We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but awkward location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Blue Jays Way, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J4, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Toronto Blue Jays Package
Ranked #28 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Ontario
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great hotel but awkward location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Renaissance once again provided excellent accommodation and hospitality. We enjoyed our two nights there thoroughly: the comfortable bed; the crisp white linens; the two sinks in the bathroom; the Aveda cosmetics; the great breakfasts. But for those not attending sports events in the Rogers Centre on which it abuts, the hotel's location is awkward. The hotel is distant from any subway station, and if one doesn't want to walk the 20 minutes to Union Station each time, taxis are the only alternative. Our total cab expenditure for the weekend wasin excess of $70. It would be wise for guests to factor this additional cost into the price of a holiday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceTO, Director of Room Operations at Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Stanbrook,
Thank you for submitting a review. Your feedback is important to us. Although our location was not ideal for the purpose of your visit, I am pleased to hear that you found your guestroom to be spacious and comfortable. I will relay your positive comments about the breakfast offerring to our Chef as well.
Best Regards,
Andrea Copeland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    440
    182
    65
    38
See reviews for
250
359
71
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Got a room with two double beds with a city view. The room was very spacious and had large windows. Bathroom was big with two sinks and carrera marble counter and tiles. Didn't like the round faucet as it was hard to turn on and off (this is a personal preference, as I like the one lever style). They have Aveda quality soap. All the amenities that you will want. I had access to the Concierge Lounge which had some fruit and cold cuts along with some coffee, water, juices. Overall, a very good hotel. Very close to the CBC studio and of course the Blue Jays play there! Staff were always pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceTO, Director of Room Operations at Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Activeblossom,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback regarding the bathroom fixtures. We are in the process of phasing out the rounded handles. I am pleased that our location, the amenities offerred, and service received, met your needs.
Regards,
Andrea Copeland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I've stayed here several times. This time, service seemed improved, and the room was huge. Everything was clean. I needed a map when checking out, and the front desk was kind enough to print one out , on the spot. Had a great time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceTO, Director of Room Operations at Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear ibookstore,
Thank you for your rave review. I am pleased to hear that the service you received was excellent and that the room size exceeded your expectations. We appreciate your taking the time to submit a review.
Best Regards,
Andrea Copeland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at the Renaissance Toronto Downtown exclusively for the feature of staying in one of the rooms that overlooked the field at Rogers Centre. My 13 year old son said it was the coolest thing he had ever experienced. The room itself was mediocre for $300+ per night - small and a little oddly configured. The room service left a litle to be desired. The second night we moved to a room with a city view for about half the price and the room was much larger and nicer. The staff was very friendly and even allowed us to move into our new room early the next day instead of waiting until check in time which was a big help for us. The location was great - we were able to walk to everything we had planned during our stay. We would stay here again - especially to see a ballgame.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceTO, Director of Room Operations at Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you TampaDana for your review. I am pleased that your son enjoyed the stadium view room and that the city view room provided a large space and comfortable stay for you both. We are conveniently located near to many of the downtown attractions. It sounds as though you were able to explore the neighborhood and all that it has to offer.
We look forward to your next visit.
Best regards,
Andrea Copeland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Good location of the hotel...within walking distance to many places...but the offsite parking is a bit of a pain.
The long hotel hallways look like old block wall and give you a claustrapobic weird feeling.
The bedroom was clean but dated.
The bathroom was surface clean, but with lots of discolouring and peeling and gross stuff on the ceiling tiles and fan.
Check in and out were fast, but not very helpful...upon check-in we asked for a room with a view and on a high floor...we got a room with no view on a low floor...and the hotel was not busy. On check-out we found out we were charged for using the internet...nowhere does it say that you will be charged for this and we were able to just use the wifi without agreeing to pay anything...weird. Be careful of this.
The pool and fitness area are great...above average.
So I have to give this place an average rating...nothing horrible but nothing great either.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceTO, Director of Room Operations at Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Nefertari0422,
Thank you for your feedback. It is a useful tool for us in evaluating our product and service. We appreciate that the design or decor in the hotel may not meet everyone's tastes. I am pleased to report that we anticipate changes in this area to come.
If you decide to give us a second chance, please inquire about our onsite parking options in Rogers Centre. Valet and self-parking are available and the lot is accessible through the Hotel Lobby.
Best Regards,
Andrea Copeland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I booked a standard room, and were surprised to have been upgraded to the King Suite! I think it's because the hotel wasn't busy, and when we arrived at reception, we asked for a room with a mini fridge. She said that she wasn't sure if the room we were booked in had a fridge so she said she'd switch us to one that had a fridge for sure. What a surprise!! It was fantastic. But, normally we would never book a suite, so it's hard to compare this to other high-end rooms. My husband went to the gym and said it was top-knotch. There is a lobby bar that overlooks the stadium, which I'm sure is packed on game days, but was still nice to check out when it was empty. Parking was an extra $20/day. Wifi is free IF you sign up for their free Marriott rewards card ... which we did.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceTO, Director of Room Operations at Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear OntarioJenn,
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay in one of our the suites. When availability allows, we like to cease the opportunity to delight our guests unexpectedly with an upgrade. I am so glad you appreciated the room and amenities included.
Happy New Year.
Andrea Copeland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel

Address: 1 Blue Jays Way, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#22 Family Hotel in Toronto
#26 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#27 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charge up for business productivity or wind down for leisure creativity. You set the pace at the Renaissance Toronto Hotel Downtown. This 348-room hotel has the amenities and service excellence for following your lead and meeting your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Toronto
Toronto Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.