We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite Toronto hotel for business or pleasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Toronto Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Toronto Centre to your Saves list
InterContinental Toronto Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 Front Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2X3, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #21 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence
Orleans, Ontario
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“My favourite Toronto hotel for business or pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I have stayed here multiple times over the last decade on business and family trips. The location on Front Street one block away from Union Station (for commuter rail and the TTC/subway) and a short cab ride to the Billy Bishop (Toronto Island) airport is ideal and as close to perfect as one can get.

There are a host of restaurants and dining options for all budgets within walking distance and you can quickly walk to Air Canada Centre (hockey, basketball, concerts, etc.) or the Rogers Centre (football, baseball, concerts, etc.).

The IC hotel is also directly connected to the Metro Toronto Convention Centre which is great for conference delegates, especially during the winter months.

Food is good in the downstairs restaurant, the fitness facility, spa and small pool on the 2nd floor are good for a workout or relaxation.

Finally, rooms are modern, spacious and well-equipped.

This hotel is an exemplar for the Intercontinental Brand and trustmark.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica W, Manager at InterContinental Toronto Centre, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear WJR-041,

Thank you for your comments.

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are always striving to meet our guests expectations and we are glad that we have been able to exceed yours.

We are happy that you have enjoyed our amenities, service and convenient location over the years and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm Regards,

Jessica Webb
Administrative Assistant

INTERCONTINENTAL
TORONTO CENTRE

225 Front Street West
Toronto, ON
M5V 2X3

Tel: 416-597-8196
E-mail: Jessica.Webb@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    608
    217
    65
    42
See reviews for
277
465
124
624
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (465)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Nice mini suite. Very wobbly lamp. Ok, just so you know and don't accidentally knock it over. The technician was unable to fix it. He really tried.

If the restaurant is open until 3 o'clock, how come at 2.25 only burgers and club sandwiches are available? The menu was still posted. It would be useful to know at what time last orders are taken. Not wanting just starch and carbohydrates for lunch, we had to find another place to eat.

The 8th floor lounge ran out of eggs, then pastries and it took ages for a new supply to arrive. You don't necessarily have time for a 15min wait if you're in town for business. The coffee was very good - both the special ones the one ordinary one in the thermos urn.

We got the impression that the hotel is understaffed. The staff we saw were working very hard. A huge hotel like that, with huge functions - there seemed to be at least one wedding - should be better prepared.

Room Tip: The Toronto tower side is quiet. You can lie on the window seat (with cushions) and admire the Tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica W, Manager at InterContinental Toronto Centre, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Lamppu,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback.

It is through the feedback we receive from our guests that we discover the areas in which we need to improve. I have shared your comments with the appropriate departments to ensure we can improve in the areas you mentioned.

To discuss your experience further, please contact Christian Potvin, Director of Rooms, at 416-597-8190 or via e-mail at christian.potvin@ihg.com.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future and providing you with the exception InterContinental Experience we are known to provide.

Warm Regards,

Jessica Webb
Administrative Assistant

INTERCONTINENTAL
TORONTO CENTRE

225 Front Street West
Toronto, ON
M5V 2X3

Tel: 416-597-8196
E-mail: Jessica.Webb@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orleans, on, ca
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My booking was two night on points and one at a corporate rate. Perhaps I should not have expected a first-class room.
1. After dark the room was dark and the lights were insufficient to correct - gave a depressed feeling.
2. There was only one coffee cup with the coffee maker.
3. Cleanliness was less than expected.
4. Bedside telephone didn't work properly (fixed by staff).
5. Standing lamp was coming apart at top of fixture (fixed by staff).
6. Lighting in bathroom was entirely inadequate for any action which required light such as applying makeup.
7. As explained above, I had two reservations. I arrived back late night on second day to find my room key had been cancelled. The Hotel had not connected my two reservations. Ridiculous inconvenience!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica W, Manager at InterContinental Toronto Centre, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear gordoncr,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

I would like to apologize for the less-than-satisfactory experience you had during your recent stay with us. I can assure you that this is not the level of service we are known to provide.

I have communicated your comments with the appropriate departments to ensure that we improve in the areas you mentioned.

We would love the opportunity to discuss your experience further and regain your loyalty. Please contact Christian Potvin, Director of Rooms, at 416-597-8190 or via e-mail at christian.potvin@ihg.com.

We look forward to speaking with you directly and hopefully welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Jessica Webb
Administrative Assistant

INTERCONTINENTAL
TORONTO CENTRE

225 Front Street West
Toronto, ON
M5V 2X3

Tel: 416-597-8196
E-mail: Jessica.Webb@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

such a fabulous location; by union station, St Lawrence market, CN tower, Roy Thomson Hall. didn't have to walk outside to attend the conference!!! Found some nice restaurants nearby -- C'est What (67 front street, downstairs) microbrewery with good pub food; Hank's for breakfast (9.5 church street - check for hours); a little further walk to Guu Izakaya on 398 church (hard to find, look for set back little strip mall with black tarp over doorway for guests waiting outside?) - DELICIOUS, noisy, fun Japanese tapas; and a further walk or short sub ride to Brownstone Bistro (603 yonge street).

Room Tip: yes, higher up for less noise from trains and traffic; ask for view of CN tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica W, Manager at InterContinental Toronto Centre, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear OnkyTonky,

Thank you for your comments.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We truly are located at the centre of it all and we are so pleased that you had the opportunity to experience our convenient location.

We look forward to welcoming back in the future.

Warm Regards,

Jessica Webb
Administrative Assistant

INTERCONTINENTAL
TORONTO CENTRE

225 Front Street West
Toronto, ON
M5V 2X3

Tel: 416-597-8196
E-mail: Jessica.Webb@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Room was excellent with a great view of the CN Tower and Rogers Centre. Staff were awesome, great with directions, ideas of things to see. However when deposit was taken on my debit/visa card it did not go back on the next day or even week. I had to bug and complain to them for a long time and was told it was taken care of. It was not and had to go back and forth again with a manager. Took about 2 months to fix and I was not offered any recompensation/free night at all. I would only go back if someone else was footing the bill.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica W, Manager at InterContinental Toronto Centre, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Nathan P,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations as well as the service you received during your stay with us.

However, I would like to apologize for the difficulties you experienced with your credit/debit card. We are following up internally to ensure that these complications do not occur in the future.

We would love to have the opportunity to discuss your experience further and regain your loyalty. Please contact Christian Potivin, Director of Rooms at 416-597-8190 or via e-mail at christian.potvin@ihg.com.

We hope to have the please of welcoming you back in the future.

Warm Regards,

Jessica Webb
Administrative Assistant

INTERCONTINENTAL
TORONTO CENTRE

225 Front Street West
Toronto, ON
M5V 2X3

Tel: 416-597-8196
E-mail: Jessica.Webb@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We recently hosted our son and daughter-in-law's rehearsal party at The Intercontinental. We were given a private dining room, the Turquoise and Sapphire Rooms. I must say they did everything we asked for to make the event perfect. We had an "upscale" pizza party with beautiful cheese trays, pub grub, and an Italian Station. Food was served beautifully around the room, not and right on time. They brought in a bar with 2 servers for us. They had small tables set up for the kids. There was a jazz band playing right outside which was very nice. We also rented 2 of the bi-level suites and they were perfect for all the people coming and going. Out of town guests also rented rooms there and everyone was happy with them. Great location, friendly and helpful staff. Special thanks to Paula who helped us plan all of this.

Room Tip: Talk to them when you book. There are many options available and they will help you or put you in to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica W, Manager at InterContinental Toronto Centre, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear littlebOntario,

Thank you for your comments.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. It was a pleasure for our team to take part in making your event a memorable one. We always strive to provide the best of service and we are so glad that we exceeded your expectations.

Paula truly does know what it means to provide “at you side” service. I have passed on your comments to her directly and she will be recognized for making such a lasting impression on you.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Jessica Webb
Administrative Assistant

INTERCONTINENTAL
TORONTO CENTRE

225 Front Street West
Toronto, ON
M5V 2X3

Tel: 416-597-8196
E-mail: Jessica.Webb@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

A great hotel in a great location, neigbouring the CN tower in downtown Toronto. Friendly and curteous staff, great facilities. I stayed in a boutique hotel within the hotel itself, complete with it's own reception and breakfast room. Efficient and elegant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica W, Manager at InterContinental Toronto Centre, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Wildviking,

Thank you for your comments.

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We always strive to provide the best of service to our guests and I am glad that our team delivered this to you. Our Club InterContinental Level truly does cater to every travelers needs and we are delighted that you enjoyed the more personalized experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Jessica Webb
Administrative Assistant

INTERCONTINENTAL
TORONTO CENTRE

225 Front Street West
Toronto, ON
M5V 2X3

Tel: 416-597-8196
E-mail: Jessica.Webb@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to InterContinental Toronto Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Toronto Centre

Address: 225 Front Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Toronto
#15 Business Hotel in Toronto
#17 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#17 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Toronto Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 586
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a Front Street location adjacent to the Metro Toronto Convention Centre, InterContinental Toronto Centre is considered the city centres best location. We are steps away from the CN Tower, Canadian Broadcasting Centre, Rogers Centre, Air Canada Centre,the entertainment and financial districts, Toronto Eaton Centre, the Royal Ontario Museum and Roy Thomson Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Toronto Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Toronto Centre Hotel Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Toronto Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.