We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Blue Jays Way, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J4, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Toronto Blue Jays Package
Ranked #29 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great Place To Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here after watching a Jays game. Really well organized, clean rooms, fantastic location!! I would recommend it to anyone!! The only negative, and it's not a big one, the hallways need to be updated..... Yellow curry coloured carpetting and walls, not so good!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    440
    182
    65
    38
See reviews for
250
359
71
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Near the Rogers Stadium, CN Tower, waterfront nearby and Front Street strip with bars and restaurants. Value OK but not cheap. Service personable and attentive. Best concierge in the business, Tatiana and excellent front desk. Rooms OK, generous size but not 4 star or for the value. Older hotel renovated. Annoying wifi $13 per day and poor quality, dropping out. Hopeless for Skype or reliability. Food and drink expensive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here 3 nights it was a good choice as it was within walking distance of Harbourfront, the Princess of Wales Theatre, numerous restaurants and shopping. A great getaway spot for an urban vacation - ditch the car and walk. We had a fourth floor standard room - with a loft area where the bed was. The trains run right below but they didn't bother us. I only wish that we had come when the. BlueJays were playing at home it would have been fun to catch a game and then just go to our room next door.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Township, Michigan
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Im sure at one time this hotel was very nice but now everything from top to bottom is outdated. For the money they charge you would think they would put some of it back in for improvments and updates.

Wife and I stayed here last weekend to catch a couple Blue Jays/Tigers games. We stayed on the top floor, king bed, city view. Our city view turned out to be a view of railroad tracks and a building on the other side of the tracks. The room itself wasnt too bad. It had a king bed, fridge, and all the normal bath stuff you would get at any hotel. The pool was decent but kind of a weird set up how you get to it. Be very carefull on the stairs down to the pool because its a lawsuit waiting to happen.

The restaraunt on the 1st floor was the highlight of the hotel because it overlooked the Rogers Centre field. The day we arrived we got off the elevator and the Blue Jays were in the middle of a game against Oakland. The hotel iteself is in a great location because it is attached to the Rogers Centre, right next door to the CN Tower, and a short walk to Steam Whistle Brewery which btw take the tour of if you have some time even if you dont like beer!

My only real gripe about the place is they nickel and dime you over everything. $20 to self park per day, ($30 for valet per day) $16 for wifi in your room, $2 for a to go coffee in the main lobby in the mornings. At the prices they are charging per night to stay there they should at least include those things. There is free wifi in the main lobby but it is pretty slow.

Overall I dont think I would every stay there again nor recommend this place to any of my friends or fellow trip advisor folks. Way over priced for what they have to offer.
Just an example... the week prior we stayed in downtown Chicago at a nicer hotel for 2/3's the cost and they included parking, free wifi, and free hot to order breakfast each morning. That is unheard of in Chicago for any of you that have ever been there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I got a wonderful price on hot wire.com (that was the first time I ever facilitated that website) and I really didn't expect for the hotel to be that good. However, I was completely wrong and the hotel was wonderful! Great location in Toronto - right next to the CN tower, beautiful hotel with many amenities, and giant rooms with great service! I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband, two oldest grandson (12 and 10) and I stayed here two nights last weekend when we went to see a Detroit Tigers/Blue Jays baseball game. It is obviously the perfect place to stay if you are going to a ball game since it is connected to the ballpark. As other reviewers have mentioned, the restaurant on the first floor has a big glass window which looks out over the field. It is a little pricey, and they seem to nickel and dime you to death; i.e., 5 oz. pour of wine instead of 6 oz. pour, $2 for to-go coffee, etc. Our room was huge, but I was a little irritated by the lack of amenties in the room--one bar of soap in bathroom instead of at least two (I asked for more), a space for a little refrigerator, but no refrigerator, etc. That said, however, I would definitely stay here again if going to a baseball game. Also, be sure to check into a behind-the-scenes tour of the Rogers Center. The concierge at the hotel told us about this, and we were fortunate enough to be able to go on one. It was really interesting and our grandsons loved it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here for to nights. Our King bed room was large and well appointed. Free internet. Its next to the Rodgers stadium and you can see the games from the restaurant on the first floor. This hotel is only a few minutes from the CN tower and from the Hop on Hop off bus stop which is great. This hotel is a long thin hotel, our room was at the end of the hall and just too far to walk with your heavy bags.Also we looked at a concrete wall. The room was large and comfortable ad the bathroom very nice. Ask for a room near the lifts on a high floor with a city view.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel

Address: 1 Blue Jays Way, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#23 Family Hotel in Toronto
#26 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#27 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charge up for business productivity or wind down for leisure creativity. You set the pace at the Renaissance Toronto Hotel Downtown. This 348-room hotel has the amenities and service excellence for following your lead and meeting your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Toronto
Toronto Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.