We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“And few minor adjustments and this could be much better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bond Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bond Place Hotel to your Saves list
Bond Place Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Dundas St. East, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2G8, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“And few minor adjustments and this could be much better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed four nights during Mining Conference which sells out Toronto. The location is great, the staff are nice. The hotel is clean and there is a small I think privately run restaurant downstairs which is great for breakfast and lunch. By Toronto standards the hotel is fairly low cost. On the down side there is no desk just a Window ledge so not much good for business. The curtains don't close well so there is always light coming in and finally the bed was not very comfortable. It is fair value for money but with a few adjustments this hotel could be much better

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    722
    383
    109
    95
See reviews for
216
521
205
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The Bond is fine if you just want somewhere to rest your head, have a shower & are not planning on staying for more than 2 days. The location is central, rooms are clean, and there is a gym. It isn't somewhere that I would stay for any longer though (and you have to pay for wifi).

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I recently needed a last minute room in downtown Toronto so I could avoid driving in a snow storm the following day. I ended up at Bond Place Hotel after using Hotwire and selecting a 3 star destination.

The hotel cost $89 for the night.

The room I was given was the size of a closet located directly across from the elevators. The room had apparently been renovated with all new fixtures. It certainly felt clean... Just tiny with 2 twin beds.

The one thing I noticed is that the hotel windows had not been upgraded and were old and cheap... Allowing all the noise of the big city (sirens, traffic) to penetrate into the room.

The hotel has no parking of its own. I ended up parking in a lot directly across the street from the hotel that charged $20 (cash only) for overnight parking. The hotel also has no restaurant for breakfast so I ended up discovering The Senator (Toronto's oldest restaurant) just around the corner.

Overall the hotel served its purpose for very little money (relative to other downtown Toronto options).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BondPlaceHotel, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Geoff74:

Thank you for your feedback. It seems as though you were offered one of our standard rooms. When booking through a third-party website, they usually give out the best deals for our standard rooms. Nonetheless, we do offer larger rooms and this can be requested upon check-in.

We do offer parking at the Bond Place Hotel. It is an underground, secure, parking garage that is located on the North side of the building and costs $19.00 overnight. We are sorry that you understood otherwise.

We also have a restaurant in the lobby called the PomAnar Grill & Juicery. They are open at 7:00am for Breakfast each morning and offer a wide-range of options.

Please see our staff for information next time as we are always here to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

A two night work-related stay. Due to a large convention in town, I did not have a lot of options, and would not return here if I did not have to. On the plus side, service was plesant and accomodating, with a warm reception at front desk and rapid attention to concerns. And the location is great - a block from all the shops of Eaton Place, a block from the metro, and two blocks from the strip of outstanding restaurantes on Elm Street.

The rooms however are small - bearable for one person (just) but would be unacceptable with two. Everything looks a little ratty - cheap-looking wood veneer is bubbled and chipped. If you stay here, do try to get a room on one of the higher floors. Friends staying on lower floors complained of street noise (no problems for me on the 13th floor).

If you get a good price and aesthetics are not a big deal to you, this could be an acceptable stay.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BondPlaceHotel, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear matrix0:

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you brought out your concerns as this enables us to keep on top of the standards that we have. I am sorry that you found your room not up-to-par. We are constantly looking for ways to improve and will be investigating the furnishings as mentioned.

We recently did some renovations and continue to upgrade the hotel. If you would like to connect directly with the hotel and let us know which room had the mentioned concerns, we will be sure to take a look at it and take the necessary actions.

Our standard rooms are more suitable for one single person however, we do offer larger rooms and suites and we’re sorry that you were not offered these rooms. Please check out our website for other room details as there may be another room that would change your mind in returning to the property.

When you do return, please connect with us directly and we will be sure to offer something that may be of more comfort to you.

Once again, thank you for choosing the Bond Place Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Very nice location and close to a lot of shopping and restaurants. Rooms were plain but neat but unlike what was advertised in the photo. Overall no complaints. Good customer service from friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

had stayed in this hotel for 2 days. had very nice stay here. the rooms were nice spacious and clean. the staff were courteous and helpful.
The stay was worth the money that i spent. the hotel is in downtown toronto so much of help.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BondPlaceHotel, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Sparkrad:

Thank you for the compliments! We hope that you come back and visit Toronto. When you do, let us know!

Once again, thank you for choosing the Bond Place Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for almost a week last summer. I booked this hotel pretty last minute, we arrived a few days later and got a great price and nice room. The rooms are small but well laid out, bed, small desk, night table, we even had a mini fridge in our room which was great to keep water cold. The bathroom a decent size.
Across the street is Younge-Dundas square where there is always something going on. A great place to by last minute tickets to a show. Also Eaton centre across the street, Dundas subway station and many restaurants.
We did not use the parking but this was in a lot beside the hotel I believe.
There is even a concierge in the lobby if you need any help with anything.
A small cafe in the lobby open for breakfast and lunch but not dinner. We ate here 2 days, the coffee is good and the breakfast sandwiches are decent. The were also small cakes and cookies.
A security feature is the you need to enter your room key in the elevator in order for it to go anywhere.
Would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BondPlaceHotel, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Bond Place Hotel Downtown Toronto. We do have rooms with bigger square footage and I would definitely recommend you to book a larger room next time you come and stay with us. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bond Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bond Place Hotel

Address: 65 Dundas St. East, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2G8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bond Place Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bond Place Hotel Downtown Toronto is ideally located in the heart of downtown Toronto at Yonge and Dundas Square. The Hotel is across the street from the Eaton Centre and steps away from the Toronto Theatre District, including the Canon Theatre, Massey Hall, Elgin/Winter Garden Theatre, The Panasonic Theatre, and other local area attractions. Many downtown corporate and government offices, colleges and universities, are within walking distance. The Hotel is also central to downtown Toronto hospitals, with St. Michael's Hospital located across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bond Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bond Place Hotel Toronto
Hotel Bond Place
Bond Place Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bond Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.