We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of the Destination Marketing Program and HST” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Toronto Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Toronto Centre to your Saves list
Novotel Toronto Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   45 The Esplanade, Toronto, Ontario M5E 1W2, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Get our Winter offer!
Ranked #48 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
rotterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beware of the Destination Marketing Program and HST”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We, a couple from the Netherlands, stayed in this hotel from 11 till 14 March. No doubt a fine hotel, nice room, a perfect location, free wifi. The hotel was prepaid. We had no extra expenses. What a surprise that our Amex credit card was charged for an extra $13.56 ($ 12.00 Destination Marketing Program and $ 1.56 HST DMP (whatever that is). I mailed the hotel, in a short mail the hotel referred to an attached message with some explanation about supporting some kind of office that promotes tourism in Canada. I mailed the hotel and asked them why a tourist has to pay for promoting tourism in Canada. In a short mail the hotel referred to another attached message. I mailed the hotel and asked them to answer just a simple question: do I have to pay DMP and HST (?), is this an obligation? The hotel does not bother to answer. Amex has removed the amount from my credit card. Now I understand why I did not get an invoice when we left the hotel. Beware of this kind of tricky business. Novotel does not say anything about this charge when you book the hotel. Beware of it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovoteltc, General Manager at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Friton237,

Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay at our hotel. I would like to clarify your HST and DMP comment. HST is similar to VAT in Europe, except is is charged as a line item after your purchase as it is not included in the price, currently it is at 13% on all purchases.

For the DMP, most major North American cities have a Destination Marketing Program that creates a long term dedicated source of marketing funding for the destination. This program is the catalyst that provides the opportunity to compete in the competitive international tourism economy. The desired economic outcome is an increase in overnight visitation and tourism receipts in the destination.

I hope we have clarified your concern and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel and city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    579
    232
    79
    56
See reviews for
261
355
98
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We booked an Executive King room at a great rate which included complimentary breakfast buffet in the Nicole Cafe. The room was spacious, with two arm chairs and a desk and chair. However, there was insufficient storage for two people for longer than an overnight stay. We were there for five nights. The bed side stands were shelves only. I travel with a few small medical supplies and like to keep them in the nightstand drawer but had to leave them on the desk as there was no extra room in the small chest of drawers. The Wi-Fi was annoying in that your room registration was only good for 24 hours so that everyday I had to request a new passcode. Once entered, that should have been sufficient, but every time my devices were inactive for even a short period within the hotel, you had to login again. As we had three different devices, this quickly became annoying

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile



Traveling across the country. We were spending weekend and to our way to Montreal, we chose Novotel because of the good reputation. Lobby well designed, room cleaned but still have back age T.V but really was not matter for us because we needed to explore the city. St.Lawrence market just two blocks down on the road, Eaton centre is about 10-15 minutes walking distance.
Excellent location, good price and friendly atmosphere. We will return back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

The room is old, the carpet looks unclean. The bathroom has old fixtures. There us nothing stylish abou at all. They charge boutique hotel prices without the boutique look. And the piece de résistance, the CRT TV! That's right no flatscreen TV!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We planned a short trip to Toronto by train. The Via Rail Canada travel agent suggested the Novotel Toronto Centre. We found the hotel to be a little pricy, but nice. I decided to join their points club as Novotel is associated with other French hotel chains in Europe. This was done easily over the Internet. However, when I attempted to obtain points for our stay in Toronto, I was continually harassed by messages asking me to fax them more documentation. Note their fax machine is not a toll free number. After about 4 attempts I gave up and told them to cancel my membership and stop sending me marketing emails. I have never before experienced such refusal to grant points from any hotel chain, store, car rental or airline. Consequently, I won't seek out any Accor chain hotels in the future.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I found this hotel excellent value for money, clean and great service - from desk, housekeeping and restaurant. They made you fell welcome, ensured your requests were dealt with quickly and pleasantly. Location made getting around Toronto easy. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMNovoteltc, General Manager at Novotel Toronto Centre, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments on a positive experience with our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again at our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Have stayed this location many times over the years and always apreciate good location on edge of downtown maddness. Espcially true this year with construction on Front St. and surrounds. Novatel is just outside the zone.
Couple trip with business add on. Worked well for my business calls and my wife enjoyed day at the St. Lawrence Market and Eaton Place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Toronto Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Toronto Centre

Address: 45 The Esplanade, Toronto, Ontario M5E 1W2, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Toronto Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Toronto is nestled in the historic district of Old Town Toronto. Get a glimpse into Toronto’s past strolling through cobblestone streets, enjoy a wide array of gastronomical international treats at the St. Lawrence Market or savour the flavours from myriad restaurants and pubs. Just steps from the Hockey Hall of Fame, Harbourfront and Union Station, the Novotel is 30 minutes from Pearson International Airport and 5 minutes from Billy Bishop Airport.With a European flavour, whether you are staying for business or pleasure the hotel offers a variety of services to make any stay exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Toronto Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Toronto Centre Hotel Toronto
Accor Toronto Centre
Toronto Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Toronto Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.