We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful "Non Chain" Hotel experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madison Manor Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Madison Manor Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Madison Manor Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   20 Madison Ave., Toronto, Ontario M5R 2S1, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 141 hotels in Toronto
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful "Non Chain" Hotel experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

I love this hotel. It's the absolute antithesis of the impersonal, characterless chain hotel stay. The rooms are all unique, quirky and interesting; the location is fantastic, right in the hip Annex neighbourhood, within walking distance of the ROM, the Bata Shoe Museum and Yorkville. Great restaurants nearby; U of T students cheek to jowl with hipsters and business peoplet...the Spadina TTC station seconds away.

Best of all, it's a building or two away from one of the classic pubs in Toronto.

The Staff take tremendous pride in being part of this famous landmark, and the hospitality is genuine and personal. I held meetings in the pub area, and the brick and period details (along with the service) blew everyone away.

What more can I say? I love "The Mad"

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    34
    9
    6
    7
See reviews for
8
35
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

I recently spent three weeks at this hotel with five colleagues for business. Although there are some positives, such as a clean room and reasonable rates, the negatives greatly outweigh them. Initially, the lack of an actual reception/office was offputting because we had to track down a bartender from the upstairs pub to check us in. Over the next few weeks, several of my colleague's electronic room keys stopped working (one had to get eight replacements), and each time it was past office hours and the bartender had to be found. No apology or solution was ever offered. In addition there is a continental breakfast included in the stay that is no more than stale bagels, oily muffins, and cold hard-boiled eggs. Breakfast is in the main floor of the pub, and several mornings by the time I made it to breakfast there was no food left and many of the tables were dirty and littered with used plateware. Lastly, after a few days of asking reception to call us a cab, we were told that "Y'know you can call it yourself. There's a phonebook in your room." After that helpful tip, the phone at reception was no longer answered when we called. Overall a very disappointing and frusterating experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingersoll, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

We reserved in January and requested a room that was quiet. They gave us a room that was facing the street and above the main entrance. The noises and voices we heard most of the night were so bad that we might as well have all been in the same room. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

Just to add a little regarding people who have pointed out a noise concern: Ask for a basement room on the north side--you'll be fine. There was a large party next door for New Years Eve (cheapest NYE in Toronto BTW), Sweetie and I had a great/reasonably quiet night's sleep. Location is really convenient. Room was warm, clean, attractive. Bed was comfy, and we enjoyed the breakfast. Excellent deal for Toronto. We'll stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

Has a great time. Stayed in Suite that had a gas fireplace, lots of natural light. The place was very clean and quiet (North East side of building), the neightbour hood is somehwat historic and eccentric. Staff were friendly. Breakfast was what would be expected for this price range. Parking was convenient and the hotel is close to the subway and streetcar lines. A great experience and would definately stay there again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

More bars than rooms, great place to stay for your city break. Breakfast is in the bar downstairs which is a little odd but I loved it. Very clean. Much better than your big chains.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

This was the second time we stayed at the Madison Manor. It is a great place to stay while in Toronto. Subway is just steps away from your door. Rooms are spacious and very clean. We stayed 2 nights and the second night we did hear the drunk crowd singing "Oh Canada" at 2:30am. It woke us up but it didn't bother us. We thought it was kinda cool really. Kathryn that runs the hotel is very friendly. We would definetly stay there again. The rates for the rooms are very reasonable.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Madison Manor Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Manor Boutique Hotel

Address: 20 Madison Ave., Toronto, Ontario M5R 2S1, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Madison Manor Boutique Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Madison Manor Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Manor Boutique Toronto
Hotel Madison Manor Boutique

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madison Manor Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.