We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Stay Great for a Stop Over” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   970 Dixon Rd., Toronto, Ontario M9W 1J9, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #71 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Basic Stay Great for a Stop Over”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is an old property but it has been maintained and is clean. The beds could use an update but overal the place was okay and with a pre paid advance purchase the value was great. The shuttle driver to the airport was outstanding and really helped with our luggage. The shuttle runs 3 times per hour 24 hrs a day. The staff were good. I would not hesitate to stay here again for the price. There are a couple of good eating places within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    138
    99
    32
    24
See reviews for
63
85
42
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
nova scotia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed here on 29Sep12 for business meeting next day; everything on the business side of things was great (meeting space, catering, etc) but the hotel room left alot to be desired. They definitely need to clean their room filters as I woke up the next morning with a 'fur-ball' in my throat, stuffed up. Before retiring, I ensured I did not have feather pillows and I turned the a/c on to cool the room for sleeping; whatever air was being blown about overnight was either dusty/dirty or moldy. I was not the only one in our large business group to experience this. While the hotel amentities are good and the rooms are well appointed, this air situation is enough for me not to recommend this hotel. Too bad really.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear DeniseAtBeach,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased that you liked our amenities and hotel rooms. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I'm sorry our hotel fell below your expectations due to the air situation in you room. Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My hubby & I stayed for 4 nights (two nights before and two after a 5 day break in Barbados) and found the location great with the free aiport shuttle service brilliant. Check in and check out were both efficient and with the front desk staff always friendly & helpful. The complimentary tea & coffee were very welcome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Spent a night at this hotel back in July...we had two rooms for our family of four. We didn't really know what to expect, as the reviews seemed to vary quite a bit. When we arrived, their computers were down so check-in was not impressive and took forever. The staff told us that it happens a lot!! Anyway, expecting the worst we were waiting for the shock of the "outdated" and "worn" rooms we had read about...wrong!! The rooms were extremely clean, in very good repair, silent from aircraft noise, and simply...nice!! No, the furniture isn't the latest from "The Art Shoppe" but it is functional and pleasant. Beds were comfortable but may not have been up to Westin's finest...but neither was the price of the room! The pool was huge, both indoor and outdoor...and was comfortably warm. Mixed reviews of the restaurant had us worried...again, the staff and service were fantastic! The food was very good and reasonably priced, not to mention our two kids ate for free! There were NO upcharges or hidden expenses like the Marriott nails you with...printing our boarding passes was actually free!! Most recently we did stay at the Marriott...it made us long for the Holiday Inn, as we feel there is little reason to spend more. Unless you are willing to pay for the Westin right next door, this is a very nice hotel. We are quite fussy but found it a very good bargain!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HITorontoAirport, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear JamesB, Thank you for your review. The hotel did experience a system crash in July and it is unfortunate that you were affected by this. Rest assured the system has been repaired and is running perfectly. We are glad to hear that the hotel met your standards and you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night for a short family getaway in Toronto. I booked through hotwire and only paid $69+tax. I was uncertain as to what I'd get for $69 but was extremely please with this hotel.

Check in was quick, parking was $14 but for $30 I could get parking and vouchers for 2 adult breakfast buffets and my 2 kids would eat for free. So I took advantage of that, and very happy I did.

The room was very large, beds were pillow tops and extremely comfortable. They had pillows with nice looking ribbons around them labelling them soft or firm. Sleeping there was very comfortable. I was concerned that being right across from the airport it would be noisy, but it wasn't noisy at all.

Indoor Pool was large and water was warm. The pool was open until late and then opened early as well. There was an outdoor pool, shuffleboard court, and gazebo outside, but we didn't use them.

In the morning, we at the buffet- the food was delicious and there was a great variety. We also swam in the pool again- since checkout wasn't until noon. I liked the late check out so we could enjoy ourselves and relax in the morning.

This hotel was wonderful, even if I had paid a regular rate- it would have been worth it. But through hotwire, it was labeled as 'Toronto airport- east' and either 3 or 3 1/2 stars if you wanted to check it out.

Room Tip: Our room faced the Toronto airport, which my kids thought was cool so they could see the airplanes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HITorontoAirport, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear VacaynDisneyLover, Happy to hear you had a wonderful stay. I am glad to hear you took advantage of the upgrade pacakage with breakfast and the kids eat free program. I am also happy to hear you enjoyed time in our pool and enjoyed your breakfast in our restaurant. Hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel and were impressed by the location, speed of arrival of the shuttle bus and the friendliness of the shuttle driver.

The front desk staff were also very helpful and assisted us with making plans to explore Toronto the following day and bus routes.

It does seem, however, that the hotel is slightly understaffed. After 10 minutes of calling down to the front desk, we decided to go in person to get assistance. One poor clerk was attempting to check in around 20 people!

We would definitely stay here again though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HITorontoAirport, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear GOlfer_T, Thank you for your review of the hotel and highlighting our fast airport shuttle and friendly sevice. We try our best to staff our front desk appropriately, however, due to our location as an airport hotel check-in volume can be unpredictable. We are so happy to hear that you would stay with us again and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We found this hotel very comfortable and loved the pool. The hotel room had some wallpaper peeling issues but is fine overall. We were disappointed that there was no refrigerator in our room but glad there was at least a coffee maker. The pool was large and at a very comfortable temperature. There is also a jacuzzi and sauna but the jacuzzi wasn't working the one time we went. Staff at front desk was friendly. We couldn't find a decent and reasonable hotel downtown and so decided to stay here but it's still a drive into the city. The parking fee at 14 CAD was a bit high for the remote area and for the unprotected outdoor self-parking. I would've given this place a 4 "very good" if not for the distance and parking fee.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport

Address: 970 Dixon Rd., Toronto, Ontario M9W 1J9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Toronto
#48 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 446
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Airport Hotel in Toronto Offers Value & ServiceThe Holiday Inn Select Toronto Airport welcomes you to our newly renovated airport hotel at Toronto International Airport (YYZ). You'll love our hotel's free Toronto airport shuttle, quiet, convenient location and heated bathroom floors.Guests appreciate our hotel's close proximity to the Toronto Congress Centre and International Centre, the major host for area events. Our meeting facilities are the best among Toronto airport hotels. Our 21,000 sq. ft. and 23 rooms with award-winning catering are simply ideal for any event.Leisure guests love our hotel's location near Pearson Airport. Nearby attractions like Woodbine Entertainment Centre and shopping at Square One offer family fun. Easy access to Hwy 401and 427 puts Toronto's world-class attractions just minutes away.Guests of our Toronto lodging enjoy delicious dining and fine wines in our restaurant. Workout in a 24-hour Fitness Centre or refresh yourself in Toronto's largest, heated indoor and outdoor saltwater pools and hot tub, you'll be relaxed whether you're visiting for business or pleasure. For your next stay in Toronto, our airport hotel's associates wait to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport Hotel Toronto
Toronto Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Toronto International Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.