We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Blue Jays Way, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J4, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #29 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I truly enjoyed this hotel. The location is excellent, so convenient to all the local attractions. The staff was exscellent,very friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable and clean and spacious. I strongly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    402
    175
    63
    38
See reviews for
229
331
66
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was our third time staying at the Renaissance, and we have a blast when we come for baseball games. We love the rooms that face the field, since you feel like your room is your own private suite in the stadium. The rooms are clean, the hotel staff are incredibly friendly and efficient, and the food is great. We also love the buffet breakfast downstairs at Arriba. It's a great spot for a "staycation" if you're into sports/entertainment, and we plan on visiting again soon!

Room Tip: If you like being part of the action, then the field view rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We recently stayed here for a Blue Jays game.
Upon our arrival, the room wasn't ready but the nice lady at the desk phoned up to housekeeping and it was cleaned within 1.5 hrs while we waited in the lobby.
Being our anniversary, my boyfriend requested a special room in advance. While a field room was not available, we were given a very nice and spacious corner room complete with two TV's, a separate seating area and a boardroom table! Our bathroom came with a jacuzzi tub and shower with double sinks. We were blown away.
The room was clean and, surprisingly, quiet despite the number of other young Blue Jays fans staying at the hotel.
We had a great time here and would definitely recommend to friends and family. We will be returning. Our only complaint was that our room was located so far away from an elevator and we were unable to find ice machines.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Recently stayed at renaissance. It was a special occasion for us and the hotel provided a free upgrade. We arrived at 11 am and our room was not ready. We were offered a standard room if we didnt want to wait. but was assured there was going to be a suite ready in one hour.
We waited the hour and our room was ready as promised.
The room was very nice and large. There was quite a walk from the elevator to the room. but it was worth the walk.
The hotel staff was very friendly.
i would definitely recommend this hotel. it is in a great location. very convenient if you are watching a jays game.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The front staff were very helpfully and the room was clean. The parking is confusing, but we got it sorted out. Easy access to downtown Toronto. We had a great time, probably helped that there was no game.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I was pleased with my stay at this hotel. It was not as superb as my expectations are for Renaissance hotels. But, this is a very good hotel,but, it does need an update. But, our room was comfortable. The staff was great. The restaurant was quite enjoyable, especially the view. I would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed at this hotel to go to 2 Blue Jays games on a Fri-Sat. Booked well ahead of time and asked for a quiet room as I know there are people there to see ball games. We were given a room on the 1st floor and pretty much near the elevator. There was a party on our floor that was incredibly loud and vulgar, 2 calls to the front desk did nothing, they really didnt care. Beds were old and creaky, did not sleep much at all. Heater/AC/Fan did not work at all. Bathroom was ok but could be updated. Pool and fitness area was 5 star and very enjoyable. As for parking, was told it was 24 hours for $20. Upon checkout i was advised that if i left after 1:00pm it would be another $10. Was not too pleased. We were overall not happy with this hotel and it doesnt take much to satisfy us. Internet cost was high, signal was very low anyways. Didnt pay it. Although very close to Rogers Centre we will never stay here again. Too many better options in downtown TO.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceTO, Director of Room Operations at Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Paul J,
Thank you for your detailed review. I apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. This is never our intention. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay further with you. Please email me at fo@renaissancetoronto.com with your contact information.
Best Regards,
Andrea Copeland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel

Address: 1 Blue Jays Way, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#23 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#28 Family Hotel in Toronto
#32 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charge up for business productivity or wind down for leisure creativity. You set the pace at the Renaissance Toronto Hotel Downtown. This 348-room hotel has the amenities and service excellence for following your lead and meeting your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Otel, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Toronto
Toronto Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.