We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location, decent hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Toronto Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Toronto Centre to your Saves list
InterContinental Toronto Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   225 Front Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2X3, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #19 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Köln
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“nice location, decent hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed in the Intercontinental for a week. Being ambassador members, we were upgraded to a club level room. Club lounge was spacious, great view of the cn tower, good variety of snacks in the afternoon. The breakfast selection however was pretty limited, I would call it continental plus. The room itself was quite nice, a corner room with a huge tv and a great lake/cn tower view. The bathroom could need some renovation, it was pretty old school. The staff in the lounge was overall okay, ranging from really nice (a young german lady) to quite grumpy and desinterested. I did not complain since we were in the lounge on an upgrade, but if I had been a full fare club level guest, I would have specifically said something to of those rather grumpy and unhelpfull ladies. We woud come back, although the decision to come back would be easier if the hotel undergoes some renovation in the meantime.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica W, Manager at InterContinental Toronto Centre, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Sano1980,

Thank you for taking the time to review us.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your accommodations on our Club InterContinental Level as well as the afternoon canapés. While I am glad to hear that you received superior service from most of our employees, I would like to apologize for your experience with those employees who did not provide you with the exceptional service our hotel is known for.

Should you wish to discuss your experience further, please contact Christian Potvin, our Director of Rooms at 416-597-8190 or via e-mail at christian.potvin@ihg.com.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,

Jessica Webb
Administrative Assistant

INTERCONTINENTAL
TORONTO CENTRE

225 Front Street West
Toronto, ON
M5V 2X3

Tel: 416-597-8196
E-mail: Jessica.Webb@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    553
    203
    62
    39
See reviews for
249
422
120
571
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Only a one night stay but the experience was great. Great room and excellent service with a smile. Being connected to the Metro Convention center is also a plus. Lots if restaurants and store nearby. I would return without a doubt. Congratulations to the staff.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica W, Manager at InterContinental Toronto Centre, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear etaillefer,

We are happy to hear that our team was able to win you over in just one night. We are always striving to ensure that all of our guests needs are met and we are pleased that our team was able to exceed your expectations.

Thank you for taking the time to review us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Jessica Webb
Administrative Assistant

INTERCONTINENTAL
TORONTO CENTRE

225 Front Street West
Toronto, ON
M5V 2X3

Tel: 416-597-8196
E-mail: Jessica.Webb@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay at the Intercontinental Toronto Centre and I highly recommend to come here when visiting the city.

+ Location: Toronto’s city center is quite small and all major sights are in walking distance from the hotel. E.g. the CN Tower and Rogers Centre are just next door, the fully developed lakeshore with restaurants, shops and the ferry terminal to the Toronto Island’s just two blocks away. Hip neighborhoods like Queen Street West, Dundas West and Distillery District, are close-by and accessible by train, bike or a longer walk.

+ /-Amenities:
+ Rooms: The rooms are spacious, come with a good-sized bathroom and closet, coffee maker and fridge. What I really appreciated were the extra wine glasses they offer, which is most times missing in other hotels. There is only one thing I would add: a second caffeinated capsule of coffee.
BTW – the view from the higher floors is just beautiful, in particular towards the lake s.

+/- Gym/Pool: The gym has a good size and offers enough equipment several hotel guests can work out at the same time. When it comes to the pool it is getting more difficult since they only have four loungers and two tables with chairs were you can leave your stuff to swim or sit down to relax from sightseeing or working. Some more furniture or benches would be helpful if more than 10 people should enjoy the large pool area at a time.

+ Service: From check-in to check-out and in between the front desk staff was incredibly friendly and attentive and made us feel comfortable and welcome. Moreover housekeeping did a great job. Our room was super clean and well equipped with bath amenities etc.

CONCLUSION
The Intercontinental Toronto Centre is a perfect choice for a stay in Toronto since the downtown area is just around the corner and all other areas easy reachable by train, bike or a longer walk. The staff is very attentive and obliging and makes you feel at home. When working in the city you can be sure you have the needed quietness and support to do business.

+ great location, everything in walking distance
+ spacious super clean rooms,
+ attentive staff

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, NY
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I don't stay in hotels of this caliber very often, but when I do I notice the difference in many, many ways besides the obvious quality. This hotel is located next to the Toronto Convention Centre and within a short wallk to see the Blue Jays. Wonderful hotel with attentive staff and really sleek upscale rooms with very comfortable beds. The only downside of these Toronto hotels located at or near the waterfront/sports facilities are that parking rates are severe ($40) at this one and the exorbitant food and beverage prices. I would suggest Joe Bidali's on the next block visible from the hotel for lunch/dinner, and a small but crowded little diner called Cora's, down the street with a right on Blue Jays Way and up a half a block on the right for great and reasonable breakfast.

If you have the $250+ per night and want to be in the heart of Toronto, a great city to visit this is as good a place as the others. You can get in/out of the parking very easily without going outside and it is convenient. I was comped this room by a wonderful (obviously) neice but if I had the disposable bucks I would stay here in a heartbeat. Huge lobby and big city feel to the hotel and although not overly friendly, the staff is professional and attentive to your needs. Just hold your breath at the prices of things and do see the waterfront which is close by.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica W, Manager at InterContinental Toronto Centre, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear NFnative,

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting Toronto. It is always our goal to provide luxury accommodations as well as great service and we are glad that you had the opportunity to experience both.

Thank you for you comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,

Jessica Webb
Administrative Assistant

INTERCONTINENTAL
TORONTO CENTRE

225 Front Street West
Toronto, ON
M5V 2X3

Tel: 416-597-8196
E-mail: Jessica.Webb@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

There is two types of Intercon worldwide, the upscale ones like in Hong Kong and the old ones who badly need to be renovated like Intercon Toronto Center, in this property the service is good but the rooms are outdated, the lobby is boring, if price matter stay here, if quality is your criteria stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica W, Manager at InterContinental Toronto Centre, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Laurent Z,

We are glad to hear that you felt our service was on par, however, I would like to apologize for falling below the rest of your expectations.

While many of our guestrooms have been renovated, we do realize that some are still in need of updating. I can assure you that we do have plans in placer for these guestrooms to be renovated in the future.

For your next stay we would love to ensure that you receive a guestroom that exceeds your expectations. Please contact me directly to book your next reservation and I will ensure that you receive one of our renovated guestrooms.

Thank you for providing us with your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Warm Regards,

Jessica Webb
Administrative Assistant

INTERCONTINENTAL
TORONTO CENTRE

225 Front Street West
Toronto, ON
M5V 2X3

Tel: 416-597-8196
E-mail: Jessica.Webb@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is a luxury hotel smack in the center of the Toronto Downtown. I was able to investigate the whole city by walking or catching a trolley.

It was my husband's birthday and the hotel staff made it special by sending up a dessert. The pool was fabulous and the breakfast buffet was delicious.

This is a professionally run hotel that truly caters to its guests.
We are making a trip to Atlanta soon and I will choose an Intecontinental hotel because of the wonderful experiences we had at the Toronto one.

Thank you Toronto IC for such a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica W, Manager at InterContinental Toronto Centre, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear freezinnCleveland,

Thank you for your kind words.

It is always our goal to ensure every guests stay is a more than memorable one. We are so pleased that we were able to make both your stay as well as your husbands’ birthday celebration a special one.

We hope that you have an enjoyable stay in Atlanta as well as hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Toronto soon.

Warm Regards,

Jessica Webb
Administrative Assistant

INTERCONTINENTAL
TORONTO CENTRE

225 Front Street West
Toronto, ON
M5V 2X3

Tel: 416-597-8196
E-mail: Jessica.Webb@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We had an excellent 9 day stay in this very centrally located hotel as we had a very short walk to the central station to visit family. The room we had on 9th floor was excellent and had easy access to the Club room where we had an excellent breakfast and the not to be missed afternoon tea with international canapés which we were sorry to miss when we were out.
The jazz players in the restaurant were very good the steaks could have been better.
The lobby of the hotel is not as classy as the rest of the hotel

Room Tip: Choose 8th or 9th floor Avoid rooms near elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessica W, Manager at InterContinental Toronto Centre, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Michel A,

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay. Our Club InterContinental Level truly does allow our guests to experience a life of luxury while they are with us, and we are glad that you had the opportunity to experience this for yourself.

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,

Jessica Webb
Administrative Assistant

INTERCONTINENTAL
TORONTO CENTRE

225 Front Street West
Toronto, ON
M5V 2X3

Tel: 416-597-8196
E-mail: Jessica.Webb@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Toronto Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Toronto Centre

Address: 225 Front Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 2X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#14 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#16 Family Hotel in Toronto
#16 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#17 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Toronto Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 586
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a Front Street location adjacent to the Metro Toronto Convention Centre, InterContinental Toronto Centre is considered the city centre s best location. We are steps aways from CN Tower, Canadian Broadcasting Centre, Rogers Centre, Air Canada Centre,the entertainment and financial districts, Toronto Eaton Centre, the Royal Ontario Museum and Roy Thomson Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Toronto Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Toronto Centre Hotel Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Toronto Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.