We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bond Place Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bond Place Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bond Place Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Dundas St. East, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2G8, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
LOWEST GUARANTEED RATE
Ranked #55 of 141 hotels in Toronto
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Very well placed, within 15 min. of waterfront and all the main downtown interests. Only down side, rooms are a bit small, but not critically constraining. Area itself offers a great variety of restaurants and diners.

Room Tip: Nice view on Floor 17, overlooking Bond Place.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serena S, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Jean-Luc B,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us, your comments are very much appreciated!

We are pleased your enjoyed your visit to Toronto and we hope you will stay with us again soon.

Next time your here, try one of our bigger rooms for a nominal upgrade fee you can have approx. double the space of a standard room, or maybe try a Jr. Suite for something a bit nicer.

Thanks again for choosing The Bond Place Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,449 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    273
    647
    337
    103
    89
See reviews for
182
452
180
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had planned to stay close to downtown for a concert and there was an error on dates, when we arrived there was no reservation for us, after showing my confirmation printed letter, yes there was a date error. When i made the reservation it was late at night and i didnt notice at the time i printed it, but after the page refreshed, the dates changed to the date i made the reservation on. Common sence shows realistically count not make a 4 hour drive in 30 minutes nor is there a show i could make it to in that time. Explaining to the staff, the one guy i talked to said that no managers would be back until the week and someone would get back to me, I asked him who i would be talking to, and he said myself or and he gave me another name but i didnt remember at the time, dumbfounded that he told me i would be possibly be talking to him, i couldnt help but think i am right here, can we deal with this now, but i guess customers weren`t important, however,nobody responded to me the first week, so i had to call. Not only am i disappointed in not having a room, but the poor service that i didnt receive to explain my situation. Then instead of calling back after my phone number was taken, we received an email. We were able to get a room at the towns inns and suites.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serena S, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Wyr_Perras,

Please understand that due to your online booking error 2 weeks prior to the date you were actually looking for does not merit a complimentary night. We understand that it was just a human error as you have stated, however the day you arrived here we did not have any rooms available otherwise the team would have gladly assisted you to stay with us that night November 30th.

We are more than pleased to assit you for a future visit as we have spoken with you in regards to. We did receive your email informing us that would not be acceptable however we are still willing to assist you and would like to help resolve this for you.

We understood your home town is 4 hours away as you have explained to us, however we do not judge your home city again your booking, nor would we judge which package you booked based on time of day.

Many reservations coming in for the same do arrive each night and also past midnight. This is very normal for the Downtown Toronto area to receive late or early morning arrivals. Thus no reservations are rejected based upon time of booking, even when extremely last minute as many of our reservations do come in this way.

Had you noticed and caught the booking error made, we could have changed the date or cancelled had this been requested. Also as you stated it was not caught on the printed confirmation you printed and brought to the hotel with you, which kindly requests that the reservation details be reviewed and to inform us if a change needs to be made.

We are still more than pleased to honour a future visit for you and are already in contact with you via phone and email.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry uk
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

we just spent the one night and the bond place and was more than happy there , the location is perfect if you want to go out for a wander round and something to eat ,the rooms are modern and very clean and tidy with comfortable beds i did not enquire about wifi but i believe there is a charge.
i have read some of the previous reviews about noise levels at the hotel but we did not find this an issue,all the staff were helpful and i would use this hotel again if i,m ever in toronto .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serena S, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Bernie4787,

Thank you so much for sharing your review with us on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate the time you have taken to give your comments.

Glad to hear you were able to enjoy the city and wander around the busy neighbourhood. We do pride ourselves on the location and being near the most major shopping available in downtown area.

Yes your absolutely correct we do charge for WiFi but some rooms have it included in the price. $8.95 plus tax for 24 hours. Weekly WiFi packages are available upon request. Two computers are available for guest use in our lobby as well so if you want to avoid the cost you are able to use these as well complimentary.

Again, we thank you for your review and we hope to see you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

My family and I visited Toronto in late Nov and enjoyed our trip. Our stay at the Bond Place Hotel was pleasant. A convenient location that is close to the shops and restaurants. Room was small for the 4 of us, but comfortable. Staff was very friendly and helpful especially Paul at the front desk, Katie E (reservation) with whom I emailed to extend my reservation, when your phone lines went dead one day. Special mention goes to Zia who went out of his way to offer his assistance, even taking us to the waiting lounge downstairs, saying guests were free to relax there before leaving for the airport (and I thought it was a conference/meeting room!). Later that afternoon of Nov 30 he drove us to the airport. Many thanks Paul, Katie and Zia. You make a difference!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serena S, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Zainol Y,

Thank you for sharing your lovely comments regarding the staff! They are much appreciated and will be shared with our entire team.

Glad to see you took full advantage of the shopping and restaurants available in the area.

We are so pleased we could make your stay special and would love to have you back in the future!

Thank you again for your comments and for making The Bond Place your Toronto Downtown Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We have stayed at the Bond Place in past years but have tried other downtown locations due to average quality conditions and services. I have recent read about their updates and decided to try it again. My wife are annual visitors for the Lowe's Christmas Festival in the Distillery Area and we wanted a location to stay that was good for proximity to downtown due to the cold weather. Well, the Bond Place proved to us just to be the same as it was, a wolf in sheeps clothing I would say. During check in, we were told by several other guests that the promised parking in their garage was unavailable at 5:00pm. We were told to find another lot (all full) or to drive around until about 6 as the monthly renters would by then vacate. We had reservations for 7 and needed to check in so it was a race to be ready when we finally were given a spot to park after 6. The business queen we paid for was not quite ready for us when we found sheets that had hair on them--and not ours! We had to wait for housekeeping to change them. Then the room phone would not work (cordless) unless you stood over it, and it took sevaral calls to have the internet work. Finally, to top things off, we found a leftover subway sub sitting in the fridge--probably not a perk many people would favor. I'm pleased that the Orbitz discount brought this $150 room down to $108 for us but after our "not so grand" entrance....we did get just what we paid for....I'm calling Orbitz next.

The rest of the stay was fine...just that, fine. Next time, we will venture out and I have to say, this is good bye to the Bond Place for us. Good location but average quality stay, no matter how they dress things up.

Room Tip: Look for other area hotels around the same price. You get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serena S, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Travelpapi153,

Thank you for your feedback, as we are aware of what you experienced during your stay we have already followed up with the Executive Housekeeper and are so sorry the room was not properly prepared. We are very proud of how clean the hotel is kept and your feedback has not been ignored. The responsible individuals have been spoken to regarding the poor work quality and will be monitored closely to keep this from reoccurrence.

When our parking garage is full, we should be guiding our guests to the nearest available lot, even if its only for a temporary parking solution. Yes several lots are available such as the two beside and behind us. However they should have taken the time to guide you to the parking in the Eaton Centre as it is approx. 5 floors strenching a city block. My most sincere apologies that the team did not guide you correctly.

Needless to say, this is not typical of our service, and we really do hope you will consider staying with us in the future so we can show you nothing short of a perfect stay.

Please contact myself when you have a moment as I would love to speak with you. You can call the hotel direct (416)362-6061.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Great value as well as comfortable, the staff went out of their way to make both my wife and I stay as homely as possible. The concierge desk (Donna) was always helpful making sure I got too see it all and save money ,like true family. Walking distance from Eaton shopping centre and easy access to transport this hotel has the perfect location. Dundas Square always had you entertained with a host of talent. Thank you for such a beautiful and warm stay.

Sunil and Sanam
Trinidad.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serena S, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Sanam,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your lovely comments and experiece. Its truly appreciated and we are very pleased to hear the staff were able to go out of their way to ensure you enjoyed your stay.

Donna is a great asset to our team and we are so happy to have her aboard.

We are glad you enjoyed the city and took full advantage of all Toronto has to offer and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I do not think I've been to a more noisy hotel in my life. Housekeeping has a tendency to burst into your room without knocking from 8AM and if you haven't been woken up in that manner, they make sure that you do not go back to sleep afterwards by speaking at the top of their voice in the halls and loudly greeting everyone. Needless to say the doors slam non stop.
Other than that, cleanliness is very relative (the dusting was not done in my room) and the beds not comfortable.
Wifi is expensive and not even available in the lobby.
I would not recommend

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serena S, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Elisabeth33000,

Thank you for your feedback regarding the noise in the hall ways, we take such complaints very seriously and are sorry for your experience. The Executive Housekeeper has already been informed of the loud voices being used and will be speaking to all of her team to ensure they keep the noise levels down.

As we assure you the housekeeping team apologizes for any inconveience experienced they may have caused you during your stay. This is not customary of our hotel or our service and it was not our intension to have you woken up so early.

Our housekeeping team begin their days at 8:30 am and start cleaning rooms at 8:45 am to 4:00 pm and should always begin their day with rooms that have already departed the hotel.
We will be following up with the housekeeping team to ensure these procedures are the only ones followed.

Please feel free to contact myself direct by calling the hotel (416) 362-6061 as we would like to speak to you regarding the problems experienced.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback and experience as this helps us to continue to maintenance and improve our teams service on a daily basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bond Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bond Place Hotel

Address: 65 Dundas St. East, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2G8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 141 hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bond Place Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bond Place Hotel Downtown Toronto is ideally located in the heart of downtown Toronto at Yonge and Dundas Square. The Hotel is across the street from the Eaton Centre and steps away from the Toronto Theatre District, including the Canon Theatre, Massey Hall, Elgin/Winter Garden Theatre, The Panasonic Theatre, and other local area attractions. Many downtown corporate and government offices, colleges and universities, are within walking distance. The Hotel is also central to downtown Toronto hospitals, with St. Michael's Hospital located across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Bond Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bond Place Hotel Toronto
Hotel Bond Place
Bond Place Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bond Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.