We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sleep in a clean and well decorated room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Primrose Hotel Downtown-Toronto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Primrose Hotel Downtown-Toronto to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Primrose Hotel Downtown-Toronto
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Carlton Street, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2G3, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #79 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Belleville, Canada
1 review
“Great sleep in a clean and well decorated room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Reserved the day before leaving on a business trip; the staff member, Jeff, who looked after my reservation was knowedgeable and patiently and fully explained my choices and the Best Western Rewards System to me. Parking area, elevators, lobby and my room were clean and guest areas decorated attractively.

Room was tastefully decorated and show no 'dated' colours or arrangements. Bathrooom and bedroom clean and smelled as a non-smoking room should.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    321
    208
    97
    86
See reviews for
172
212
112
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here for one night before starting our tour. Our room was huge with two double beds, nice claen bathroom with all ameneties. Lots of space for hanging clothes. There is a huge supermarket on the oposite side of the road i think its called the maple leaf where you can get everthing, second floor is what they call an adult pharmacy, booze!.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Bc
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Spent one night there and had a great sleep. Restaurant was quite but hotel was busy with a bus tour arriving same time as me.

Great location in town and close to lots of things to do. Liked the view from my room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night during August.

Booked two rooms, one for myself and one for friends with two kids.

Great to have a fridge in the rooms and the decor is very modern.

Nice outdoor pool, which had a lifeguard on duty, but only operated limited hours.

In one room we found a used ear plug and a kid's hair band. Housekeeping had missed these!

It was a comfortable stay, a pity about the cleaning issues.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

17th floor room had good views of the cityscape at night. Everything was working and clean. The bed was huge, with lots of pillows and cushions, nice and supportive. A single pillow and a sheet was all I needed for a good night of sleep but having travelled from the UK I woke up very early. Breakfast in the hotel was not served until 7am and although there is a small Tim Horton's coffee shop attached I went out for breakfast.

Room Tip: High N facing rooms have good nightscape view of downtown
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I think all the different reviews are dependent on what floor and what room you get. This hotel must be in mid-reno. The Lobby is nice, the location is good downtown location. We booked through our company and by some oversight I got a smoking room on the 18th floor. Another colleague got a non-smoking room and found it totally acceptable- clean and newish. The elevators were slow which is a real pet peeve. I looked for but never found the stairwell, which was a little concerning: safety-wise.

is also at least one floor of University students that are staying in the hotel for a semester, so that creates a certain type of atmosphere. The room I got was absolutely gross--a smoking room that was at least 15 years past a renovation. The couch was so old and gross--the chair was worn and stained. Oh and there were no light bulbs in 2 out of 3 of the lamps. Honestly, I would have been better, if I could have opened the window 3 inches for some fresh air-- they should consider allowing that to freshen up those rooms when they are booked to capacity. Fortunately I did find the bed comfortable and clean. I would have been scared of bedbugs, but the nicotine soaked into the room's fabric was probably a good pest deterrent. I checked out after 1 night when the reservation was two, but I'm writing this review because this is actually a surprisingly well-run hotel..they just are working with some bad infrastructure. They did send up an air purifier for my room and tried their best. They let me check out without any fee or penalty. They handled a fed ex shipment for me that was delayed in customs. I was impressed by the way they managed the details, which is really important in hospitality. I'm sure they don't even usually use the rooms they had me in normally, if they can help it.I want to call out that they were a good front desk team and helped me deal well with the issues I had with the reservation.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not on the smoking floor! Maybe wait until this hotel gets fully renovated, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

First of all, I will start by saying that I am a best western fan. The hotels have come a long way and in some cases I can compare some to the likeings of a Marriott or similar.
I booked this hotel as there were no others hotels left in Toronto downtown, I would have had to stay at the airport, and I should have!

- my room was filthy and old! The carpets looked like they hadn't been vaccumed for years in corners, were lifting away from walls and made me wonder what was living under them.

- the bathroom was disgusting. The toilet bowl was stained and the tub looked filthy, though was maybe just really old and scuffed up. The shower curtain was so gross on the inside, you could see splash marks of something on it. I left it totally open while I showred so it didn't touch me.

- the brown blanket that runs across the bottom of the bed had white splashes dried up on it....

- the elevators took forever, and whe they did come, they stopped and filled with students on every floor. The hotel has converted a bunch of floors into a university dorm!!

- though I booked a king size bed, I ended up with two doubles. I get that they can't guarantee bed types, it was a very good thing I was not with my husband or it wouldn't have been very good!

I couldn't wait to get out of there. I felt dirtier than I would at a gas station bathroom. I've stayed in nicer super 8's.

Horrible experience. When I called to complain I was told I had the last room in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Primrose Hotel Downtown-Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Primrose Hotel Downtown-Toronto

Address: 111 Carlton Street, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2G3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Primrose Hotel Downtown-Toronto 3*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of Downtown Toronto, our attention to detail service awaits you! Tastefully appointed oversized guest rooms, free hybrid wireless internet, business center, lobby bar & restaurant, on-site Tim Hortons Coffee and outdoor seasonal pool are a few of the services and features of this Three-Diamond AAA Hotel :: Largest Best Western in Canada! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Primrose Hotel Downtown-Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Best Western
Best Western Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Primrose Hotel Downtown-Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.