We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Omni King Edward Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Omni King Edward Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Omni King Edward Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37 King Street East, Toronto, Ontario M5C 1E9, Canada (Formerly Le Meridien King Edward) (Downtown Toronto)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Dining Credit
Ranked #16 of 141 hotels in Toronto
Oshawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I had a very nice stay at the King Eddy! All the staff throughout my stay were friendly and welcoming.As other reviewer mentioned, the bed's are very comfortable. The Sunday Brunch is not to be missed,the food and the restaurant were great !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Robert Y,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at The King Edward Hotel. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed the excellent service provided by our friendly staff. The Sunday Brunch is one of the city’s best and we take pride in providing our guests the best dining experience. We appreciate your patronage and thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,
Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,200 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    562
    356
    157
    90
    35
See reviews for
145
456
87
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend went to Toronto to escape for the night and have a great time, when we arrived at the hotel we were immediatly greeted by the concierge at the door which made us feel more than welcome. The girl at the front desk was very polite, professional and has us checked in in no time. The room was beautiful and clean and I was very happy with the television in the bathroom mirror so I could watch the NFL playoffs while getting ready to go out. When we wanted to go for dinner I asked the lady at the concierge if she had any preferences and she mentiond several places that all sounded fantastic but the place we chose was amazing. The next day when we checked out the girl on the desk took no time looking after us and making sure we had a good stay. We needed to get to the ROM so I asked the concierge how to get there and they were spot on with directions. Overall it was the most pleasant experience I have ever had in a hotel and will be back next month for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Mduckworth03,

Thank you for sharing a great review of your experience at The King Edward Hotel. It is such a delight to know that you had a wonderful time with us. We appreciate the recognition given to the members of our team who continue to go the extra mile to provide exceptional service to our guests.

We look forward to your next visit so we can continue to exceed your expectations and offer the royal treatment that you can typically expect from The King Edward Hotel.

Sincerely,

Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I had an extended stay at the King Edward for 12 days. The room was very spacious and comfortable. Great location within walking distance to many restaurants and shops. Definitely go have a drink in the lounge and visit Stefano. He has been working there for over 30 years and is extremely knowledgeable about the hotel history and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear John_C55711,

Thank you for providing us this feedback about your stay at The King Edward Hotel and acknowledging Stefano. We are grateful for spreading the word about our bar/lounge and staff who continue to provide the extra service and commitment to guest satisfaction.

We truly appreciate knowing about our guest's experiences so we can celebrate our successes and address any challenges to better serve you in the future. We look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,

Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We booked on hotwire for $160/night and were very pleased. We were put in a room on the 8th floor in the corner and the room was massive! The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have stayed in and the room itself was spacious and comfortable. Big and clean bathroom was well. It had an old world charm to it, something you don't see often. The hotel is in a great location that is central to many food and shopping outlets. Staff was very nice.

The only downside to this hotel is that when you turned on the tap in the bathroom at times it smelled like sewage.....but as soon as you turned it off it went away. It wasn't the actual water-- must have been something from the pipes, but regardless you could only faintly smell it. Also prices at the hotel and bar are very high-- but I suppose that is to be expected. Went down to the bar to get a cup of tea and it cost $6 plus tax.

Other than that, I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Toronto.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear BarbadosBum,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your experience at The King Edward Hotel. We are pleased to learn that your overall stay was to your satisfaction. However, I apologize for the minor inconveniences you encountered. We are working on ways to improve our services every day and appreciate the feedback that we receive from our guests. Rest assured that your concern about the water in the bathroom has been addressed with our maintenance team.

We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is a great Toronto hotel. Large rooms with comfortable beds. The hotel is in a super location with public transportation,, and you can walk to many downtown places of interest. Very nice bar, good breakfast and lovely afternoon Tea.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Kevin B,

Thank you for a wonderful review about The King Edward Hotel. We sincerely appreciate that you took the time to provide feedback about your stay. We hope to see you again next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Ok so where do I start:

We were travelling for a friend's wedding in downtown Toronto. It was during the TIFF and most other hotels were booked or well overpriced. This hotel was suggested by the couple.

From the outside, the hotel looks like a grand palace. the lobby is dated but somewhat charming with lots of marble and antique style furniture. I was told that this hotel use to be the hotel of choice in downtown Toronto.

We got to the hotel on time for check-in. The hotel staff was rude and kept repeating my personal information with a loud voice. I was taken aback as there were many people around the check-in desk.

Our hotel room was huge and clean but very dated. The carpet was old and the room smelled a tad misty. The bathroom was also very dated. The gym was closed for renovations (we were never made aware of this when we booked).

There were a few party guys staying in the rooms close to us. They were loud and partied in their room all night. Our whole floor could hear them.

If you need to be in Toronto on a budget and do not intend to spend too much time in the hotel this is a good hotel to stay at. Expect a clean room but don’t expect luxury.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear travelstyle060,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The king Edward Hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for a disappointing stay. Service is one of the best things about this hotel and I am very sorry if we failed to maintain our service delivery standards in this situation. Rest assured that this matter has been brought to the attention of the departments concerned for corrective action. I know that this does not change your experience but I hope that you can feel confident that we heard your concern and are doing something about it.

Thank you for your comments and I hope that you grant us another opportunity to prove ourselves better hosts in the future.

Sincerely,

Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stayed here with my two daughters a couple of years back and the hotel was completely renovated as it is very old (i think it was built in 1903) It has a famous crystal ballroom on the 18th floor that was just renovated as it sat deserted and left as is since the 50's. Supposedly the hotel has some strange stories about being haunted. We did experience some strange occurances with the elevator. Anyway this hotel is great and in the heart of downtown Toronto with easy access to The CN Tower (another great place to go or eat in the revolving restaruant which is like a 100 stories up. The tower also has a glass "see through" floor near the top which is pretty cool. The King Eddy is close to many things or you can conveniently hop on the trollies that pass right by the hotel. Chinatown is good but not as big as NY's Chinatown, but worth walking around. There is quite a big underground shopping area which also houses the subway system. If you get a chance to catch a concert at the Molson Amphitheater it's right on the water and there is a lot to to on the waterfront. If you need a car, you can walk from the hotel to the Enterprise Rent A Car and take a drive (2 hours to Niagra Falls) which also takes you through the beautiful country side and wine country. Make sure to stop at the town: Niagra on the Water... The Hotel is very comfortable and luxurious and has all of the amenities you could wish for....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KingEdward1903, General Manager at The Omni King Edward Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear lukeav,

Thank you for sharing a detailed account of your experience at The King Edward Hotel and the city. I am glad that you had a wonderful stay with us. Your feedback is critically important to our efforts for improvement. We truly appreciate knowing about our guest’s experience so we can celebrate our successes and address our challenges to better serve you in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are in the area again.

Sincerely,

Jeff Waters
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Omni King Edward Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Omni King Edward Hotel

Address: 37 King Street East, Toronto, Ontario M5C 1E9, Canada (Formerly Le Meridien King Edward)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#12 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#13 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#18 Business Hotel in Toronto
#18 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Omni King Edward Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sixteen-story Edwardian Hotel dating from 1903. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Omni King Edward Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien King Edward Hotel Toronto
Meridien King Edward
King Edward Hotel Toronto
Toronto Le Royal Meridien King Edward
Le Meridien Toronto
Toronto Le Meridien
Le Royal Meridien King Edward

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Omni King Edward Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.