We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   970 Dixon Rd., Toronto, Ontario M9W 1J9, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #71 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
around the world
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“As expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

The hotel met expectations - a comfortable sleep close to the airport

We only really spent time at the hotel while sleeping, so I can't comment on the gym, restaurant, etc, but the hotel had
Comfortable rooms - they were clean, quiet
Convenient shuttle - left the hotel frequently and ran 24/7
Convient location - we picked up a rental car off the airport (a good way to save some money) which was only a few blocks away rom the hotel
Indifferent staff - we arrived late, which might have explained the apathy

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear IllJill,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at the Holiday Inn Toronto Intenational AIrport. Although you didn't get to use much of the amenities this time, we are really glad to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of your clean room, and we can't go wrong with our great location and free shuttle to the airport. Sorry to hear that the staff was not their usual warm and welcoming for your check in. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the furture.......Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    138
    99
    32
    24
See reviews for
63
85
42
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kapolei, Hawaii
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I recently stayed here on November 30- December 13. I checked in with no problems with Kristina at the Front Desk. She informed me that they would place a $50 hold on my account in case of accidental damages to the room. It wasn't a problem for me. I was, however, disappointed upon hearing that my reservation price would actually be more than what I had booked it for. The "Best Price Guarantee" on the website is total crap as I was informed that the rates are subject to change due to peak days etc. Why advertise at a price other than what the real price is going to be?? FALSE ADVERTISEMENT in my book, no BS explanation needed from the hotel industry. Don't tell me you don't know what your room rates will be.

The problem with the hold on my account arose the next day when I noticed over $500 was missing from my account. Apparently Kristina failed to mention that its a $50 PER night fee that they would hold for the duration of my trip. This was irritating, as I also work in a hotel, to know that she neglected to point that out and seemed like I was being scammed. I am not at war with that policy, however, if I had known about that, I would've skipped this hotel entirely. Also, on the first day I was signed up as an IHG member and told that I'd be roomed on the executive floor. Well, that turned out to be a decent room with NO refrigerator or microwave.

I've stayed in dingy, cheap "America's Best" hotels in Georgia while in the military and even those rooms had a refrigerator for $39/ night.

I was able to switch to another room on the second night with a fridge. Hakim from the Front Desk was able to help us with our bags to our new room which was a huge help.

I was able to rectify the $500 hold on my account by talking with Ada from the Front Desk. It was a pain to have to contact my home bank to clear the entire payment and do another but I'm glad it was resolved (After a few days of waiting for my money to come back to my account). Ada compensated us for the trouble with a free Breakfast & Supper with two movies in our room, which was surprisingly very good in my opinion though I feel the restaurant service could be better for supper time. Why would you seat someone and not give them a menu for fifteen minutes??

Breakfast, on the other hand, was a decent buffet with enough waffles and fruits to satisfy my fiance and I. The coffee is quite terrible in the restaurant, as well as in the room. After the incident with Kristina, I didn't dare request for anything to be brought to my room for fear of more hidden charges.

Being a member of housekeeping at a Disney resort, I know what good housekeeping looks like. The housekeeping in this hotel is below average. Some days, I could tell the only thing they did was make the bed and take the towels, along with a brand new pair of my fiance's wool socks I had just bought for her. Small items disappeared from our room, but not worth the trouble reporting after the luck I had with Kristina the first night. I don't believe my room was vacuumed even once during my 13 nights there. The laundry room was another big disappointment. How can you have only one washer and one dryer??

No change machine means you need to take the elevator down to the front desk and hope they have enough coins to give you. I use the term coins because you need a variety of $1, $2, and/or quarters to use the machines. What a real pain. The biggest safety issue I noticed went untouched by the staff during th whole time we were there. One of the elevators was malfunctioning and would just keep closing and opening the doors and never leave the 8th floor where we were located. I felt very uneasy taking the elevators there, but walking up and down from the 8th floor isn't a great option either. The indoor pool and hot tub was ok, nothing special.

The fitness room was a good amenity we were able to utilize throughout our stay that helped to warm up for the day's activities. The lobby has a couple of comfortable sofas to sit on, but some of the Front Desk staff were rude and didn't seem interested in helping us out.

The operator can be difficult to reach at times from your room phone, so don't rely too much on them for service.

Our vacation was looking grim at the beginning. A combination of Ada resolving our account-hold issue, Hakim helping to move our things, and Basco providing us with helpful information on more than one occasion allowed us to have a bad vacation become a good one. Due to all the problems we have had in our 13-night stay, I will not be returning to this hotel. The best things about this place are the location to the airport and The Keg Steakhouse being right across the street. Best steak I've ever eaten.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a fridge, as all rooms are not equipped with them. Out of touch with the time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada H, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Joshua,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at the Holiday Inn Toronto International AIrport. We are very sorry to hear of all the issues you encountered during your stay. I personally took care of your hold on your credit card, and am glad we were able to resolve that for you. Kristina also felt really sympathic for this issue as it was never meant for that amount to be authorized. As for your housekeeping concern, I am really suprised to hear that you had some items missing. I know our Execuive Housekeeper takes such great pride in her team being very loyal and dedicated room attendants. I would really like the opportunity to discuss your experience more in detail and try help you recover the items you mentioned were missing. Can you pleae reach out to me at yyzialistens@ihg.com. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to your reply. Warm Regards, Ada, Guest Services Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metamora, Michigan
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times in the past and there are no changes in the conditions of this site. Rooms are clean and I noticed the tile in the bathroom was heated and that was very nice. The indoor pool is large enough to swim laps and the fitness center is very well equipped with both Cardo and Strength Training machines. Two sets of dumbells was also very nice. Yoga mats and a Swiss ball rounded out the Fintness Center.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada H, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Art48455,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport. We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful amenities such as our heated bathroom floors, our olympic size pools and our upgraded fitness centre. We will also be completing some renovations in the coming year to our guestrooms and lobby area as we continue to build great hotels guest love. Thank you very much for your loyaltiy and we would love to have you back in the future....... Warm Regards, Ada, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Welcome to Holiday Inn!! Specialists in making your stay as comfortable as possible. We arrived early so many rooms had not yet been done but we got a room anyways and it was fine. A note here: we were told if the room did not match our expectations to come back to the reception desk and we would get another ASAP! We chose to stay in the room we got.

Any room # that finishes the digits XX30 is very close to the elevator and incredibly, we did not hear the elevator being used at all!! The view of a flat wall was not as nice as we like but we did not spend much time in our room anyways so that is moot. I will add though that the washroom size is ridiculously minute. Now had they installed a pocket door instead of a door that swings so close to the toilet and won't open fully because it his the shower curtain rod.... good chance it would be of perfect proportions! (Are we listening Holiday Inn)

I have a pet peeve and that is loose plumbing fixtures. It seems many hotels wait till stuff breaks instead of practicing preventive maintenance. Had my allen key set been in the car I would have tightened the shower water control handle myself but I didn't. I must mention though that this is the first time I get a Holiday Inn room with loose plumbing handles.

Every one working at this Holiday Inn does their best to ensure you are comfortable and happy. Desk staff could all start their own "Public Service School" as they are all that good!

We've stayed here a few times already and every time we end up being very satisfied.

Room Tip: Room numbers that end in "30" for example "630" face a wall and have minute wash...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

After an exhausting commute - a day and a half- the room was ICE COLD.
After a luxury Holiday Inn in Jordan (booked by the same tour group), Canada looked and felt like the Third World.
This room was booked months in advance, and confirmed just before the trip. Why wasn't the
room prepared? There were no thermostats on the walls.
I have called, with no response. I will call the tour company that books this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada H, Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Deborah,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at the Holdiay Inn Toronto International Airport. We would like to apologize that your stay was not enjoyable and we did not meet your expectations. We have tried to contact you unsuccessfully wth the number from your reservation but would love the opportunity to discuss your experience further, can you please contact me at yyzialistens@ihg.com. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to hearing from you soon.... Warm Regards, Ada, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed here overnite for a connection flight next morning. Was clean and had friendly staff but definitely could use some maitenance. Bathroom door was awful to open & when ever I opened the bathroom door the towel rack would fall off onto the floor. Charged for local calling which I thought was a bit much and I never complain as you would see in all my reviews but just thought for a holiday inn , could be in a bit better condition but like I said it was comfy enough for a short overnite stay & staff was friendly.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Karen B
I want to thank you for taking the time to share your comments in regards to your stay with us at Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport! I'm glad that you found our staff friendly we do work hard to be a friendly hotel where guests and our associates can be themselves. As for the maintenance issues that you eluded to I would like for you to reach out to me directly at YYZIAlistens@ihg.com so I can get more detail on the room as this is something we would want to jump on and get repaired right away. Just to give you an update we are finalizing our capital plans for 2014 and will continue to focus on updating our product with particular focus on our guest touch areas such are the rooms and the lobby! Thanks again for staying with us and I hope that you will return soon and see some of the changes we are making to the property.
Regards
GMYYZIA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I just checked into my room, I'm exhausted and can shrug stuff off because I'm too tired to care...

But then I go to the pool and there is a cockroach by the hot tub! Maitre nice cleaned it up, but it makes me question - are there more?

Back to the room I go to take a shower, I had to clean it first, someone's hair was in it!!!!! The glasses and ice box in the bathroom - also dirty.

I'm going to sleep tonight - not comfortably and will be looking to check out early tommorow.

Beyond this, the hotel bus driver was rude, and hotel is under maintenance. There should be a discount when the place is under construction.

Oi va! Take my advice and don't book here!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug L, General Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear MaggieEG
I want to thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give us your feed back. I want to start by apologizing for your experience. I'm taken back on your comments in regards to the cleanness of the hotel as we do pride ourselves on having a clean and well maintained hotel. I will share your comments with our Housekeeping team so that they can look into these issues. We do have a proactive pest control program with a third party partner in order to be pest free. As for renovations we are currently working on some repairs on our roof which does not interfere with the services that we provide but we are always reinvesting back into the property which is critical to maintaining a great hotel that guests love. Thanks again for sharing your comments!
Regards
YYZIA GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport

Address: 970 Dixon Rd., Toronto, Ontario M9W 1J9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Toronto
#49 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Airport Hotel in Toronto Offers Value & ServiceThe Holiday Inn Select Toronto Airport welcomes you to our newly renovated airport hotel at Toronto International Airport (YYZ). You'll love our hotel's free Toronto airport shuttle, quiet, convenient location and heated bathroom floors.Guests appreciate our hotel's close proximity to the Toronto Congress Centre and International Centre, the major host for area events. Our meeting facilities are the best among Toronto airport hotels. Our 21,000 sq. ft. and 23 rooms with award-winning catering are simply ideal for any event.Leisure guests love our hotel's location near Pearson Airport. Nearby attractions like Woodbine Entertainment Centre and shopping at Square One offer family fun. Easy access to Hwy 401and 427 puts Toronto's world-class attractions just minutes away.Guests of our Toronto lodging enjoy delicious dining and fine wines in our restaurant. Workout in a 24-hour Fitness Centre or refresh yourself in Toronto's largest, heated indoor and outdoor saltwater pools and hot tub, you'll be relaxed whether you're visiting for business or pleasure. For your next stay in Toronto, our airport hotel's associates wait to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport Hotel Toronto
Toronto Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.