We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service but not most comfortable room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Toronto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Toronto to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Toronto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   370 King Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J9, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #52 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent service but not most comfortable room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We were 3 people who stayed in a double room for 2 nights.

We had a couple of issues with the room. First, when we first walked into the room, it was steaming hot and we weren't able to change the ventilation to a cool temperature. We called the administration who sent someone to fix it within 15 minutes. We could finally breathe!

We found the room to be quite small (even for 3 people, and we're supposed to fit 4 people in here!). The mattress was way too soft. During the night, we could hear people talking and laughing in other rooms. So basically not the most comfortable room. I have to admit that the service was excellent though. Anytime there was any problem at all, the staff was helpful and quick to fix the situation. The hairdryer wasn't working for example, but they brought me another one within 15 minutes after I called them.

We had no difficulties with the hotel's underground parking which was about 30$/night. There is free wi-fi in the lobby, but they charge for wi-fi in the room. Beautiful decoration and nice ambiance in the lobby. There's also a Starbucks inside the hotel which is quite convenient. Excellent location.

Room Tip: Ask for a nice view of the CN tower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    422
    255
    96
    46
See reviews for
149
300
84
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I had stayed at this location while it was a travel lodge about 6 years previous and was excited to stay here again under the new banner and see what they upgraded with their 11 million renovation. I stayed with my husband and brother in law as well as friends in another room. The room was spacious and appreciated the thought they had put into all the extra electrical outlets at the desk due to the abundance of phones, ipads and other electric sucking devices you forget also needs to be be plugged in. I was especially looking forward to the rooftop pool and it didn't fail to impress. The atmosphere is nice, the check in and out is quick and apparently they also have kiosks in which you can do on your own although it isn't obvious so maybe more attention could be shown to this. We did have issues with the shower head coming off after the first person used it so the other two couldn't use it as we were checking out that morning. I mentioned this and a couple of other small quirks I thought they might want to look at as they hadn't been open long and they were quick to follow up as well as gave us a discount on the room even after we had already checked out and paid. The staff and management listened to our critiques during and after our stay and let us know through email that they corrected any issues and welcomed us back. I would highly recommend this great location with great service, ammenities and value!!! We'll stay next year for Fan Expo again.

Room Tip: Walls and doors a thin and you can hear people as they walk by so perhaps away for busier areas such...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Toronto, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay. We're delighted you had a wonderful time. It's great to hear our staff was able to correct the feedback you gave. Your recommendation is our highest compliment. We look forward to your next stay.

Chrissi B.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Hyatt. It was quiet, it is well located and is clean. We were able to walk to the subway. There are at least four Indian restaurants in the area, as well as other good places to eat. A Shoppers is less than one block, and a Starbucks is in the hotel lobby. The only complaint is that there weren't really any drawers to put clothes in. As well, they could put grab bars in their shower. Overall, great.

Room Tip: We looked north and it was pleasant. A better view is looking south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curacao
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Loved Toronto, loved the location of the hotel and appreciated the service....however, this Hyatt was no feast for the eye. I was dissappointed about the size of the rooms and the overall look of the hotel, from the outside to the reception to the hallways, which resemled more of a Holiday Inn than anything near the Hyatt hotels I've seen elsewhere. Besides, if the hotel is going to have rooms this small, the least they can do is decorate it in a manner that gives the illusion of space. Dark brown carpet, curtains, linnens, furniture, closet and wall panels just do not do the trick.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

3 visits to this hotel wew all very good.
5 min walk from a very centre of Toronto.
Decent rooms, small bathrooms but excellent decor and tv plasma.
Worth paying a little extra to have a business room on higher floor.
Staff professional and proactive. Check in quick and accurate with all info included and members recognition.
Breakfast ok, nothing special. Waiters a little pushy and it seemed they only cared for a tip.
Starbucks at the entrance, small lobby and under expectation gym room.
No club floor nor lounge.
Hope this improves soon.
Good quality-price.
Bars, restaurants, movies and shops just outside.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is in my opinion a great hotel that brings all the comfort that you expect. It is not the most fancy hotel of the chain but is located in the city center and is very convenient for both, business and pleasure as its located walking distance to the financial district and all touristic amenities (Eaton Centre, CN tower, Rogers Centre, Art Gallery of Ontario, China Town, Kesnsigton Market, the distillery district, etc).

The hotel has been recently refurbished (I think) and the rooms have all the comfort you can expect, spacious rooms and bathroom, big closet, big TV, good size desk to work, a number of power sockets easily accessible, etc. To complement all that, the hotel personnel are incredibly helpful and kind and despite being the Grey Cup Final Weekend when I stayed in (which believe me was incredibly busy time), they kept things working well and have been always very kind and professional.

After this review you can wonder why I have not given them top grade? Well the reason is simple, the internet setup is Rubbish!

Firstly you have to pay a plus for internet WI-FI connection which is already a bit of a blow, but more importantly if you are traveling on business (or perhaps with a family) and you need to connect to internet with more than one device (i.e. your PC + iPad) you have to pay twice for the internet connection. To be honest, as I stayed quite a few days, and they have made an exception and I didn't have to pay, however that was an exception and not the rule.

All in all, I would certainly stay in this hotel again and I fully recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the CN Tower, it is absolutely beautiful at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel was located in Downtown Toronto within walking Distance of everything we were interested in. From the moment we arrived until we left we found the staff to be exceptional' Free breakfast was includes and it was a full buffet breakfast, great way to start the day. Our room was clean and spacious with a great view of the CN Tower.
The only negative comments I have were that the bed was too soft for my liking and the frosted panel in the bathroom was a problem because when the bathroom light was on it shone into the room which could be annoying at night.
Overall good experience, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Toronto

Address: 370 King Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#46 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 437
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Toronto Entertainment District, central downtown, is the beautiful Hyatt Regency Toronto. Boasting 394 guestrooms including 32 deluxe suites on 20 floors. Typical guestroom features include 42inch plasma television, iPod Docking station, multi-media interface capabilities, massaging showerhead and other comforts of home. For business or pleasure, the Hyatt Regency Toronto provides the perfect location for anywhere you need to be in Toronto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hyatt Regency Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Toronto Hotel Toronto
Toronto Hyatt Regency
Holiday Inn Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.