We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the action” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bond Place Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bond Place Hotel to your Saves list
Bond Place Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Dundas St. East, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2G8, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 142 Hotels in Toronto
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Close to the action”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Visiting Toronto for a conference and needed a hotel close to downtown. While the Bond Place Hotel was far from fancy its was very adequate. The rooms were clean, the staff friendly, and the beds comfortable. The best thing Bond Place Hotel has going for it is the location. Its close to all the action! Its within walking distance to Eaton Center, restaurants, St. Lawrence Market, and shopping. The overall cost was very reasonable. If you're not looking for fancy, and want to be close to everything the Bond Place Hotel fits the bill.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BondPlaceHotel, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review. We are glad to hear that you have overall enjoyed staying at the Bond Place Hotel. We do guarantee our lowest rate in our website. Please do come and stay with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    681
    356
    105
    93
See reviews for
207
491
190
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My daughter and I just spent a couple of nights at the Bond Place Hotel and were very pleased with our experience overall.
Yes the rooms were tiny, but for 2 women it was perfect. Yes the rooms were a little loud from the outside traffic but thats what you get for being so central. A block away from the Eatons Centre, so no complaints from these two girls. The bathroom was lovely and shower was great. The beds were so comfy and linens were very nice. We got the hotel on priceline so no complaints about the rate it was excellent. Cleanlieness is super important to me and this place was.

Now having said that....THINGS we were NOT so happy with and the list is short but I do think its important I forwarn future travellers that are also on a budget.

No WIFI....when we called from our room they wanted to charge us 10.95 per day...they failed to tell us that there were two complimentary computers down stairs which we stumbled upon ourselves...they also failed to tell us that across the street was a mall with complimentary WIFI. Luckily we did not waste our money on two days of internet.

Yes there are 2 complimentary computers but there is not limit posted as to how long a guest may stay on the computer which was a bit horrible when we wanted to confirm our flights. The people who linger on the computer perving on people on facebook is really ridiculous. I even doubt they were guests, they looked like random people from the street!

The TV is nice enough but a little annoying takes 20 seconds or so before the channel changes ( that might be petty)

The overall service was not fabulous and only ok. The language barrier was difficult to deal with at times since whenever we called the desk it seemed like they did not understand us so getting answers regarding shuttles and locations of coffee shops and 1800 numbers was a little frustrating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BondPlaceHotel, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at Bond Place Hotel with the Trip Advisor Community. I am truly sorry to hear that our service was not up to your expectation. We do take our guest feedback seriously and make sure we rectify on the shortfall. I have personally make sure that the front desk team is informing all our guest about our computer in the lobby and we did put a signage indicating the length of time a guest can use the computer. Your TV’s problem has been resolved. We look forward to see you in your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

decent rooms, comfortable bed..really goofy elevators that took you all over the place, didn't matter what buttons you pushed sometimes you went up and sometimes down. Very convienent parking situation..nice location if you want to be right in the heart of Eaton Center etc.. Don't know if I would rebook again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BondPlaceHotel, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review. I am truly sorry to hear about your elevator experience. We do require our guest to swipe their room key card on the elevator in order to select the floor. I will make sure our guest service agent are informing guest at check in. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. We hope you come back to see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

For a quick trip in a busy city, we weren't way too worried about spending a boatload on the hotel. However, even with a deal at bond place, we think it would've been a better idea to spend a little bit more on a different hotel. The hotel rooms were loud and cramped, while the service was only okay. This made the short amount of time we spent resting quite unpleasant. The bed was comfy and the view was nice, but definitely worth paying a bit more next time for a relaxing retreat.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BondPlaceHotel, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
I truly am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the Bond Place Hotel. I am also sorry not to have had the opportunity to resolve this matter for you prior to your departure. We do have manager on duty at all times so we can resolve any issues with guest. If you would have approached him or her they would have moved you to a higher floor quiet room. Should you give us another opportunity I am sure you will have a more positive experience at the Bond Place Hotel Downtown Toronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The hotel was good overall. Well priced, excellent location (next to Yonge & Dundas, Eaton Center, Financial Disstrict, public transit, Ryerson University) and clean. A few unwelcoming staff, but nothing major.

Room Tip: Rooms facing East above the 8th floor will have a great view of Eastern GTA.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BondPlaceHotel, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you so much for posting this review. The level of service and quality that you received from the front desk team is unacceptable and will be addressed promptly. We sincerely hope that you will return to the Bond Place for a future holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The staff at our arrival was pretty rude. We had to pay a 150$ deposit ???(never happened to me at any hotel) I asked why, (nobody ever told us there was going to be a deposit) the answer was "in case you damage things in the room". Then we had some issues with the elevator... they have a unique system: you have to insert the card into a slot to get to your floor. The card was not working.
The room was clean and everything looked new, the room was small tough.
Everything was not TOO BAD until there was no hot water at the hotel the next day. I had to take a cold shower before I went to visit Toronto. When we came back to the hotel we went to the lobby to ask if they had fixed the problem of the cold showers, we did not get an apology but the lady said "now it SHOULD be working." The hot water was back (no cold water anymore though. Now all the water was warm.. okay, better than before I guess). We were pretty upset about the showers and the fact that we had to pay 10 Dollars/ night for wifi. So I asked to speak with the manager. "He's on a break", was the answer. I eventually got a call back (from somebody who wasn't the manager) to say 'sorry we can't do anything'. Since we got the hotel reservation from a Groupon we were not allowed to get a refund. But he gave us free wifi and a free breakfast. Yay! The free breakfast was actually just a piece of toast with a coffee, not a whole breakfast. Right. Will not go back there!!!!!! For this kind of cheap service I prefer staying at a hostel (half the price)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BondPlaceHotel, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide detailed feedback of your stay with us. I am sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. All the issues you have mentioned will be discussed to the concerned department so we can better serve our guest. I would personally like to apologize for the hot water problem and it has been resolved. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show how great our hotel is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Decent, clean but small- Apparently there are lots of "deals" either via Groupon or other means. Went with a group of people and everyone ended up paying about $120 per room. Parking across the street was also affordable considering what we have paid in other areas of Toronto. Agree with other reviews that noise travels through the building, get a room on a higher floor to avoid outside noise.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors, away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BondPlaceHotel, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Dabillz67,

I appreciate the time you took to write a review and thank you for staying with us at the Bond place hotel. I’m happy to hear you were able to get a good offer from Group-on. In fact, our hotel is listed on a variety of web sites where you can take advantage of the low rates and promotions that we offer to our guests. Downtowntorontohotels is one of the newest websites that we are featured on, in the future please take the time to go on this website and benefit from the best deals we offer to our guests. You also can visit our home website and take advantage of packages we offer that comes with Parking, Breakfast, and a lot more neat features that might be ideal for your personal getaway. Lastly, upon check-in please let our guest service agents know and they will be happy to give you a higher floor based on availablilty with a lovely city view. We’ll be looking forward to accommodating you when you’re back in our city and thank you once again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bond Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bond Place Hotel

Address: 65 Dundas St. East, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2G8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 142 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bond Place Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bond Place Hotel Downtown Toronto is ideally located in the heart of downtown Toronto at Yonge and Dundas Square. The Hotel is across the street from the Eaton Centre and steps away from the Toronto Theatre District, including the Canon Theatre, Massey Hall, Elgin/Winter Garden Theatre, The Panasonic Theatre, and other local area attractions. Many downtown corporate and government offices, colleges and universities, are within walking distance. The Hotel is also central to downtown Toronto hospitals, with St. Michael's Hospital located across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Bond Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bond Place Hotel Toronto
Hotel Bond Place
Bond Place Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bond Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.