which is good for security. But make sure you take your key with your to Pool, as you will need it to get back to your room.
-Pool area was nice, along with hot tub. only downfall... change rooms/washrooms were 2 floors down from the pool, and only accessible via a steep stairwell at side of pool area.
-We didn't eat breakfast here, so I cannot comment on the Breakfast buffet.
-We would return here again with its good location, and good rates for being a downtown toronto hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel is surrounded by large buildings on all sides (with parking garage on south/back side of h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-NTC, General Manager at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your great feedback. We really appreciate your thorough review, and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Toronto Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Toronto Centre

Address: 45 The Esplanade, Toronto, Ontario M5E 1W2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Toronto Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Toronto is nestled in the historic district of Old Town Toronto. Get a glimpse into Toronto’s past strolling through cobblestone streets, enjoy a wide array of gastronomical international treats at the St. Lawrence Market or savour the flavours from myriad restaurants and pubs. Just steps from the Hockey Hall of Fame, Harbourfront and Union Station, the Novotel is 30 minutes from Pearson International Airport and 5 minutes from Billy Bishop Airport.With a European flavour, whether you are staying for business or pleasure the hotel offers a variety of services to make any stay exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Toronto Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Toronto Centre Hotel Toronto
Accor Toronto Centre
Toronto Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Toronto Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.