We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like Royalty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Omni King Edward Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Omni King Edward Hotel to your Saves list
The Omni King Edward Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37 King Street East, Toronto, Ontario M5C 1E9, Canada (Formerly Le Meridien King Edward) (Downtown Toronto)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off + $50 F&B Credit
Ranked #12 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Treated like Royalty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stay at The King Eddy every couple months, just to get away from busy life. The hotel has a modern feel and an Victorian look. I can say this is one of my favorite hotels to stay at in the city. The Front Desk staff are very friendly and always ready to help with any needs. Concierge staff were amazing, they always get me into great restaurants. In great news the hotel is now managed by Omni hotels, so get your membership cards out!!

Room Tip: The royal Club is a great value for the amazing breakfast, Hor D'Oeuvres and free Wifi that is i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Jason D,

Thank you for your continued patronage of The King Edward Hotel. It is such a delight to be one of your preferred hotels in Toronto. I am pleased that your experiences with us have been consistently positive and I appreciate your feedback on our friendly staff. Our concierge will be thrilled to hear of your thoughtful comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    876
    470
    184
    101
    35
See reviews for
210
629
106
476
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I was on business in Toronto and chose the King Edward hotel for its character and reputation. I was pleasantly surprised with the room size and decor. Unfortunately for me it was a single night stay, but I would highly recommend the hotel for those that want a bit extra in their stay.

Room Tip: I stayed on the seventh floor and found the room excellent for blocking out noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Peter M,

Thank your for choosing to stay at The King Edward Hotel and sharing a great review. I am glad that your experience was one of pleasant surprise and satisfaction. We look forward to your return visit for a longer stay.

Sincerely,
Jeff Waters
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The personnel at the King Edward is remarkable. They cater to your needs with a smile, answer quickly to your many requests and inquire for ways of bettering your stay.
It truly is a pleasure to arrive there and be greeted that way and not once but on a regular basis.

Room Tip: the 11th floor has a club room with nice breakfast and cocktail hour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We chose The King Edward hotel because it seemed to have a bit more character and charm than other hotels in the area and we were not disappointed. We got our reservation online at Otel.com via google.ca/hotels (another good resource) and ended up paying just over $100 for a 1 night stay where rooms can start at double that price. The hotel itself was having some renovations done on the outside which left the hotel quite unassuming, but once you step inside it's like a different world. The hotel has a grand lobby with large marble floors and beautiful high ceilings that make you think of a more glamorous generation, not unlike the hotels from roaring 20s (The hotel itself was celebrating its 110th anniversary when we visited).

Our room was on the 12th floor and plenty spacious. The room continued the hotels grand theme with a large bathroom and surprisingly nice wall-papered walls. The downfall was the TVs had limited reception for whatever reason. Back down on the main level the hotel bar is a classy-joint straight from the Mad Men era where they make the best whiskey old fashioned I've ever had...its pricey, but a nice place to go for a night cap. All in all the hotel had a grand charm that is hard to find in other places, if your looking for more than a place to rest your head I strongly suggest stopping by.

Room Tip: We got our reservation online at Otel.com via google.ca/hotels (another good resource) and ended up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

i was there with my wife from the 16th of July for 2 days.
it is a great hotel with a great service and amazing receptionist guys.
thank you so much i will be more then happy to come back there.
the place was wonderful and the location was really good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Our room was enormous. Two overstuffed chairs and a desk unit. The bed was comfortable and there were two types of pillows, fat and skinny. I love that option. The bath was large as well. This was one of the most comfortable hotels I've ever stayed in. Also, the concierge was very helpful in helping us with theater options and museums. I was very impressed with her. A good choice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Most Toronto hotels are old. Stayed there cause 5 Seconds of Summer was there. Got to meet and greet them all. Rooms were ok but clean. Love it when the air conditioner works properly. Staff was friendly. They always went out of there way to satisfy our requests. Restaurant had good food but a bit pricey. Good location to walk to Eaton Center and subway was close for rides to Union Station.

Room Tip: Ask for king corner room has a small living room in it. Plenty of room for extra cot if need be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Omni King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni King Edward Hotel

Address: 37 King Street East, Toronto, Ontario M5C 1E9, Canada (Formerly Le Meridien King Edward)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Toronto
#9 Family Hotel in Toronto
#10 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#10 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Omni King Edward Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sixteen-story Edwardian Hotel dating from 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your The Omni King Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien King Edward Hotel Toronto
Meridien King Edward
King Edward Hotel Toronto
Toronto Le Royal Meridien King Edward
Le Meridien Toronto
Toronto Le Meridien
Le Royal Meridien King Edward

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Omni King Edward Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.