We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The location is what makes this place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Grove Suites at The Maple Leaf

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Glen Grove Suites at The Maple Leaf to your Saves list
Glen Grove Suites at The Maple Leaf
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   390 Queens Quay West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3A6, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Toronto
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The location is what makes this place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Stayed here for a week while attending a wedding earlier this month and walked away ambivalent. The location is really what gives this accommodation it's rating, despite it being mostly an average place to stay. It's on the quay and hence you can grab yourself a nice view (depending on the apartment you get). The apartment contains most of the basic necessities but pretty much everything (including decor and furniture) would benefit from being updated/renovated which is why I wouldn't consider this a great spot. In the warm Toronto summer, the second bedroom also received little to no air cooling, which made some of the hotter nights very uncomfortable.

One point of note that lowered my overall rating to average (would have given it a very good based on location) was the awful customer service that you receive from 'reception'. There are in fact no on-site staff from Glen Grove and the security desk for the building functions as the reception. Zero customer service and we were generally made to feel an inconvenience and treated very abruptly and at times, rudely. There was confusion over protocols between the different staff members etc. as well, and generally just a poor outward interface with guests. Very poor.

Overall, there would be better options in this area but if necessity calls, you will get the expected 'average' stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glengrove, General Manager at Glen Grove Suites at The Maple Leaf, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments on our property.

We regret that you were inconvenienced due to lack of proper service. We generally try our level best to convey to our guests that the building staff doesn't work for the Glengrove. We address all service issues from our head office. Perhaps we fell short in our efforts to communicate that effectively... and we apologize.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Regards

Brian Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
9
Couples
0
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Findlay, Ohio
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

We stayed in a 2 bedroom/1 bath suite. This is part of a condo complex with permanent residents. Thru booking.com we got a good price for a family of 5 to be able to stay in the heart of Toronto. We had a corner condo with great view. There was easy access to transportation and walkable to many places. Parking is secure. Access to help by phone was easily available and courteous before and during the stay. It does not have hotel amenities. Just finding where to check in was a little arduous - had to ask at the drug store to be directed. You can't access the secure parking until you get the key fob to open the garage door. Housekeeping is only once a week. We asked for a 5th set of towels and never got it during our 4 night stay. We paid for wifi but the router never showed up on our list of available access points and ended up using an unsecured wifi. Rooms are good size and with clean linen and bathroom.. Scuffs on the walls and worn carpet was noted. Kitchen was equipped but lacked paper towels, dishwasher detergent, extra trash bags, etc. Basic set of dishes,utensils, drip coffee maker, fridge etc was available. Dish soap to hand wash the dishes was available. Starter packet of coffee was available. Air conditioner was very noisy and no instructions for use were given. Some lamps have broken switches and some bulbs were burnt out. We did not have any noise issues other than street sounds being easily heard. There is a laundry on the 2nd floor. There are computers with printers on the 2nd floor but you need to take your own paper. Groceries are available easily. ATM is convenient. The drug store has TTC tokens and day passes.

Biggest plus is that it is about 1/2-2/3 of the price of getting 2 rooms at a regular hotel for a family in a great location. But with the discount, there is a dropoff in services as well.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glengrove, General Manager at Glen Grove Suites at The Maple Leaf, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you for your detailed review of our property.

All your concerns regarding the airconditioner, lamps and the unsecured wifi have been addressed. Our routers are all secured now and we have made changes to our housekeeping procedures to ensure that service levels are raised to an acceptable standard.

Thank you for taking the time to write the review. Your feedback is sincerely appreciated.

Regards,

Brian Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glen Grove Suites at The Maple Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Grove Suites at The Maple Leaf

Address: 390 Queens Quay West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3A6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glen Grove Suites at The Maple Leaf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Glen Grove Suites at The Maple Leaf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Grove Suites at The Maple Leaf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.