We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold Front desk- best for baseball fans” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Blue Jays Way, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J4, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #32 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Westchester County, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Cold Front desk- best for baseball fans”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

We found the front desk staff to be highly impersonal and very unhelpful when we tried to check in early at 2pm and then at 4 and then at 5, etc, etc.. There's nothing warm about the hotel except for the bar that looks out to the Roger's centre stadium which makes for s nice place for drinks and quick get-togethers. Plus we disliked not having the free internet in the bedrooms--how long will you hang out in the lobby?
We will go elsewhere for our next Toronto trip

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    407
    179
    64
    38
See reviews for
232
336
68
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kanata, ON
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

The Renaissance hotel is a decent option for those visiting the Rogers Centre for an event, but is a little too far out of the way to access a lot of restaurants and shopping on foot. The hotel was comfortable; however, is in need of a facelift to bring it up to date with the standards set by other 4 star competitors in Toronto. The valet service was very good and the team was always very helpful and accomodating. Overall, we thought that the hotel was fairly average, but could do with some updated improvements. Currently, I would say that the hotel should be classed as a 3 star property.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester ny
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

We've stayed here before but it was in the winter time. This time it was so warm it was no problem walking. Was much closer to things than I thought it would be. We like to walk alot so we went everywhere from chinatown, up close to bloor, to st. lawrence market..
I didnt even check the pool as last time it was cold and the pool area was pretty dingy. Our room was very nice- overlooked the railroad tracks as they all do. The size of the room was fine for us, the bathroom was HUGE, it was like a public restroom!
Overall, our stay was very nice, especially for the price we paid through priceline. The one negative for us was the bed- it was terribly uncomfortable- we've stayed at loads of hotels in toronto before and all seem to have very nice beds, these were very hard and the odd shaped square pillows made it hard to get comfortable. For our first weekend away from kids in a very long time we expected a good nights sleep which we definately did not get.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

We stayed at the Toronto Renaissance hotel during the last week of June for one night for a weekend trip. This was our second trip to this hotel but the first dealing directly with the hotel (last time we booked through Hotwire). We were able to obtain a really good rate through a promotion, so it is hard to complain about anything based on that. Check in was easy. We had a city view room booked (aka: view of railway tracks, a bit of Front street, and some of the CN tower). We tried to get upgraded to a stadium view overlooking the baseball game, but were advised these rooms went for $200 extra per night! Needless to say we passed, as tickets for games start at $9, and even the worst seats in the stadium have a better view of the field than what you'll get from the rooms.

Our room was very clean and provided a decent amount of space. The bed was pretty comfortable, but compared to other Marriott properties they seemed slightly firm and aged. The rest of the room could simply be described as average. The desk and chair provided a business area with a decent amount of space, though they did a poor job of hiding all the wires for the internet, lamp, and phone which can all be seen in one big bunch along the wall. Obviously not important, but it does take away from the visual effect that Marriott properties usually provide. The lounging chair was comfy, and the bathroom was very clean and provided ample room. My main complaint was the TV shelving. I had no problem with the TV itself, as despite being a older TV (not a flat screen) it still offered good picture and lots of channels. The issue was the TV stand doors would not stay open and would partially block the TV for the person laying on the far side of the bed. I guess it's nice to hide the TV when not in use, but with faulty doors it kind of defeats the purpose...

The location and surrounding area of the hotel are great, especially if you are in town to see a sporting even or concert. The Air Canada Centre is about a 10-15 minute walk away, and you are also very close to Union Station which provides subway lines that run north to the rest of Downtown and surrounding areas. Front street offers many dinning options and bars as well.

Overall it's a good hotel, but not at the full price rates they sometimes offer on their website. Most of the price seems to be based on the novelty at staying in a baseball stadium and not as much to do with the actual quality of the room.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

Having been billed on my VISA for more than twice the amount of my "Final bill" left under my door, I was then rudely interrupted on the phone by the sales manager while I tried to explain this fact and told that the hotel would not refund my money.
Also, we experienced very incompetent staff at the desk. (Our room was not ready at 4:30 of the day of check-in, and we had 3 babies with us! No one had noted on our reservation that we needed cribs, although I had called 3 times to verify that, etc.)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2009

Spent three nights at this hotel and we were extremely pleased with the standard of the hotel. I've stayed at most of the different Marriott brands but this was my first time in the Renaissance chain. The room had a lot of modern conveniences, an extremely comfortable bed and a luxurious bathroom with plenty of towels and rather nice toiletries. The location is ideal for the Entertainment District and a five minute walk to the nearest Subway Station and although the rooms mostly face onto the rather busy rail tracks the rooms are soundproof. For those interested in leisure facilities the pool area sports a jacuzzi and sauna and the gym is well stocked with modern equipment (according to my better half).

There are one or two niggles. Internet for non-laptop holders is expensive and having to pay for coffee in the lobby at breakfast seems a bit cheap and I personally found the lobby area and entrance a bit underwhelming. We got a great rate booking directly through Marriott but I think I'd be reluctant to pay the extra dollars for the full rate, I'd rather pay an equivalent price and stay at the Residence which is just across the street and has superior rooms and breakfast included.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

Recently, we stayed for a night in Renaissance and we got a decent offer directly from marriott website. The room is great, comfortable enough for a couple. The hotel is in the heart of the downtown, all attractions are nearby. From the restaurant, the hotel offers a good view of the Rogers Skydome and the hotel was crowded since there was a match on the day. The only thing which we didn't like is there was no complimentary items. Everything is charged right from Water bottle (costs $4.5), Parking ($20), Internet ($15).. For the money we are paying, these stuff should be offered free. Overall, it's a nice stay but there may be hotels around which would offer many complimentary stuff for the same charge..

  • Liked — View of the Skydome
  • Disliked — No complimentary stuff
  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel

Address: 1 Blue Jays Way, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#29 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#32 Family Hotel in Toronto
#33 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charge up for business productivity or wind down for leisure creativity. You set the pace at the Renaissance Toronto Hotel Downtown. This 348-room hotel has the amenities and service excellence for following your lead and meeting your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Toronto
Toronto Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.