We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny Room in the Middle of The Big City.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bond Place Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bond Place Hotel to your Saves list
Bond Place Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Dundas St. East, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2G8, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
montreal
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Tiny Room in the Middle of The Big City.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at the Bond Place Hotel during a business trip to Toronto. We had booked a Business Queen room. We were in room 1718, which was far away from the elevators. The large window had a view of the Eaton’s Centre and Yonge and Dundas streets. The best thing about this hotel is the fact that it is in such a central location. Other positive points was the fridge,the coffee maker and the fact that the rooms had no carpeting, but had fake wood flooring instead. The service at reception was friendly and professional.

The room was tiny with almost no storage or closet space. It seemed like it was about 12 by 12 feet, but luckily with the large window, it didn’t get too claustrophobic. The shower was big and the bathroom had enough room and the toilet flushed like a Boeing jet! The towels were small and very very rough - great for exfoliating your skin, or sanding the fake wood flooring. There were no glasses, but rather cheap, thin plastic cups. The sound-proofing between rooms was about as thin as these cheap plastic glasses.

There was free wifi, but it was soooooooo slow that by the time you checked the weather on your iphone, the seasons would have done a full cycle. And forget watching a streaming video, or rather a stttuttterrring video, there just wasn’t enough wifi juice. but it was free.

We had booked the Business Queen room, so we were surprised that there was no safe, which was a drag as we had to carry all our valuable stuff ( including a laptop computer ) with us all day long. It didn't seem the type of place where you would want to leave anything of value.

On our first morning there was no hot water - it wasn’t cold, but it was warm...ish. It was just warm enough to have a shower, but you had to go quick, because it seemed like it would soon turn into a blast of freezing glacier water at any moment. We were not impressed.

The gym was very limited with 2 treadmills, a seated bike and one of those elliptical machines. There were free weights, but the heaviest ones were 25 lbs. There was also this weird cable machine that made a lot of scary noise and didn’t seem to do much. The gym was also super hot ( maybe that’s where all the missing hot water went ?)

The Bond Place Hotel is a good clean cheap hotel in the middle of the action in Toronto. It was okay for 2 nights, but if you want something for longer, you might want to look for something with more room and better soundproofing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BondPlaceHotel, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Valued guest,
I would like to start of by apologizing for our décor and facilities and how it did not meet your expectations. Here at the Bond place hotel we have variety of room types we offer to our guests, and we do have larger rooms available that accommodates up to 4 adults. If the size of the rooms were one of your concerns, we would love to accommodate you in one of our deluxe rooms.
Regarding the speed of the internet we are currently on progress obtaining a new provider so we can provide the fastest network speed for our guests.
If our amenities were not up to your standards, we would be happy to change the type of amenities such as cups, towels, etc. upon your request.
Once again we apologize for not meeting your preferences; we would love for you to give us an opportunity to accommodate you again in one of our deluxe rooms and change the experience that you had to a more positive one!”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    732
    386
    109
    98
See reviews for
220
529
210
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

NO FREE WIFI!
That's the only thing I can mark this place down on. The staff were extremely attentive, polite and efficient, the rooms clean and adequate. The beds were large and comfortable and well laid with clean linen that was made or changed daily. The rooms were also cleaned and the towels changed daily.
The location is superb for the town centre and the Eaton Court Shopping Mall. Toronto has its own version of Times Square and this hotel is right on the edge of it.
Underground parking is available at $15 a night which seems expensive but is really close by and accessible and is manned 24/7.
There is a breakfast/snack bar concession next to the hotel which is accessed through the lobby. This is a bit hit-and-miss and the day we tried it there was a language problem with the waitress and we didn't get quite what we asked for. We asked for the option of 'hard-boiled' eggs and got fried (which were not even on the menu) as the boiled eggs would have taken too long to do.(?) As everywhere else we experienced in Toronto, with the single exception of a small chain of coffee shops by the name of 'Balzac's', the coffee was terrible. If you leave the hotel lobby and walk up the sidestreet opposite towards the Ryerson University, there is a very welcome Balzac's on the corner to the left (100yds max). Go there. It's good.

Room Tip: This is a tall hotel but get a room as high as you can (14th. floor minimum) as the views are expans...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BondPlaceHotel, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide the Trip Advisor community with this review. Your issues about the restaurant have been addressed to the concerned managers. Please accept our apologies for not being able to deliver exemplary quality and service during your stay. Please do book a business queen room next time when you come and stay with us as we provide free internet with business queen rooms. That being said, we strongly feel that if you give us another opportunity we would be able to change your perception towards us. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Poor guest service, untrained staff, poor area to walk around. Inside room was nice, dusting & cleaning needs more attention to detail. Do not expect a lot. Fine if you just need a cheeper room to stay in but by far not a great hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BondPlaceHotel, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you did not enjoy yourselves at the Bond Place Hotel. We do play a big role in the community as the job market is becoming increasingly competitive in Toronto. We do cater to universities and colleges in a slow season so they can send their interns to come and learn about the industry. I do apologize that you have been dealt with one of the Intern when you were here. I have addressed your concern about the dusting and cleaning to the executive housekeeper. That being said, we strongly feel that if you give us another opportunity we would be able to change your perception towards us. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Very nice and clean hotel. Right in the centre so there is a bit of noise at night but not too bad. Its next to the public transport and also near many places to eat for example Hard rock café. Its also only a 2 sec walk to the shops.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BondPlaceHotel, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. I am disappointed to note that you found your room susceptible to noise from outside and most sorry not to have had the opportunity to resolve this matter for you prior to your departure. Please do reserve a room on the higher floor next time you come and stay with us. We look forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have lots of grey hair to support the fact that I have spent many years visiting Toronto, fighting its traffic and finding accommodation. Generally, because they're top-of-mind, I have stayed in Big Name hotels, the kind that belong to large companies in either Canada, or North America.
So it was with a bit of trepidation that my wife and I agreed to stay at the Bond Place Hotel for a Saturday night while in Toronto for a Blue Rodeo concert. Some friends made the booking, after recommending Bond Place.
After having stayed there, I can tell you that the pluses far outweigh the minuses and "yes" we would book there again in the future.
The rooms are not large, as another reviewer has indicated, but they are sufficient if you're only looking to spend the night. The comfy double bed took up most of the space in the room and the television was wall-mounted and not a hugh item atop a large dresser.
Spartan, would describe the room we were in and the rooms of two couples with whom we stayed at the Bond Place Hotel.
Enter the room and there was a closet on the left and a very small counter next to it with a coffee machine atop. That was quite adequate to hang clothing and the coffee-maker worked well enough to give you some java for an early-morning wakeup hit.
As you enter the room, on your right, there is a large sliding door. Think very much-scaled-down, single-panel-type door you would find on a quonset hut on a farm. The thing about this door, which slid to one side to give you access to the bathroom, was that it made a lot of noise as you dragged it one way, or the other. It worked fine and when closed shut off sight lines to the bathroom.
The bathroom had the basics: a sink, a toilet, a bathtub with a shower and a couple of medium-sized white towels and some smaller ones. If you'r a two-towel person after a shower, or a bath, better ask for an extra! But what they had worked fine!
As I mentioned, the double bed took up most of the room, but it was clean and comfortable.
There wasn't much room leftover to walk around the bed, but a narrow space by the window allowed us to sit at a chair and write things using a ledge that was under the window and above the room's heater.
The thermostat takes a minute to figure out. But if you read the advice in the guest book (one in every room) and look at the controls, you'll be able to work the system easily. And it worked fine!
The rooms at this hotel appear to be designed to maximize the number of rooms they could squeeze into this building. Our friends were on the 12 floor and their room was the same in size. I heard that there are three sizes of rooms at the Bond Place Hotel, but did not check into that further.
As I mentioned, what we had was adequate for the intended purpose: a sleepover.
We were on the fifth floor, overlooking Dundas Street East and the historic Imperial Pub. The street traffic noise was not as bad as I thought it might be. But the old, metal windows and the hardwood flooring does transfer the cold from outside, to inside, on the room's outer wall. Still, that didn't both us.
I did make one cardinal sin error. I never checked the room's alarm clock before we went to sleep and a prior guest had left it on.... set for 6.26 a.m. It woke us up and I should have remembered to check the clock's setting before we snoozed off.
The alarm clock went off about three hours after some noisy neighbours arrived "home", obviously after most of the night on the city. One would expect people arriving in the wee hours to have some respect for other guests. Unfortunately, these idiots did not have any respect and their loud banging and swearing upset us as much as it likely upset other decent guests.
This kind of nonsense is not the hotel's fault and it's luck of the draw whether you encounter this or not. Most of the time you won't.
To help you, if you're a visitor to the city, there are magazines in the rooms. Where magazine and Toronto magazine. They're quite helpful. Also, at the concierge's desk in the Bond Place Hotel lobby, you can get (free) maps which will help you find your way in the city core.
There are also little card-sized promotional pieces for interesting places and interesting things you can buy, or do.
The Hockey Hall of Fame, Second City live comedy, Kensington Market, Hop On and Hope Off tours, a Cuban Cigar shop, pubs, and Sunset Grill Restaurant, were among the things featured on the little cards which are free for the taking. There was some information about a day-trip to Niagara Falls, from Toronto, as well.
If the Sunset Grill's two locations - mentioned on the card - are as good as the Sunset Grill we have experienced at Blue Mountain's Village at Blue (near Collingwood, Ontario) then you're get an excellent breakfast at a reasonable price.
We had considered walking to Fran's Restaurant, which has been operating in Toronto for year, but opted to discover The PomAnar Grill and Juicery which is linked to the Bond Place Hotel.
The PomAnar Grill is clean, bright and has excellent food. But it's a oriented toward healthy eating so if you're looking for a "greasy spoon" this isn't for you. Our group of six enjoyed our breakfasts there and we didn't have to go out in the cold to get to any other place.
The Bond Place Hotel reception area is accessed from either Dundas Street East, or Bond Street. But parking on the street has you in close proximity to busy traffic - usually - on Dundas St.
We had trouble finding the Bond Place Hotel's parking area, so my friend parked outside on Dundas Street, while I ran in and asked. Here's the scoop......
Parking for the Bond Place Hotel is in an underground lot a stone's throw away from the hotel on the opposite corner to the hotel itself. If you stand in front of the hotel and look kitty-corner across the intersection you'll see the sign! So for compass-watchers: the hotel is on the southwest corner of the intersection and the parking lot entrance is on the northeast corner, with access from Bond Street. There is a drive-down entrance for vehicles and also a door which allows you pedestrian access to the little elevator which can transport you and your luggage up and down from the parking area. The parking overnight costs $19.00 If you don't check out by noon, it will cost you extra.
The check-out time for the Bond Place Hotel is 11 a.m., yes, different from the parking lot time.
The Bond Place Hotel is about 30 years old. The reason the underground parking lot is across the street is because once upon a time both corners were owned by the same company/person. When he (she?) sold, he(she?) kept the underground parking.
The front-counter staff are excellent, as is housekeeping at the Bond Place Hotel.
I observed and could sense the camaraderie and team work as I watched employees going about their business.
Kevin Lee, a front desk supervisor, was particularly helpful to me, as we evening and morning concierges. Another employee, a cleaner, showed me how to use the room key in the elevator so that it would work to get you your elevator ride. You have to insert the key in a slot at the bottom of the buttons area. Then, slowly remove the key and press your floor number. I'm sure after you do it once, or twice, you'll get the hang of it.
Zia, was another employee who seemed very helpful to passers-by who were hotel guests, I believe.
Bond Place Hotel is "related" to two other Toronto locations and some hotels elsewhere in Canada.
You won't find James Bond at this hotel, but there are other English-related names. Downstairs from the reception area, the Bond Place Hotel has meeting rooms with the following names: Picadilly, Oxford and Cambridge. There also have washrooms (very clean), a snack-vending machine and a money machine, downstairs.
It costs us $117.52 (tax included) for our one-night stay. (Not counting parking cost.)
It was worth it because not only was the room clean and appropriate to our needs, the hotel has excellent proximity to theatres, restaurants and the Eaton's Centre downtown..... all within easy walking distance; as well as the streetcars and subway are closeby.
We plan to use the Bond Place Hotel again. The fact that there were some fools in an adjacent room can't be held against them.

Room Tip: I'd ask for an upper-floor just to get a better view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BondPlaceHotel, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear George,
Thank you for posting this outstanding review of our property. We are thrilled to hear that our property and service measured up to the high standards that you are accustomed to. This means the world to us. I will be sure to pass your feedback to Kevin and Zia. We look forward to hosting you and your guests in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from the Blue Rodeo Concert which was great!!! The plan was to go to sleep when I got back to The Bond Hotel but the noise was terrible and the rooms reminded me of my dorm room in university. I will say the hotel is close to the Eaton's Centre but so is the Marriott where we should have stayed! But our friends where here and they did not know how crappy this place is!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BondPlaceHotel, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. Please accept our apologies for not being able to deliver exemplary quality and service during your stay. To better assist you on your next stay, please do not hesitate to approach the manager on duty and he/she could have moved you to a higher floor to a larger square footage room. Should you give us another opportunity I am sure you will have a more positive experience at the Bond Place Hotel Downtown Toronto.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carp, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I like Trip Advisor. It provides a lot of valuable information when I am planning a trip. Rarely do I disagree with the ratings and comments, and this review is such an example.

I hated my stay at this property! True, it is a good location when you need to be downtown Toronto. True, the price was low. But how can the rating be justified based solely on those 2 criteria? Here are a few of the problems I saw. First, the noise. The walls are paper thin and the windows are single pane. You hear everything! Loudly! There is a fire station nearby and, of course, if there is a fire in the middle of the night, you will hear the sirens. The immediate vicinity is very noisy, streetcars, cars, etc. Those single pane windows are drafty so the room got cold quickly. Then the fan was noisy. The mattress was very uncomfortable. The room was tiny, in fact one of the smallest room I have ever had. No commode to empty your suitcase (mind you, there would have been no room for one). They boast about the renovation, but most of it looks and feels cheap.

Important element to note: wireless is not free, and bandwidth is always an issue (except at 5 AM, which I experienced since noise woke me up).

All in all, it was unacceptable. I will not be back.

Room Tip: This would be a good hotel for people on a budget that can sleep through anything. Otherwise, stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BondPlaceHotel, Front Office Manager at Bond Place Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. I am disappointed that we didn’t have the opportunity to resolve all your issues while you were at the property. We do have bigger rooms on the higher floor which includes WIFI. This change in your room would have solved all your problem. Once again, I would like to apologize and would like to welcome you back again our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bond Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bond Place Hotel

Address: 65 Dundas St. East, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2G8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bond Place Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bond Place Hotel Downtown Toronto is ideally located in the heart of downtown Toronto at Yonge and Dundas Square. The Hotel is across the street from the Eaton Centre and steps away from the Toronto Theatre District, including the Canon Theatre, Massey Hall, Elgin/Winter Garden Theatre, The Panasonic Theatre, and other local area attractions. Many downtown corporate and government offices, colleges and universities, are within walking distance. The Hotel is also central to downtown Toronto hospitals, with St. Michael's Hospital located across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bond Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bond Place Hotel Toronto
Hotel Bond Place
Bond Place Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bond Place Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.