We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great girl's Night out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guu Izakaya

Guu Izakaya
398 Church street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
416-977-0999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #70 of 6,995 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $24
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Pub, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown Toronto
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great girl's Night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Guu Izakaya is a hopping spot in a great location downtown. I went there with two other girlfriends on a Thursday night at 6:30 and we waited about 20 minutes for a table inside. The atmosphere is very vibrant and the decor is beautiful. For dishes we shared a few different items including
1. Seaweed miso soup of the day- standard flavours but delicious none the less
2. Ebimayo- I'm not a tempura person but have to admit the shrimp were cooked perfectly
3.Scallop and enoki mushroom- my FAV dish, really delicious flavours and lots of mushrooms, definitely recommend
4. Buta Kimchi BibimBap- authentic, great texture and a lovely dish to share
5. Yaki Udon- really yummy, lots of meat and mushrooms

overall the meal was well-priced service was friendly and fast and a great evening. I look forward to coming back with my friends another time this summer. I wouldn't recommend this place for a romantic date since the restaurant is loud, but a fun spot for young professionals.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    110
    21
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great fun and some good dishes.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We came here at around 5:30pm on Friday evening and there was no wait. We sat at the bar and were right in front of all the action! Everyone who works there constantly yell at everything. When people walk in, they yell welcome, when a dish is ready for pickup, they yell the dish name, and when people leave, they yell thank you and come back soon... All in Japanese! It is pretty much impossible to carry on a conversation there. I'd say that this is definitely a fun group place, and absolutely not a romantic restaurant. By the time we left at around 8PM, there was a huge crowd outside waiting to come in. Most of the customers here were Asian. Many Japanese customers.

As for food, some dishes are really good, but some are kind of terrible.

Good:

Oden
Fried pumpkin balls
Almond custard. (The best I've had! Really delicious.)

Okay:

sashimi


Avoid:
Gindara (Black cod. The fish was not marinated long enough and tasted blend.)
Takoyaki (octopus balls. They were deep fried instead of grilled and did not taste really good.) Okonomiyaki (Pancakes)

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place to go with groups of friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

I came here with 2 of my other friends and the line up was long because it was such a happening place to go to. We were looking for something differently atmosphere- and it's not your typical Japanese resto in Toronto. The servers greet you loudly when you enter and sends you off with a nice goodbye cheer when you exit!
You share your table with others which was different, but the other diners were friendly. I love the tapas menu and it's different from other Japanese restos in the city. It's a fun place!
I also went to the other Guu location on Bloor and Bathurst, I prefer that one cuz it seemed bigger.
If you're looking for a relaxing and fun environment go to Guu, take a friend or two!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best Japanese in the city!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Amazing food, amazing prices, great looking retaurant, fun atmosphere. This is prob one of my fav restaurants in the city (right now)!! Deff will not dissapoint. Rated top 100 rest in the world. Its a must eat in Toronto

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Ontario
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“Guud Fuud...Fuun atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Recently took my two sons to Guu on the recommendation of my eldest and had a fun time with some cool food. Whenever anyone enters...all the staff yell a greeting in Japanese...the same when you leave. Orders are yelled out to the open kitchen behind the bar and are yelled out when ready so don't expect a quiet, candlelight dinner here. It's noisy...busy and energetic. Lots of neat things on the menu like beef tongue...cheek...jellyfish...octopus balls so if you like trying something new...Guu is the place. They also have lots of other choices...chicken...pork etc. and most come 3-5 pieces per order...fun for sharing. Seating is either at the bar or in long benches where you'll be seated beside or across from other diners. Sitting at the bar lets you peer into the cooking process which is kind of neat. Various sakes...beers and alcoholic beverages and drinks are available to compliment your dinner and prices are very reasonable. Guu is a fun, noisy place to go for good food and something a little different.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guu Izakaya also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 
 

Been to Guu Izakaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guu Izakaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.