We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Is Number One For A Reason!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cambridge Suites Toronto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Cambridge Suites Toronto to your Saves list
Cambridge Suites Toronto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Richmond St. E., Toronto, Ontario M5C 1N2, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“It Is Number One For A Reason!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2005

The Cambridge Suites is consistently rated number one by TripAdvisor members, and now I know why. We stayed three nights, and enjoyed our stay thoroughly. We stayed on the 20th floor, and our suite was very private and quiet as other reviews have stated. Having a sleeping area that completely closed off from the living area with double doors was a plus, as I am an early riser and my husband is not.

The suite had all the amenities one could want, from complimentary coffee/tea/popcorn & cookies, to a fully stocked and clearly priced mini-bar, to dishes, silverware, and cloth napkins, to terry robes, and Neutrogena products for the bathroom. Coffeemaker, refrierator, microwave, ironing board & iron, hair dryer, cd player, video game console, all were included along with two televisions.

Continental breakfast is included in the price of the room. They offer an assortment of cereals with well chilled milk, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, fruit juices, breads for toasting, muffins, bagels, fresh fruits, dried fruits, and assorted pastries and yogurts. Guests can choose to have breakfast delivered to their room, or to eat in the Club Room on the second floor.

And the location! We were able to walk just about anywhere we wanted to go; we were literally steps from the PATH and Eaton Centre. There was a record-breaking heat wave while we were in Toronto, so the fact that a taxi was always available at the Cambridge entrance was very convenient for those times when we did not want to walk and brave the heat. By the way, the air conditioning in the room handled the heat wave very well; we were quite comfortable, even during the hottest part of the day.

The staff was very pleasant and attentive. We were there to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary, and were wished a happy one upon check-in. Later, a complimentary fruit & cheese tray and bottle of wine were sent to our room, along with an anniversary card. Nice touch.

There were no surprise charges at check-out; everything was as expected. I recommend The Cambridge Suites highly, and will certainly stay there again on my next visit to Toronto.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    422
    97
    29
    18
See reviews for
273
423
94
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2005

Loved this hotel, the rooms were large and spacious with facilities to make a drink, a dressing area, bathroom, iron and ironing board, complementary bathrobes and large bed.
Breakfast was included in the rate and served on a self-service basis which consisted of cereals, fruit, toast and bagels.
Staff were very helpful and delayed our check out for our convenience, the only thing it was missing was a swimming pool.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The OC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2005

Just returned from my trip to Toronto/Niagara Falls. I stayed at the Cambridge Suites for the Toronto portion and attended a conference during that time. The overall experience was great and I really enjoyed the hotel.

The rooms are nice, not overly spacious, but have good amenities such as a refrigerator, microwave, and dishes. The staff was very nice, courteous, and helpful. Jennifer, the concierge, is extremely helpful and goes above and beyond to help you. They provide a continental breakfast in the morning that you can either eat in the breakfast room or have delivered to your suite -- we did both.

The rooms were very quiet and there was no street noise, even though you are very close to the street (we were on the 4th floor). The location is ideal in the downtown area and allows you to walk to Eaton Centre and some of the other places in downtown. We walked to Richtree Market in the BCE Place, Mr. Greenjeans in Eaton Centre, and Sunset Grill for breakfast.

One tip: there is a Manager's reception on Wednesday evenings from 5:00 to 7:00. They provide appetizers and beer and wine. Its a pretty decent selection and they serve wines from Peller Estates in Niagara on the Lake. It was a nice experience and we were lucky to be there on that day.

The Cambridge Suites is a nice oasis in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the city of Toronto. All in all, I think it was one of the best hotel experiences I have had and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2005

We stayed 5 nights while attending a conference. The suite was a little less spacious than I had expected, but it was still very comfortable. We very much enjoyed the continental breakfasts (with big pots of hot water and coffee) delivered free to the room, with real silverware and cloth napkins - such a civilized service. And it's nice to have a microwave, sink, and fridge. The bathroom/dressing area was quite large, and the bed comfortable. Our room was clean and housekeeping was very responsive and thorough.

The hotel was a bit farther away from the convention center than I had thought (my own fault) but otherwise it's very nicely situated. All in all, I prefer a good smaller hotel over the large chain hotels. If you seek a quieter, more intimate hotel experience with great amenities, Cambridge Suites is for you.

  • Stayed June 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2005

Maybe it is just by comparison, but I didn't find the Cambridge Suites exceptional at all. The desk staff was "efficient and pleasant" not necessarily friendly or helpful. I would describe the room about the same, efficient and pleasant. I found it very odd that they have so many different people coming into your room at all hours of the day and evening. One makes the bed, one checks the mini-bar, one fills the free coffee/tea/cookies. One brings creamer and water, and finally one turns down the bed in the evening. I found it a bit unnerving having that many strangers coming and going from my room. Maybe that is just me!!!

I would have liked to have seen the concierge at the desk in the lobby more often, or the front desk staff cross trained to perform that task when necessary. We went a couple of times in the morning and had no luck, but in the afternoon, after we had been out most of the day on our own, then there was someone there. The hotel was clean and relatively quiet, but it seemed to be more of a business hotel than a tourist/family hotel.

I probably would not return to Cambridge Suites.... maybe my expectations were too high based on its ratings here.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2005

We arrived home yesterday after spending 5 nights at the Cambridge Suites and we had a wonderful time. It was a special occasion, my husband's 40th and the staff on the front desk sent him up a birthday card and 2 wonderful plates of fresh fruit and cheeses as a way of wishing him a happy birthday.

The room was immaculate and everything you could ever want to make an enjoyable stay was provided. The staff were friendly and helpful and went out of their way to assist in anyway possible. The breakfast was lovely, plentiful and fresh and certainly carried us well into the day before we even began to think about food again.

We thoroughly enjoyed our time here and with the added bonus that Niagara Falls was just over an hours drive away - what a wonderful place to spend your 40th birthday - we can certainly recommend this hotel highly and we would definately stay in the Cambridge Suites if ever we visit Toronto again.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2005

We stayed at Cambridge Suites for 4 nights and enjoyed it very much. The rooms are spacious and very clean. The location is perfect, with half a block away from a mall and a subway station and tons of shops and restaurants nearby. The continental breakfast is limited in variety, but very fresh and promptly refilled. What sets this hotel apart from its peers are the little things indicating a nice caring human touch: small notes forecasting the next day's weather, complimentary bottled water in the afternoon, etc.

If we really have to nitpick, TVs in our rooms are both very dated with distorted colors. Then again, TV watching was not the highlight of our stay ;-)

In summary, we highly recommend this hotel and will definitely put it on the top of the list for our next stay in Toronto.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cambridge Suites Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Suites Toronto

Address: 15 Richmond St. E., Toronto, Ontario M5C 1N2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Toronto
#16 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#16 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#20 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cambridge Suites Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted as one of Canada's top 25 hotels, an all suite property that offers space and privacy; French doors separate the bedroom from the living room with free WiFi access. Each suite boasts an entertainment wet bar with a coffee maker, fridge and microwave; as an extension of the bathroom, we offer a private dressing area and 24 hour room service is available as part of Portico restaurant's dining experience. Hotel guests also have access to the Business Centre plus access to the Rooftop Fitness Studio featuring a breathtaking view of the City. The hotel is connected to Toronto's underground PATH, which affords the business and leisure traveller with a well lit, secured walking corridor to over 5,000 companies and shops such as the Eaton Centre. Going to the theatre? Three of Toronto's best are within two blocks of the hotel! Looking for your place in the city? You found it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Cambridge Suites Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Hotel Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cambridge Suites Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.