We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Blue Jays Way, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J4, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #32 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
hamilton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2008

The room,lobby and staff are above average.Location is one of the best!!! But the pool was below average. Water drips from the ceiling on your head constantly (no vent or fan system), some areas are actually moldy.
Also, from the elevator to our room was about a 2 block walk.They keep the second set of elevators on service (would have saved us all that walking).
We all agreed that if we ever get this hotel again,we would ask for a room closer to the elevator and none of us would take our swimsuits.

  • Liked — rooms and lobby area
  • Disliked — the pool was not nice and too far of a walk to our room from the elevators that were running
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    407
    179
    64
    38
See reviews for
232
336
68
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2008

I can't believe Priceline rated this 4 stars (their top rating)--it is a giant bus station of a hotel. The only positive is that the room I was in was palatial. But the room was dingy, the lobby stark and the crowds noisy.Empty beer bottles in the elevator, cigarette butts and ashes in the stairwell. The whole place felt soiled and gone to seed. I haven't paid for in-room computer service in a couple of years-- I was bummed they charge for this about $13 plus tax! If I were here to watch baseball, I would tolerate it perhaps--otherwise I will be wary of Priceline. Also, parking was a total nightmare. You take a confusing ride around the block "3 lefts and a right" and then worm your way underground to find the hotel's purple area-- which was blocked off with trash cans because it was full. Had to deal with gruff parking attendant who directed me to an impossibly tight spot and disappeared. Then had to lug stuff around underground to make my way to the hotel's elevator since I wasn't able to park in the hotel spots. Hardly a four star experience!

  • Liked — Big room
  • Disliked — Beer bottles in elevators and dingy old decor
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

Recieved a good deal on this hotel and was surprised by the room I received. Nice lobby, friendly staff.. The hallways seemed like they could use some improvement (didn't have a 'nice hotel' feel).. A good location but the self parking was a little tricky.. This hotel is even better of course if you plan to spend time around the Rogers Center, ACC or CNTower. Everything is walkable, but if you plan to spend alot of time shopping, a hotel a little more uptown could be better for you. I would recommend and definately would stay again.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORF
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2008

The hotel is located in downtown with a walking distance to major attractions.
When we arrived to the hotel we were given a small smokey room. After spending some time in the reception, they agreed to change it to something more descent. One of the cool things about it is that you can see the stadium from their restaurant, so if you're a sport fan, this is the place for you!
Overall, pretty average experience.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Service and quality of some of the rooms
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon, New York
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

The renaissance downtown is great if you want to see a Blue Jays game. Otherwise I think you can do better. Our room smelled musty, the toilet was tricky, but everything was clean and neat. I do think that wireless internet should come free, which it doesn't at this hotel. i have stayed at small b&b's that offer free wireless internet, you're telling me that this place can't?

The bar with the view of the stadium was cool and is definately worth a look. The front desk staff all were very nice and helpful w/ good restaurant suggestions and they helped us to get a reservation for lunch at the CN Tower.

If I go back to Toronto, which would only be for a game, I would probably try another property.

  • Liked — The fact that it was attached to the Rogers Centre.
  • Disliked — Musty smelling room, ac not working,trick toilet, no free internet
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earlton, Ontario
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

This was actually my first experience with hotwire. I was very nervous about it, and when i found out hat i was staying at the renaissance, I could hardly believer it. Seeing as though i was a tad naiive about the whole hotwire thing, I called the renaissance to confirm my reservation the next day, and I was told that all was good, and that my room was all set.

The location itself was fantastic. They have valet parking, but to save some money, drive your own car to the underground lot. It is very easy to get to, just follow the valet's instructions. Basically, all you do is turn left coming out of the entrence, follow that road until you hit a stop sign. Turn left again and look for the sign. It is right across the street from a huge video store. I am sure you can guess which one.

This hotel is situated smack dab in the heart of the city. It was a 5 minute walk to the ACC a,d a short cab drive or walk from the heart of downtown. PERFECT!

We were given a city view room which was fine, as there was no events at the rogers center that weekend. I do recommend taking the rogers center tour though, as it was very interesting, and relatively cheap.

We got a standard room that was absolutely perfect. The washroom itself was one of the nicest i have ever seen in a hotel.

If you are looking to book a trip to enjoy the city, then look no further than this gem. Mind you, I am sure all the 4 star hotels in the city have their own pros and cons.

  • Liked — The location, the beautiful room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoVA
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2008

We were in Toronto for a long weekend. We chose this hotel because it was part of the Rogers Centre and for its proximity to Chinatown.

The hotel itself is OK, the rooms are nice and clean, though seem a bit dated. The hallways were long, and the pool and gym were quite far from the rooms (almost like walking through a maze).

The best part of the stay was going to the restaurant/bar after a long morning of shopping and having a drink while watching the Blue Jays beat the Red Sox. We had a great time and it was just what we needed prior to heading out to Chinatown for shopping and dinner.

We had a great rate and vouchers for the breakfast buffet, which was very nice. The parking was a bit expensive, however.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel

Address: 1 Blue Jays Way, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#29 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#32 Family Hotel in Toronto
#33 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charge up for business productivity or wind down for leisure creativity. You set the pace at the Renaissance Toronto Hotel Downtown. This 348-room hotel has the amenities and service excellence for following your lead and meeting your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Toronto
Toronto Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.