We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay @ the King Eddie” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Omni King Edward Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Omni King Edward Hotel to your Saves list
The Omni King Edward Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37 King Street East, Toronto, Ontario M5C 1E9, Canada (Formerly Le Meridien King Edward) (Downtown Toronto)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Dining Credit
Ranked #14 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Plymouth, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Another great stay @ the King Eddie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Second of many anticipated future visits. Staff and hotel are first rate. Consort bar offers great opportunity for people watching. Rooms are comfortable and offer great vistas of downtown Toronto. Six great Italian restaurants within 2 blocks of hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Craig D,

Thank you for continuing to stay at the Omni King Edward and taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled that the exceptional service provided by our staff and the convenient location of the hotel contributed to a great stay.

Your patronage is appreciated.

Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    419
    175
    99
    35
See reviews for
177
543
99
399
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York Mills, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

The location could not have been better,close to everything. The staff was very welcoming,we especially enjoyed Michelle at the Front Desk and Hanane in the restaurant. This is my home away from home!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Beatrice,

Thank you for taking the time to express your appreciation for the services rendered by Michelle and Hanane. I will ensure that they are aware of your praise. It is a delight to hear that we are your home away from home in Toronto.

Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Stayed here in April and again in May. Beautiful hotel and excellent location. Rooms are spacious, spotlessly clean and beautiful. Love the art deco touches. We didn't eat in the hotel, but did have a few drinks in the bar. Excellent service and very comfy seating. All in all a wonderful stay and would stay here again. Got a great rate both times through Groupon so it was excellent value for money

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights. I chose to pay the extra money to stay in a newly renovated room which was found on the 6th floor. After reading several reviews of the older rooms I wanted to ensure we had a newer room. The room very large with lots of closet space, 2 bathrooms(one with a shower & sink, and one with the toilet & sink). The 2 queen beds in the room were very comfortable. The room was a comfortable temperature and it was very easy to adjust this to make it cooler or warmer. I used the gym which was also very spacious with quite a bit of equipment for a hotel gym. Several of the treadmills didn't work, but there was still plenty of other equipment to use. If you want ice for your room it is not located on the same floor. Rather, you go down to the Mezzanine floor to retrieve this. We ate breakfast in the restaurant on our last morning and it was excellent quality. The coffee was steaming hot which I loved! The service was also very good. Vanessa helped us with dinner reservations on the Friday night. She recommended an Italian restaurant right beside the hotel - Carisma. It was very good and I would definitely return there when visiting Toronto again. I would definitely stay at the King Edward again if I am planning a special weekend. However, it's probably a little expensive for me to pay that every time I come to the city. I'm sure they have deals, I purchased through the hotel website. I heard someone at front desk used a Groupon voucher. I would be interested to see what that was worth.

Room Tip: 6th floor rooms are newly renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

The King Edward is really nice since it has been refurbished, I think most of the rooms are done at this stage but certaintly ask for one that has been refurbished just in case. The bar has a nice atmosphere and good food. The hotel is very centrally located for restaurants, the lake and Queen St/Eaton Centre etc. I have one issue, you only get one small bottle of water in the room, and no mini-bar. One time I stayed they forgot the water altogether. There is a small shop downstairs but is inconvenient if you wake up and there are no options!

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Donegal, Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights on our first trip to Toronto. The hotel lobby was impressive....a good start. Our room on the 15th floor was large and clean, and well laid out. The staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel is in a great location, with easy access to the subway/ streetcar and the main downtown attractions. Lawrence Market is maybe a 7 minute walk, and less for Union Street station in one direction and Eaton Centre in the other.
We didn't have breakfast included in our package but Tim Hortons is just across the street and everything there was fresh and tasty.
We ate in a number of restaurants nearby, Carisma on the same street was v good, and the Irish Embassy had nice food with large portions (Yonge St). The Whole Works near the market did a great burger and the milkshake was to die for.
The only reason this hotel is not getting 5 stars is that the drinks in the bar was v expensive.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This really was a great place to stay. I didn't plan on staying here at first and picked it as a second option. I will be picking it as my first option from now on though. Staff was great, the rewards program is awesome and I couldn't ask for a better experience. the room was well laid out and certainly big enough. It is well located with lots of options close by for food and shopping. The Eaton Center is only a few blocks North. You should really give it a try.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Omni King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni King Edward Hotel

Address: 37 King Street East, Toronto, Ontario M5C 1E9, Canada (Formerly Le Meridien King Edward)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Toronto
#11 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#11 Business Hotel in Toronto
#12 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#12 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Omni King Edward Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sixteen-story Edwardian Hotel dating from 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Omni King Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien King Edward Hotel Toronto
Meridien King Edward
King Edward Hotel Toronto
Toronto Le Royal Meridien King Edward
Le Meridien Toronto
Toronto Le Meridien
Le Royal Meridien King Edward

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Omni King Edward Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.