We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location but lots of conferences going on.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Blue Jays Way, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J4, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Toronto Blue Jays Package
Ranked #29 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location but lots of conferences going on.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

The rooms are nice and the bar is quite lively (being in view of the baseball field).

Location is good; near to union station, the CN Tower and the Rogers Centre.

The rooms could be a little more soundproof though, people walking in the corridor can wake you.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    440
    182
    65
    38
See reviews for
250
359
71
263
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

I agree with another guest that this was one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept on. We regret not checking out the mattress tag so we could buy one ourselves. The service was excellent, both at the front desk and from cleaning staff who checked on us the first night to see if we needed anything else. Although you require reservations for the restaurant within the ballpark, there are great ballpark views from the other hotel restaurant and bar, Arriba. As far as we could tell you didn't need any special reservations in order to sit here, even during game time, and the food was great.

We got an excellent rate on hot-wire, so my review is based on a very modest price point. Despite the comfort and quality, there weren't a lot of frills to this hotel so I probably would have downgraded this rating to a four if i had paid the full price (particularly for the pricey ball-park view rooms). They had Aveda bath products but the shower heads and water pressure were lacklustre, and there was some mystery orange "guck" on our bathroom wall which we didn't bother complaining about. Other than the guck, we loved it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

I chose this hotel because of the location and how easy it was to walk with 2 young kids to the Jays game. Obviously as it is attached to the Rogers Centre, it was perfect for this! Self parking is not easy to find but the valets helped us and gave us a nice pre-printed map. You drive around and park under the stadium but the elevator is right there for the hotel so it just seems like you are parking a couple blocks away.

There is a restaurant in the hotel where you could sit and watch the game and the option for rooms that view the game. Room prices are much more reasonable overlooking the city. I'll stay here again as the location is great for many of Toronto's top attractions. All service personnel were top class, no complaints there.

Be prepared, there is no free high-speed! It's an extra $13 for wired hi-speed and presumably the same for wifi, pretty crazy and surprising for a hotel like this in Toronto.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Unique location attached to Rogers Centre. Reasonably good service, well maintained but no wi fi in the rooms is a joke at these prices. I've been in third world countries with better technology. They do have wired internet access for those that are technologically operating in the past. Would not stay here again unless the hotel provided a minimal level of technology like Cora's the breakfast spot nearby.

Room Tip: Obviously and fairly there is a big price difference for the rooms with a view of the stadium
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We will go back. Very clean and everyone is friendly.
Every thing is easy to get to, shopping, places to eat and sight seeing.

Room Tip: Very clean rooms with soft towels. We will go back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordentown
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We traveled to Toronto from New Jersey for a Phillies road trip. The hotel location is perfect if you are taking in any event at the Rogers Centre. We stayed on the top floor (11th) with a decent view of the city side. Rooms overlooking the inside of the stadium are ridiculously expensive, especially if you have tickets to the game as well. We were pleased with the cleanliness of the room and the houskeeping staff maintained the room nicely daily. We were a little surprised that there was only one restaurant in the hotel, but after seeing all the fine dining establishments withing a couple blocks walk, it is not a problem. In fact, we never moved our vehicle from the garage during our entire stay. We did have breakfast in the hotel restaurant and were treated very well by our server, Teri. The concierge representative, Monica, was excellent in her dining recommendations. A very nice hotel if you should stay in downtown Toronto.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

This is one of those hotels where you imagine the environment and amenities are really top notch but while nicely equipped, this hotel only leaves one feeling satisfied, not impressed. The front entrance staff is 'cold', the rooms are slightly above average and the pool area lacks a sauna or a steam room. To be honest the pool area is more akin to a decent into a gray dungeon with artificial light and limited seating.

The location remains this hotel's selling feature. A short walk to the waterfront or to Union Station is super convenient.

If you can get a deal (less than $100 a night) then by all means go for it. If you are forced to pay more then I would reconsider.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel

Address: 1 Blue Jays Way, Toronto, Ontario M5V 1J4, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#23 Family Hotel in Toronto
#26 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#27 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charge up for business productivity or wind down for leisure creativity. You set the pace at the Renaissance Toronto Hotel Downtown. This 348-room hotel has the amenities and service excellence for following your lead and meeting your every need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Toronto
Toronto Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Toronto Downtown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.