We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect when you have a small budget and want to be downtown!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bond Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bond Place Hotel to your Saves list
Bond Place Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Dundas St. East, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2G8, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Québec
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect when you have a small budget and want to be downtown!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

If your priorities is the same as me: downtown, cheap rate and clean hotel, this is the place! We paid about 100$ per night and we were just beside Yonge-Dundas Square and about 15 minutes walking from the CN tower. The hotel in general is clean, and the room too. The queen size bed room is not very big but it is ok, not as small as I imagine following the previous comments, and the bed very comfortable. The A/C is noisy, as in any hotel room I guess. We were at the highest floor,18th, and we heard some traffic noise in the morning, normal it's downtown. The hotel has an indoor parking lot in a building across the street for 15$ a night, very cheap compared to other hotel. The staff is nice and helpfull. I would go back to this hotel at that rate!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    724
    383
    109
    95
See reviews for
216
522
206
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

- worth the cheap price I paid ($67/night)
- fairly clean, the staff were friendly enough
- there seemed to be a bar in the lobby, but I'm not sure if it's ever open. The restaurant is quite small, but I did see some people dining there (price as advertised in the elevator was quite affordable)
- one of the smallest rooms I've stayed in, but comfortable for two people
- a good number of their rooms only have twin beds. I wouldn't recommend this for couples traveling together unless you are used to sleeping on your own bed. It's a good one for business trips though
- gets a bit sketchy after midnight, with some questionable-looking fellows and homeless folks roaming the area
- The somewhat noisy AC unit is placed right beside one of the twin beds, and it can get really cold (I used objects to block/redirect the airflow). If you're traveling alone, you can just sleep on the other bed
- convenient location - 2 minutes from Eaton Center, AMC theatre, Yonge & Dundas

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

You get what you pay for here. It is cheap and cheerful and to be honest not as bad as I thought it was going to be based on previous reviews. Booked through quikbook and got a % off as we stayed over 3 nights.

I was meeting my brother there who had checked in the night before.
When I arrived at the hotel he was not there so I checked in with reception who gave me a key without even asking for ID etc. Strange yes! Anyways the reception area is bright and clean as is the coffee bar - although I did not sample the coffee there. Different story in the hall ways -- old dark carpet, smelly area and deffo no AC on. Thank God we only had to endur that from the elevator door to the bed room.

The bedoom itself was fine for our needs as a base to explore the city. 2 single beds, flatscreen tv, wooden floors. Room overlooked a parking lot. Do not think there are any rooms with 'views' here. Bathroom was a little outdated. Needed extra towels - met the cleaning lady in the hallway and she said she would give us extra towels. She apologised for vacuuming - but it didn't bother me as I had just arrived! :) There was one day I was ill and had to spend the day in the room and the cleaning lady asked after me to my brother. Nice. :) Kudos to them.

It was a long holiday weekend so there was plenty of activity in the hotel hallways. Got the impression there were gangs of people in some rooms - but we didn't hear them all the time. There was a mixed group of people staying there.

Sits right off Dundas Square - 1 min to Yonge Street. You are in the heart of it here and for location purposes I would say yes book it. But if you are looking for more comfort, look elsewhere.

We had breakfast at the Senator around the corner and then at Fran's 24-hour breakfast joint which is awesome. Frans Rocks! Airport shuttle bus drops you off and does picks up right outside the door. Book online to get a discount. 1 Vending machine on the lower floor. Very little staff floating around.

Overall I would say its a cheap and cheerful option for a quick city stay. It is you basic hotel - I would even say its a step up from a hostel. I would recommend if you are on a budget. No frills but works!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Bond Place Hotel is fairly cheap compared to other big Toronto hotels. the rooms are also clean and adequate and the location is fairly good, right slap bang in the middle of everything but it is basic with a capital B
There is no swimming pool, no PC terminals, no breakfast arrangements (if your after more than an overpriced coffee), no laundry service and very few staff.
It is also the noisiest place I have ever slept in my life, it was like a warzone at night, a factory of door slamming testing, an explosive mixture of paper thin walls, loud voices, creaking beds and loud bangs.
So if your after a decent nights sleep, stay away. Not a hotel for young families but if your in Toronto for partying all night, then this may be your cup of tea.
A breakfast recomendation would be the Eggspectation cafe bar which is on Yonge Street minutes away from the hotel

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

The hotel is strategically located near the Dundas square. From there you are in walking distance to a lot of the city attractions. Public transportation is nearby if necessary. Rooms are nice and clean, although smaller than they seem in the photos. If you require complete silence for the night, beware that in your room you can still hear all the rattle from the Dundas square. The biggest problem in this hotel is the complete lack of organization at the front desk. I got the impression that most of the time they didn't know what they were doing, since I kept receiving contradicting information about the billing status. In the end everything was ok, but not without some strain.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

I booked this hotel online and had no idea what it would be like. When I first walked in my first impression was that the hotel was stylish, clean and euro-chic. However, that look quickly disappeared when I went up the elevator. I stayed in the least expensive room and although the hallways were extremely hot, humid and rather dingy looking, the rooms were much better. Everything looks old and dated but the beds were comfortable, very clean and the hotel was extremely quiet at night. The staff was very friendly and helpful(especially the concierge) and the espresso bar served excellent pastries and coffee. The location next to Eaton Center was very convenient and the tours we booked through the hotel were also worthwhile. Overall a good hotel for the money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

Nice hotel, very central on the square, also good rates!!!
Would defo recommend this hotel only one problem i had - house-keeping comes around at 9am every morning (with out fail) banging on your door?? What that about - were on holiday!!!
lifts were very slow - but it is a busy hotel and only 3 lifts.
o and o computer in lobby for internet!
overall id recommend - comfy bed and newly done up - go for it!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bond Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bond Place Hotel

Address: 65 Dundas St. East, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2G8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bond Place Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bond Place Hotel Downtown Toronto is ideally located in the heart of downtown Toronto at Yonge and Dundas Square. The Hotel is across the street from the Eaton Centre and steps away from the Toronto Theatre District, including the Canon Theatre, Massey Hall, Elgin/Winter Garden Theatre, The Panasonic Theatre, and other local area attractions. Many downtown corporate and government offices, colleges and universities, are within walking distance. The Hotel is also central to downtown Toronto hospitals, with St. Michael's Hospital located across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bond Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bond Place Hotel Toronto
Hotel Bond Place
Bond Place Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bond Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.