We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IT JUST GOT BETTER AND BETTER” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Roehampton Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Roehampton Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Roehampton Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   808 Mount Pleasant Road, Toronto, Ontario M4P 2L2, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #57 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Metz
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“IT JUST GOT BETTER AND BETTER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

Stayed on three occasions in August. The rooms were in the top half of the hotel and were spacious, well-appointed, quiet and the beds comfortable. The staff were friendly, available and attentive. Breakfast was à-la-carte and reasonably priced. The location is very good - a 10-minute walk to the Yonge & Eglinton metro (a three minute bus ride if preferred - with a frequent service just outside the hotel).
I have taken home good memories - due in no small part to the excellent stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    106
    59
    21
    21
See reviews for
59
79
26
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

This is the worst Best Western I have ever stayed at. Uncaring staff, mal-functioning A/C, poor quality food in the dining room, exhorbitant charges for parking, and a really worn look.
We had taken a suite, but now feel that we would have been much better off in another hotel. Any other hotel.
We wound up shortening our stay in Toronto by 2 days because of this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olgapeicheva, Sales Manager at BEST WESTERN Roehampton Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 29, 2009
Dear customer,
Thank you for your feedback.
I would like to follow up your comment.
Please contact me directly to provide more details for further investigation.
I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay in the hotel.
Hope to speak to you soon,

Olga Peicheva
416 487 5101 x.7118
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

We needed to stay a night in a hotel due to emergency repair service on our home (water pipe damage), which is located relatively in the same area (we still had to drive to get there). We arrived quite late -12AM and booked the reservation through the best western website. Cost was $120 per night + taxes (what the hell is a marketing distribution fee charge???) + valet parking (though we really parked ourselves $12 +tip) = around $150 - wow for that price I could stay downtown, but if you're in a bind....

Although the room was nice & clean, and I guess after experiencing water damage in our home this was a godsend, there's really not much else to like. We were on the third floor - room 302 - and it was most likely the worst view in the whole hotel. I woke up to the "whirring" of the air conditioner or some sort of ventilation machine outside the window. The carpet, tv, wardrobe, fridge, coffee maker, bathtub and curtains were quite dated though I agree with the other posters that the bed and linens have been updated and was quite comfortable. So what I'm left with is a comfortable bed and a decent if dated bathroom - is that worth $150, HMMMMM...

What sealed the deal that this hotel is clearly lacking is the customer service and restaurant service (room service is not 24 hours and breakfast only begins at 7AM - and why isn't this free???). Poor customer service at the front desk for checking us into the worst view room and recommending Pizza Pizza as the only place open in the area for food. Just up the street was 24 hours Golden Griddle - please go there for breakfast, etc. instead. Lastly, on check out, the person was more interested in talking on the phone than taking care of my check out. Will not go to this hotel again - not even if my house burned down!

PS > there is no swimming pool as the hotel renovating this, which is on the third floor. thus if you want wake up after 8AM, don't expect to sleep in. LESSON - DON'T STAY ON THE THIRD FLOOR AND DEFINITELY NOT ROOM 302!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olgapeicheva, Sales Manager at BEST WESTERN Roehampton Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 30, 2009
Dear customer,
We value your feedback, guests feedback is very important to us, and key in improving our product and services for your next stay.
Based on the information you provided, we regret that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations.
When you checked-in at about midnight, the restaurant and room service was not available. The restaurant and room service are open for certain hours - breakfast and dinner only. After hours the Front Desk agents provide a list of the closest restaurants and fast foods outlets opened until the late evening.
We do not include breakfast in the rate - this is a choice of each property which amenities to include in the rate.
When you book your room on the web-site, it clearly indicates that the rate is for room only.
The information about valet parking and pool closure is also posted on the website, where you book your room.
The Destination Marketing Fee is the part of the Provincial Sales Tax broken down to 5 % room tax and 3% DMF.
We regret if the Front Desk agent did not attend to you immediately at your check-out time, as he was serving another guest on the phone.
If you can provide information about the date of your stay, we will be able to investigate further in order to attend to your concerns.
Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience cased during your stay. If you choose to stay in the hotel again please contact me directly and I will take personal care of your reservation.
Once again thank you for taking your time to bring this matter to our attention!
Looking forward to welcoming you in the Best Western Roehampton Hotel & Suites soon!
Sincerely,

Olga Peicheva
Sales Manager
416 487 5101 x. 7118
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

We picked this hotel since it was a short walk from a friend we were visiting for 3 nights. I've only stayed at one Best Western before, in Sedona, so didn't really know what this one would be like. The hotel is a bit dated, but the room had obviously been recently renovated and therefore had a lovely bed, and flat screen tv. The hotel was full and we were initially offered only a smoking room, which smelt horrible and looked scruffy. Thankfully another was found after some digging by a lovely receptionist. All the staff were really friendly, and even though we weren't in the hotel much they made a difference to our stay.
Had a room service breakfast of pancakes the first morning ,which was far better than I expected. There is a second cup coffee shop just steps from the hotel, which became a regular stop each morning for an iced coffee to stem the 90 degree heat! The subway is also only a few minutes walk away, and we managed to catch a bus back to just outside the hotel several times. It's a good location for getting quickly downtown and there are loads of bars and restaurants a short walk away.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

I stayed here for a week while I was attending a workshop nearby. The rooms were clean and comfortable, though oddly designed. I was in a one-bedroom suite. The living room had a couch, but no TV. The only TV was in the bedroom. It also took a bit of creativity to get the curtain not to allow a stream of light in every morning that conveniently hit exactly where the pillows were.

The free WiFi was awesome, though it is a bit aggressive in making you sign in again after 20 minutes of inactivity.

The breakfast was nothing special, but it was a buffet and it was surprisingly cheap. (They give you 15% off coupons at check-in). After the discount, the breakfast cost a bit over $10 CAD. I was usually one of the only people in the hotel restaurant.

The fitness center was tiny (I swear the photo on the website looked bigger), but it was fine. The pool is currently closed for renovation.

The one real irritation at this hotel is that their keycard system doesn't work very well. I was not the only one ot stand outside their hotel door trying to get the reader to acknowledge my room key. I heard another person down the hall complaining that this always happens at this hotel. So that's really the biggest annoyance.

Other than that, the hotel was well-situated for my workshop, and it was a block or two away from tons of shops and restaurants and everything.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

My daughter and I stayed because of the location, so we could see the downtown without the high price of downtown hotel.
The check in was a little sketchy because of the "forced" valet parking. They have very limited parking but was not a real issue. The check in was quick and getting off the elevator onto the 9th floor was a trip into a dated decor that reminded me of the american southwest, except no cactus or sagebrush.
The room was very spacious, the bathroom roomy and clean. The beds and linens must have just been replaced, because they were 5 star hotel beds. It was the best sleep i had in a hotel in a very long time.
The business center featured a dilapitated monitor that badly needs to be replaced but was compensated by a great connection that one would wish in every hotel!
Based on the room itself i would come back again without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Roehampton Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Roehampton Hotel & Suites

Address: 808 Mount Pleasant Road, Toronto, Ontario M4P 2L2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Roehampton Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Roehampton Hotel & Suites is 109 guestroom boutique style property located in midtown Yonge/ Eglinton area with restaurants, shops, theatres, endless entertainment.Complimentary wireless Internet, fitness room, business centre, outdoor rooftop pool. Valet Parking only - extra charges apply. Restaurant open for breakfast only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Roehampton Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Roehampton Hotel Toronto
Best Western Roehampton Hotel And Suites
Best Western Toronto
Toronto Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Roehampton Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.