We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced and tired....” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Omni King Edward Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Omni King Edward Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Omni King Edward Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37 King Street East, Toronto, Ontario M5C 1E9, Canada (Formerly Le Meridien King Edward) (Downtown Toronto)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Dining Credit
Ranked #16 of 141 hotels in Toronto
Sauble Beach, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Over priced and tired....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed one night here as we were in town to see a concert. Booked on line with Hotels.com and the price of the room was still $250 ish. When we arrived at the front desk the dismissive front desk clerk made a point of saying "you booked through Hotels.com....." like that was a really low class thing to do. My husband asked for an upgrade, which we were willing to pay for and we were told..."Nope...we are all booked..." The room we got was ridiculous, small, dingy and the view was a brick wall a few feet away. I think they gave us this dumpy room because we booked on line. The bathroom was tiny and there was no where to put your toiletry bag, so I put it on the Floor!! The bathroom walls and door could have used a clean. Will not even think of staying here again and will go back to One King West in Toronto as they treat us with respect and are very helpful.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    562
    356
    157
    90
    35
See reviews for
145
456
87
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

What's a great experience from the friendly valets and desk staff to the restaurant service. They go over the top for dogs which makes me smile. Even had a welcome gift for our fur kid. The only concern is that some of the rooms are "tired" . Seems they are under upgrade but you should specifically request a renovated room. Nonetheless, I would strongly recommend the hotel since it will reaffirm that excellent customer still exists and is alive and well at the King Eddy.

Room Tip: Request a renovated room even if it means the room is smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thamesford, ON
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We we enjoyed our room but there was not a fridge in the Bar area to keep our drinks cold. Restaurants in the Hotel are far too too expensive so had to go out to find a restaurant. Imagine, Brunch was $39 each and then had to tip. Hotel did place a plate with 4 chocolate dipped strawberries in honour of our 51th anniversary

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orangeville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

From the time we pulled up to Valet at the front door. We where treated by friendly staff. Upon check in we where upgraded to suites and escorted with our bags to our rooms. Both rooms where clean and spacious. Excellent location for all our activities. Distillery, Taste of Toronto at Fort York, Beach Jazz on Queen St. High light... they make a mean Cosmo in the bar!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We book a night at this hotel after reading some reviews and we could not get more pleased!!
Hotel is beautiful and well mantained, very clean and the staff is super friendly.
Everything was just perfect!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at the King Edward in July 2014. The customer service was the best I've experienced in years from the doorman, to the check-in staff to the manager, Don. The hotel itself is quite beautiful and the location for downtown Toronto is perfect. Check out the Sunday morning antique market just round the corner. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, Guest Relations Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear PamBUsa,

We appreciate your feedback. We are so thrilled to hear that our customer service was the best you have experienced and that you received royal treatment throughout your stay. We look forward to sharing your comments with our hotel team who will appreciate your recognition. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Omni King Edward Hotel and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

For those who are exploring the King Eddy for the first time, here is what will happen if you stay here. One day, without warning, a memory will drift into your mind and a stupid smile will take over your face. Somebody who is in charge here is trying very hard to build a strong customer service culture - and it's working.

For a start, the hotel is in a great location - for business or for pleasure. We wanted to be within walking distance to Union Station so it was perfect. (Though the amount of construction in the neighborhood will have you grinding your teeth.) You can expect to be pampered here and it is up to you how much you want to be pampered.

The rooms are quite big and they do not show their bumps and bruises even though they have welcomed guests for more than 100 years.

Be sure to visit the fitness room because you will be bragging about your visit there when you get back home.

We just spent a couple of nights. It would have been so easy to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Omni King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni King Edward Hotel

Address: 37 King Street East, Toronto, Ontario M5C 1E9, Canada (Formerly Le Meridien King Edward)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#12 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#13 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#18 Business Hotel in Toronto
#18 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Omni King Edward Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sixteen-story Edwardian Hotel dating from 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Omni King Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien King Edward Hotel Toronto
Meridien King Edward
King Edward Hotel Toronto
Toronto Le Royal Meridien King Edward
Le Meridien Toronto
Toronto Le Meridien
Le Royal Meridien King Edward

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Omni King Edward Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;