We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good choice for the Airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Toronto Airport East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Toronto Airport East to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Toronto Airport East
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Dixon Rd, Toronto, Ontario M9W 1J1, Canada (Formerly The Toronto Airport Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #58 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“good choice for the Airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I liked the location of the hotel,it was close to 401,and there were few restaurants and caffes within 5 min walk.Staff was pleasant,and helpful.
My room was nice,clean and quite spacious,Only minus was that there was some paint flaking off ceiling.
There is no mentioning of laundry room in hotel guide.I found it by accident when I walked to my room and saw signpost.It useful when staying for a few days.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    74
    46
    13
    6
See reviews for
46
55
10
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utica, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Airport East for a long weekend while attending a nearby hockey tournament. The hotel was conveniently located near major highways outside of Toronto. There are no amenities that you can walk to, but there are stores and restaurants within a short drive.

The rooms were clean and modern. Although the hotel is located right in a flight path to the airport, we heard relatively little noise in the room.

The air conditioning system in the room appeared quite old, and probably was not replaced during the renovation. It was noisy and took quite a while to cool the room down.

There is a Perkins restaurant attached to the hotel, which was very convenient.

My only complaint is that the front desk staff was inconsistent. Some of the clerks were polite and helpful and others were rude. We were staying as part of a group rate package. Every staff member we asked about the package provided a different answer about what it included.

All in all this was a good stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not on the 1st floor. The elevators are at the far end of the hotel, away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Easily one of the worst hotel experiences I’ve ever had. We actually checked out a day early even though it was pre-paid. Needless to say, there was NO credit applied and I’m afraid I’ll be fighting that refund battle for months to come. We frequently stay at Holiday Inns – they are moderately priced and usually good value for the money. But that was NOT the case in their Toronto “Airport East” hotel (note there are two Holiday Inns near the Toronto airport – this review refers to the “Airport East” hotel). Here is a list of the problems we encountered in only two days/nights there --

* Hotel-wide Power outage: we spent ½ day in the dark. The hotel turned off the power to the entire building (for “maintenance” caused by “storm damage”) one of the two days we spent there and the power was off for ½ the day. The hotel did not even have emergency lights in any hallway. All but the main hallway were pitch black and we navigated by cell phone. Is that even legal? Aren’t there fire laws in Toronto? Unfortunately, that was a day we had planned to stay in our room for most of the day (for reasons that would take too long to explain). We spent the day with no power, no air, no lights, no TV, no Wifi, etc. … with no prior notice or apologies from the hotel. After the fact, they claimed they had called all the rooms to warn then – we got no such call and spoke to other guests who also received no prior notice of this power outage. The only notice we saw (about ½ hour before the power was cut) was a small sign typed on 8 ½ x 11 paper, taped to one of the side doors to the parking lot. Their restaurant was closed, needless to say, during the outage.

* Bugs: Bugs on the floor, bugs flying around the room. When I spoke to the front desk about it they said “that’s because we are on the first floor”. Seriously.

* Room not secure: First floor room door to the outside was not secure – this “patio” door to the outside did not lock properly. There was a double sliding glass door – one locked, the other didn’t.

* Key Cards did not work: Speaking of poor security, I had to have each of our two key cards changed four times in two days. Literally every time we got back to our room, one of our key cards did not work and one of us had to go all the way back to the front desk to have a new one made. This is a large, sprawling hotel – the walk to the front desk was about 3 city blocks long (that’s mentioned in several other reviews of this place). That got old … fast!

* Carpeting wet: There were wet spots all over the carpeting. This was a “Pet room”. We had one of our dogs with us. We have traveled enough with dogs over the years to know that hotels always put you in the “pet rooms” when you bring a dog. I don’t expect perfection in a pet room but this was gross -- our dog’s incessant sniffing told us what the wet spots were. (no, he did not make the wet spots; they were already there…).

* Hairs in the bed: The only good thing about this hotel was that the beds were comfortable. However, there were long dark hairs in the “clean” white sheets in the bed. Nasty.

* Mildew: The entire hotel reeked of mildew and/or room freshener spray – the kind of stuff that’s sprayed to cover the small of mildew!

* Poor quality WiFi: The front desk gives you a WiFi login with your key card when you check in. Seems great but the WiFi is so poor it only shows up with one bar on the WiFi icon on your phone most of the time, if at all and every time it goes out you have to log in again. The Wifi was so bad that my phone kept reverting back to cellular and since I’m from the U.S., those Canadian cellular roaming charges can add up. Of course, during the ½ day the power was out there was no WiFi at all. Can’t wait to see my cell bill after all of this!

* Ripped off for parking: When we checked in they told us the refrigerator was complimentary (it was) and so was the parking (it was not). Parking was charged at $12.39 per day. What hotel … especially an airport hotel … charges guests for parking? Even hotels in midtown Manhattan that have their own lots comp their guests’ parking!

* Non-responsive surly front desk: It started with a request for a refrigerator. When I booked this hotel I called them directly to request a small refrigerator in the room for medication (I called the hotel to see if they had mini-bars; they did not so I requested a small refrigerator). When we checked in, I reminded them of the request and was told it was already in the room. It was not. When I called the desk from the room about the refrigerator, they were surly, saying “I told you it was coming, why are you calling?” and I was told to “be patient – it will be there”. Actually they didn’t say it was coming when I checked in – they actually said it was already there or I wouldn’t have wasted my breath calling the desk. It arrived about a ½ hour later. Fortunately the small cooler bag the medication was in had retained its chill or we could have had a major problem. Read on about other episodes with their front desk –

* After five hours without power on the day they cut the hotel’s power I went out to the desk to ask when power was being restored. The two men behind the desk claimed they knew nothing and that I should “ask her”, pointing to a woman in a Holiday Inn uniform standing in the lobby surrounding by people complaining. All she could do was say over and over again that everyone had been notified by phone of the outage (as if that made it OK) which we were not.

* When we checked out a day earlier than planned because of how horrendous this place was, they refused to credit us for the day … they refused to do just about anything. They were surly and generally unhelpful. Note that I never saw the same person at the front desk twice in the two days I was there. Yet all had just about the same degree of surliness.

* Note: this hotel is obviously a Holiday Inn franchise and it seems to commonly respond to complaints made in online reviews. Now that I’ve stayed there, I believe every negative review but not any of the hotel management’s defensive posts. No doubt they’ll respond to this review as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Airport East, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear maggiesmagic,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Toronto Airport East, ON. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
379 helpful votes 379 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We booked this Stay-Park-Fly room through itravel2000 for $112. A great value considering free week of parking and return shuttle.
Crystal on the front desk was very polite and cheerful, and quickest check in ever!
Our 5th floor room was nice, clean, quiet and well appointed.
It was hot and humid in the room, so thermostat set down to 16, we departed for Woodbine (another bonus as it's in close proximity).
Upon our return the room was just as stuffy, and when I reported it to Crystal, without hesitation she said it would be looked at by the maintenance staff and she passed me a new room key.
By the time we left the room, maintenance was at the door, and our new room was cooler and the a/c worked fine. GREAT service.
Our wake-up call and shuttle was on time, but this hotel is further from Pearson than other hotels, and they stop a couple of times, so plan accordingly.
In-room Coffee machine: Good. No In-room fridge: Not Good.
Only other suggestion for management is to review the signage on the outside doors and double check their security. As we drove around the building looking for "Door 4", it was hard to find: Poor Signage. When we did find it, it was unlocked and open, leading into a dirty sketchy hallway, past what might be an employee lounge and then into the corridor leading to the elevator. NOT a pleasant nor impressive way to enter your hotel.
All-in-all still a good hotel for your park and fly needs, but continuous improvements would ensure a returning client base.
Cheers, Paul

Room Tip: Top floor (5th) is quiet and has a "view" of the area, not great but consider it's an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, New York, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We booked this hotel 2 months in advance- in the meantime they obviously had a flood- the place reaked- I understand that, but they put us in a room right above the construction of their first floor where they were re-modeling and making repairs. Holy noisy Batman! And when the drills and hammers stopped, we had the Jet noise to enjoy [insert sarcasm]. There was a whole other side of the building that was quiet, we arrived at 2:00 and wanted to nap before heading into the city, and all we heard were intermittent drills and hammers until 5:00!. Then there was the delightful cloud of smoke from the workers having breaks just outside the door. SERIOUSLY? The Perkins diner attached was palatable, but service was slow and food undercooked. This was surprising given how empty the place was and how long it took us to get our food. Bed was comfortable, but climate controls were a nuisance. Either the fan blew directly on you, or, if you adjust it like we did, then you sweat your toosh off. Paint was pealing, carpet was dated and old. Bathroom fan sounded loud and squeaky and was automatic with the light-turning it on meant for first 5 min it sounded like a rocket taking off..but eventually it quieted a bit; and the sink/outlets/vanity area was IN the same space as the toilet and shower.not ideal. The doubletree a 1/4 mile down the road was 20 times nicer! Just FYI. I will NOT stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT over the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Airport East, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Karen C,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit at our hotel. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to the ongoing construction, it is regrettable that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We try our best to ensure all guests have a great stay and undisturbed sleep. The feedback we receive from you enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the near future to provide you with the service you deserve and expect from us.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

In 2009 we were "Zoomed", when Zoom Airlines went bust after we had boarded our aircraft in Halifax, Nova Scotia.

A long story, but we had to get out of Halifax to a hub airport in order to find a flight back to the UK. We succeeded with a Westjet flight to Toronto, where we were able to book a room at the Holiday Inn (West) - an excellent hotel, where the staff were so helpful to us.

Having not realised there were 2 Holiday Inns at Toronto Airport, we asked the travel agent through whom we were arranging our holiday to Alberta and BC, to book the Holiday Inn for our overnight stay, finding on arrival that this was at the older, low rise (3 storey) Holiday Inn East.

No worries, the hotel had recently been refurbished and the staff were just as helpful as they had been at the Holiday Inn West.

However, what makes the Holiday Inn stand out is the exceptionally comfortable beds/pillows - certainly the most comfortable we had throughout our holiday in 8 hotels, albeit closely followed by the Delta Bow Valley Hotel in Calgary, which is an excellent upmarket resort/business hotel.

The clean rooms, quiet air-conditioning (about 28c outside) and welcoming on-site restaurant at the Holiday Inn East, were also very much appreciated - thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed one evening the last night of my Toronto stay. (For anyone visiting Toronto, the early am public transportation is not early enough for an early flight out of the airport. So if you book a hotel downtown, book your last night near the airport, take the train to the bus to the airport and then make use of the free shuttle.)This hotel was really nice, recently renovated. I cannot remember the womans name who checked me in, but she was delightful. Warm and welcoming. The property was clean and my room was very nice. The beds were new and extremely comfortable. I didnt have a swimsuit or work out clothes but did check out the pool and exercise rooms. The pool was nice and nobody was there so I really wished I had my suit cause I could've had the whole pool to myself. The exercise room was small but had enough cardio machines and free weights to get some decent exercise. I ate in the resturant too, it was pretty good and fairly price. Wake up call right on time. Shuttle also right on time. All the staff I encountered were very pleasant. Most Canadians are. I would recommend staying here, if you need a hotel near the airport. If you want to stay and visit Toronto, I would rent a car.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Toronto Airport East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Toronto Airport East

Address: 600 Dixon Rd, Toronto, Ontario M9W 1J1, Canada (Formerly The Toronto Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Toronto
#44 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Toronto Airport East 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Holiday Inn Toronto Airport East is located only 3.9 kms from Pearson Intl airport and offers all residing guests complimentary 24 hr Airport shuttle to and from the airport. Featuring floor to ceiling windows that open, all our guestrooms are equiped with 37" LCD televisions with Pay per view. Our business clientele will appreciate the large working space with free WiFi and/or wired internet access. The award winning all day breakfast, Perkins Restaurant is located just off the lobby. For your meeting requirements, the Holiday Inn Toronto Airport East offers over 6,000 sq ft. of function and meeting space. Whilst traveling with your family, you will appreciate the hotels proximity to Wild Water Kingdom (9km), Sherway Garden Shopping Centre(11km) and Canada's Wonderland(22km). After a long day of sightseeing or meetings, guests at the Holiday Inn Toronto Airport East can enjoy the heated, indoor swimming pool, fitness centre, or a selection from the room service menu. When looking for area hotels for business or leisure, this is the place to stay and play in Toronto. Canada hotels don't get much better than this. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Toronto Airport East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Toronto Airport East Hotel Toronto
Toronto Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Toronto Airport East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.