We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what i expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bond Place Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bond Place Hotel to your Saves list
Bond Place Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Dundas St. East, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2G8, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Port Hope, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not what i expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

When i enter the room it was clean . But i wanted a queen size bed, it seem tobe smaller than a queen size bed and also the sheet would not stay the mattress. I told the person i was going to st mikes hospital the morning and i needed my sleep. Being on the second floor was not very quite, they could told us there was a concert in younge dundas square. and the desk at night wasn't friendly. The tv was hard to use. If anybody stay at this hotel do your own research first, because you don't advise you on what to expect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BondPlaceHotel, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Dale448,

Thank you for your feedback and comments on the Bond Place Hotel. Your reviews help us to continue to improve our service daily.

I am very sorry to hear about your experience with the sheets not fitting on the mattress. I can only assume the sheets may have been the wrong size and I apologize for this error. I will pass on the information to the Housekeeping Management so they can ensure it does not reoccur.

As for the concert at Dundas Square, unfortunately they don’t always announce every event as some of them are private or happen during the day with out any notice. Our most sincere apologies that we were not able to move your room due to being fully booked.

On your next visit please inform us upon arrival so we can ensure you receive a room on the other side of the building on a higher floor to reduce the noise that can occur in our busy city.

Call us directly at 416-362-6061 if you would like to discuss your stay further.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Bond Place Hotel. Your comments will be shared with staff members to ensure continual improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    775
    401
    115
    103
See reviews for
237
562
220
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights in early May 2013 in a double room sharing with my boyfriend. We were also travelling with a friend who stayed in a single room next door.

Location: The hotel is perfectly located in downtown Toronto. You are about a 3 minute walk to almost every kind of shop imaginable. We walked from here into Chinatown, Rogers Centre and down to the Harbour front, it wasn’t a quick walk but there was plenty of Toronto to see and take in while doing it.

Quality: The hotels interior looks as though it has recently been renovated so looks modern from the inside, don’t be put off from the older exterior of the building. The rooms are small but you have enough space for two adults to put two bags and spread out a little bit. The bathroom is small but clean and possibly has the loudest toilet I have ever heard. The bed wasn’t the most comfortable but nothing to complain about. They provided new towels and made up the room each day. They have a small gym which was clean and well maintained. The concierge was very helpful when we wanted to hire a car and drive to Niagara Falls.

Wi-Fi: There was a cost associated with the Wi-Fi from memory it was about $10 for a few days (if this is an issue I suggest calling them to see what the costs are) and it allowed us to use 3 devices which worked well. If you don’t need wifi often then I would go to the many chain restaurants around the area and use the free Wi-Fi.

Food options: You can walk in any direction and find a variety of food options. There is a nice Korean Noodle place on the next block from the Hotel on Dundas Street East. Each night we would just walk a different way from the hotel and there was plenty to choose from. There is a nice place for breakfast on Victoria Street. We did eat in the restaurant at the hotel for breakfast but there are many nicer and much cheaper places to eat at.

Public Transport: The train station, Dundas is about a 2 minute walk from the hotel and gets you to practically every part of Toronto. We saw an Ice Hockey game while there and were able to get the train down to Union Station which took no time at all.

The only negative that I found was the trams. We were in a room on the 3rd floor overlooking Dundas Street East which is where the trams run. They are very loud and the windows do block some noise but unfortunately not all of it. They woke us up a few times with their loud banging and bells. My suggestion would be to get a room facing Bond Street.

Room Tip: My suggestions are: - Get a room facing Bond Street - Share with someone you are friendly with, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BondPlaceHotel, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Traveller-Jes:

Thank you for your fantastic review on the Bond Place Hotel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We, too, pride ourselves on location and are glad to hear that you were able to discover the different gems that this city has to offer.

Your review will be shared with all staff as it is quite pleasing and we are sure that they will be grateful! As per the bathroom privacy, we do offer larger rooms and suites that would give a little more seclusion and would be keen on having you try one of them out!

We would like to offer you a complimentary upgrade the next time you are in Toronto and wish that you connect with our Front Office Manager when making your reservations. We would love to have you back! Please call 416-362-6067 and we will do our best to keep up the great reflection we have with you.

Once again, we thank you for choosing the Bond Place Hotel. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

myself and 3 other girls had a girls night this past weekend... we booked the junior queen suite which states that it is an additional 450sq ft, i really do not know how that was possible since the room was smaller than that!..but what really pushed me over the edge was our toilet did not work...AT ALL! our room was the top floor (18) and when ever we had to go to the washroom we had to go to the lobby, down a flight of stairs and use that washroom...after complaining to the front desk they told us they would send someone to fix it, the guy came and said he could not fix it and that we would have to switch rooms, we called back downstairs and they told us we could NOT have another room because they were all taken. i was then told the manager would call us right back...which he didn't, we had plans that night and got to our reservations extremely late. when we got back to our room the front desk had no idea what i was talking about and the toilet was still broken..the next morning i demanded the manager and she told me that she would give $50off the room and free breakfast...which consisted of ONE drink (no refills) and the worst eggs and microwaved bacon.. ALL in all i will NEVER in my life go back to this hotel, and i will advise everyone i know to stay away!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BondPlaceHotel, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear elyse m:

Thank you for your feedback on the Bond Place Hotel. We’re sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay.

As per the toilet situation, we do sincerely apologize that you had to experience this. The Engineer was called to this matter on Sunday upon your departure and he confirmed that there were products flushed that should have been discarded in the trash. This is what caused the back-up in the toilet.

We’re sorry that you felt this way about the breakfast and only wished that you had called the Manager’s attention to this to have it rectified right away. All the food served in the restaurant is made-to-order fresh and most definitely not microwavable.

If you would like to talk about your experience further, we invite you to speak to our Front Office Manager at 416-362-6067.

Once again, we appreciate you choosing the Bond Place Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Dear Bond Place Hotel,

Not sure how you guys roll in Canada but I take issue with the bathroom doors. First, it's not a door. It's piece of wood that slides in front of the doorway. Second, if you're not going to provide a sanctuary for bowel movements at least throw a candle in it to mask the smell. I spent each morning going to the lobby to avoid waking my girlfriend, which worked out better because I could get the paper enroute.

Other than the bathroom issues the location was good and the staff was attentive. For business travelers this place is probably perfect.



Come on man! No one likes to take a number 2 in public.

Please fix.

Room Tip: Get one with a bathroom door that provides a little privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BondPlaceHotel, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear DexterStJocque:

Thank you for your feedback on the Bond Place Hotel.

As for the Bathroom Doors, in Canada, we call these “Pocket Doors.” It’s a design that was meant to maximize the space in the hallways and bathrooms. We’re sorry that you didn’t get the relaxed feeling. We do have other rooms that may be of more comfort to you.

Connect with us directly at 416-362-6061 and we will let you know of the different options that we have.

Once again, we thank you for choosing the Bond Place Hotel. We hope that we see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Basic room but very clean and comfortable. Perfect for my daughter and me, spending 4 nights here last week. would recommend this hotel - staff very friendly and helpful. Great location - restaurants, shopping etc just a few minutes away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BondPlaceHotel, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear julie e:

Thank you for your superb comments on the Bond Place Hotel. We are happy that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay.

Please let us know the next time you come to Canada as we would be more than happy to accommodate you two, again!

Call us directly at 416-362-6061 and we will be sure to offer you the best!

Once again, thank you for choosing the Bond Place Hotel. We are glad you made it back home safe and sound!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Spur of the moment trip to toronto last weekend to celebrate a birthday. Booked a room online and headed into the city. The location was great for where we were going, parking was a bit odd as the hotels parking lot was across the street under another building, so we parked in a different lot. Checking was quick, and the front desk receptions were very nice and helpful. She handed us 4 keys for the room (boys night out) and we headed up to drop stuff of and change for dinner. Hotel public area were very clean and had a very modern look to them

Arrived at our room walked in, and that's where the spectacular experience ended. We tripped over each other going into the room, it was to say the least small especially with two beds that I still think we're just a bit bigger then single beds. The front desk receptions must have been laughing to think 4 guys were going to be able to fit in the room. Once we got over how small it was just bigger then a walk in closet there were some good points. Very nice bathroom, Newley renovated and some great ways to save room throughout the room. Air conditioning worked great, froze the guys that were sleeping in the bed closest to it all night long.
I'll say if your looking for a place to just crash for a night on way though its good, bit expensive for what you get but it's Toronto so to be expected. Great modern look and feel, but not good if you want some room to relax or have company over.

Room Tip: Try and reserve a bigger room, I've heard since being there they exist in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BondPlaceHotel, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Jay B:

Thank you for your review on the Bond Place Hotel.

We understand the size issue with your situation. The room that you booked was a Twin Standard Room which is intended for two people. Our Deluxe Rooms offer much more space and sleeping capacity for four adults. We also offer suites that can accommodate.

We’re glad that we were able to change the room for you and that you enjoyed your stay. Next time, you are in Toronto, connect with us at 416-362-6061 and ask about our Deluxe Rooms and Suites. We would be more than happy to show you around so, that you may pick the room that’s best for you!

Once again, thank you for choosing the Bond Place Hotel. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Plain and simple, this hotel is located just off the Dundas-Yonge Square (Think mini times Square in New York). For my first visit in October of 2012 I was able to hit some of the best attractions Toronto has on foot (saving some major cab fair)

While I was there, the hotel for the most part was catering to some younger guests (21-35) since it was Halloween. There was no issues with noise or rowdiness in the hall ways.

The room I stayed in was outfitted with a King Sized bed, but was still modest in size. I was able to complete my business functions as well as relax in the well utilized space.

I highly suggest this place as it keeps money in your wallet since the pricing is so great and the location eliminates great transportation.

Will definitely be staying again.

Room Tip: Try and get an upper floor so you can see the city skyline. Back alley rooms are extra quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BondPlaceHotel, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear adrenalinezero:

Thank you for your wonderful comments on the Bond Place Hotel. We are glad you had a pleasant stay with us and hope that you come back!

We pride ourselves on location and you can see why! Being centrally located allows our guests to get the most out of the city.

We ask that you connect with us directly at 416-362-6061 when you plan on coming back so that we may accommodate you with the perfect room, again!

Once again, thank you for choosing the Bond Place. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bond Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bond Place Hotel

Address: 65 Dundas St. East, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2G8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bond Place Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bond Place Hotel Downtown Toronto is ideally located in the heart of downtown Toronto at Yonge and Dundas Square. The Hotel is across the street from the Eaton Centre and steps away from the Toronto Theatre District, including the Canon Theatre, Massey Hall, Elgin/Winter Garden Theatre, The Panasonic Theatre, and other local area attractions. Many downtown corporate and government offices, colleges and universities, are within walking distance. The Hotel is also central to downtown Toronto hospitals, with St. Michael's Hospital located across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Bond Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bond Place Hotel Toronto
Hotel Bond Place
Bond Place Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bond Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.