We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but dated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Blue Jays Way, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J4, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #32 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Ok but dated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Room was large but be sure to ask to be away from elevator as it is noisy. Bed comfortable but decor of room is boring. This hotel is functional but don't expect anything very upscale. Aveda products and Keurig machine in room nice touch.

Weird layout around elevators. Four elevators but when you get off on floor, there is a wall between elevator 2 and 3 meaning you have to walk in two different directions to get to your room depending on which elevator you get on. Rather confusing until you figure it out.

Food was excellent though. We had two days of meeting with catered food. Salads and entrees were all very tasty. Desserts rather ordinary though as meeting. Ate in restaurant and not only was main dishes good, so were the desserts. Our table had one of each!

I would stay here again for the right price.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    407
    179
    64
    38
See reviews for
232
336
68
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

This is not a four-star hotel. Sorry. Hallways are dim, dark and concrete. ("Unique", I suppose is another way to describe them.) Lobby and check-in is very basic and standard. No assistance with luggage was offered. The elevators took forever, which didn't even make sense - there are not that many floors.

Our room had some superficial upgrades - new carpet and bed for example - but infrastructure was average at best. The air circulation had a distinct and unusual odour, the bathroom sink had multiple cracks, there were gaps undereath and around the room door.

Unfortunately we were there when a huge slo-pitch ball tournament was taking place and rather than putting "other" guests together, we were interspersed with the teams. There was loud partying in the hall late (2:00am) into the night and the hotel did nothing to stop it. If you are going to accept groups of this size, which I understand, you must pay for a a security guard or two to maintain the peace - so to speak. There were also dozens of cigarette butts in the stairway the next morning.

The electronic check out on the television was very efficient and fast, which was great because we just wanted to get out of there.

Wonderful location for a reasonably-priced three-star hotel with large rooms. If you want a four-star hotel, do not stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceTO, Director of Rooms at Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear Travelhappy456,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. Feedback is always welcome and valuable in our continued efforts to upgrade areas where attention is needed. I encourage you to contact me with your room assignment so that I can immediately address the vanity in the room.

It is true. Our hotel is unique; from our hallways, to the layout of our rooms, to the annual events that we welcome throughout the year. This is all part of being attached to a stadium. There is never a dull moment.

That being said, we do communicate our events on our reservation sites and recognize that not all visitors to our hotel will be attending a scheduled event in the Rogers Centre. We do our best to separate guests based on their purpose for travel. The configuration of the hotel and the layout of the variety of room types can make room assignments a challenge. I will always recommend that an upcoming visitor call the hotel in advance if they are concerned about their room assignment.

We try to ensure that all of our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay by hiring extra security to guide traffic and to minimize noise. Slo-Pitch was not an exception. Even with added manpower, all areas of the hotel cannot be covered at once. Security is dispatched to areas where noise may be a concern. Otherwise they will cover off entrance points to ensure that only guests have hotel access during off hours.

We apologize that your stay did not measure up to your expectations. That is never our intention. Your feedback is of great value. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

Regards,
Andrea Copeland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We had an amzing time staying here! The room was perfect! A great time had by all! We stayed 2 nights for an event and we couldnt have asked for a more amazing weekend!! Good things were just one after the other! We also took advantage of the wonderful pool and hot tub, what a great way to end an evening!! Thanks Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel!

Room Tip: Look at the rooms online to get an idea! we stayed on 4 and it was very quiet! perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Our stay at the Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel was outstanding for our family trip to see Monster Jam this year. The stadium view rooms are the best way to see any event going on at the Rogers Center. And for a family of young children with short attention spans, there is nothing better than having a safe place for them to stretch their legs than the comfort and safety of your own hotel room. The rooms provide an amzing view of the stadium or the coty which ever you choose. The furniture is comfortable, especially the king size beds!! the service is amazing. The breakfast buffet in the main lobby restaurant is really good, with an omelette bar too. Great choices for young and old alike.
Overall, if you ever have the chance to take in a Rogers Center event from the comfort of a Renaissance stadium view room, DO IT!! But if you are just looking for a nicely decorated, spacious and comfortable room for your vacation to Toronto, the Renaissance is the place to go too!!! It is a little pricey, but well worth it when you see what you get for your money.

Room Tip: King Size Suite (behind the elevators on the 4th floor - room 439 to be exact) is huge and great for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vietnam
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

The hotel is so unique. Spacious & clean room, pleasant staff. Parking is a bit complicated with longer walking to lobby. Enjoyed the views of the stadium from restaurant (not from my room unfortunately). Rate is quite high but the location is fabulous!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

I contacted the hotel two weeks prior to discuss our requirements and the room was set up perfectly with lots of spacious room to move for a family of 4. We requested a room with a fridge to store milk for the little one's which was accomodated. Lots of extra pillows and blankets. Hotel restaurant is very good but pricey for the meals. (ie hamburger and fries $17.00)

Room Tip: Call in advance with specific requirements (ie 2 double beds, fridge, microwave, rollaway ect) to ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I recently stayed at the Renaissance Toronto for two nights. The location is very good to walk to the CN Tower, Air Canada Centre, Convention Centre, obviously the Skydome and many restaurants.
My room was small(853) and did not face into the sports field but the bed was comfortable and everything was clean. I gave this hotel average because the fixtures in the bathroom and room decor was dated and a little tired.
I would stay there again if I got the same reasonable rate compared to the more expensive options in the downtown core.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel

Address: 1 Blue Jays Way, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#29 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#32 Family Hotel in Toronto
#33 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charge up for business productivity or wind down for leisure creativity. You set the pace at the Renaissance Toronto Hotel Downtown. This 348-room hotel has the amenities and service excellence for following your lead and meeting your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Toronto
Toronto Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.