We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Victoria to your Saves list
Hotel Victoria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   56 Yonge St., Toronto, Ontario M5E 1G5, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Port Hope, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I had good and bad experienecs for a first time at this hotel. The hotel gave us a free breakfast since it was our anniversary which was incredibly generous. Beds were VERY comfortable as were the pillows and the rooms were nice. Checking in and Checking out our clerks were very polite and helpful. We were on the 7th floor with a room facing the street - at 10pm we heard music so loud we could hear the lyrics clearly but couldn't figure out where it was coming from. When I called down to complain (12am), the front desk gentleman said it was coming from a club across the street and "nothing he could do". I asked for ear plugs and he told me they didn't have any. I found out in the morning that it was a club around the CORNER and the hotel had ended up calling the police as this was very out of the ordinary. What irritated me was that we were told in the morning that they had offered OTHER people rooms away from the street. When I said we were not offered this courtesy the front desk clerk apologized and said he would make a note as that should not have happened. The TV was ON when we arrived, and the door handle to the bathroom was in badly need of repair. I also found a metal holder from an item someone had bought that was left on one of the chairs in the room. One wall it was obvious a huge shelf used to be there - so wood filler and paint was needed. I would try this hotel again however...but I'd get a room not facing the street!

Room Tip: If you're not used to the city noise, ask for a room AWAY from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    310
    109
    35
    22
See reviews for
75
318
61
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Firstly, this is not a boutique hotel. "Boutique" indicates chic style. This is an old hotel which has been redecorated. At times it looks like the work was done by me - crooked light switches, scratched doors. The elevator has not been renovated - the doors squeak and groan.
Secondly, the staff are not welcoming. I arrived by taxi in sub-zero temperatures. I struggled through the front door with two bags. The guy behind the front desk sat and watched me. Didn't even hold the door open, let alone take a bag. In three days, no one on the front desk ever said hello or smiled.
Contrary to another post, this is not a quiet hotel. It is in downtown Toronto. Every night there were sirens wailing and the garbage men start work at around 6am.
This is an average, older, 3 star, city center hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in room 601. King room which was very nice and a very comfortable bed. Good shower/bathtub. the room faced Yonge St. and had the usual traffic noise but nothing too bad. Great front desk people. 10 minute walk from Union Station and very close to the Subway. Lots of dining options close by. All in all a perfect night and at a great cost through the hotel website.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have to say that I was very pleasantly surprised how nice this property was! At a very reasonable price that was right in the middle of the city, a 10-15 minute walk to the Rogers Center and convention center, very nice restaurants and Starbucks all around, you have a great location for all. The rooms would very nice, I would say the best I have seen for a room costing under $200 per night, and I paid at the time (Jan/Feb) only $125 per night average for three nights. The beds were fantastic, very high quality bedding, fluffy pillows (maybe too fluffy, could use some smaller/thinner sleeping pillows), the furniture, deck, electronics and bathroom were all very high quality. The cleanliness and room service was one of the highest levels I have seen in any hotel, even 4-5 Star hotels. They supplied two free bottle waters, per night for room and free coffee. The free Wifi was Okay, the signal was in and out at times, but overall manageable. Wifi is very importance for me for my job, but the bandwidth was not good enough to do video Skype with my wife back in the states, so that was about the only negative. The hotel staff were very nice and helpful. I would say the only few things I really missed was a small fitness room on the property and better bandwidth on the internet and smaller (sleeping) pillows added to the super fluffy setting type. I will be coming back and staying here again, I am very happy with the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights and it was a fantastic experience!
The rooms whilst not the most immense in size are newly renovated, clean and very beautifully decorated. The bed is beyond comfortable and the shower is excellent which are pretty much essential. The bathroom had a high end feel too with the shower being fitted out in high quality limestone tiles (it was immaculately clean too).

The location is perfect for getting around the city, with trains, buses & cabs literally on your doorstep. There is a huge choice of places to eat & drink as you are in such a prime location.
People on the front desk are charming and very amenable.
For the price, this is as good as it gets!!!!

If I had to choose 2 things that were ever so slightly less than *perfect* are:
In room heater- can get too hot , it is a fan, so I just used it to take the edge off the cold and then kept it off.
The ledge of the door for the shower collected a lot of water that could then spill onto the slippery tiled floor- so just be careful (I just wiped it inwards before I got out).

Other than that, this hotel, is really as great as all of the positive reviews and I would stay here again (without a question).

Room Tip: Rooms ending in *8* are perfect at the back of the hotel, very quiet and a teensy bit roomier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here during the Grey Cup. Our room was definitely small (and I have stayed in hotels in Manhattan, NY & Europe) but nice. Front desk staff was courteous and helpful. Location is a plus, it is close to the Eaton Centre, Hockey Hall Of Fame, CN Tower, Union Station, Metro Toronto Convention Centre, the Historic Distillery District. Lots of excellent restaurants to choose from in the area as well. Also the indoor/underground PATH makes walking in the downtown more bearable when it is cold.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My husband and I spent a weekend here for our wedding anniversary. We chose this location for it's walking distance to Union station, the Eaton Centre, the CN tower and several good restaurants we wanted to visit. For the price we paid we expected a clean comfortable room and decent service and that's exactly what we got. The front desk was quick and efficient at check in. Our room was tiny but we knew to expect that from previous reviews. We were on the 6th floor with the infamous 'brick wall' view. You know what? Brick walls are very nice and quiet at night. We never heard a bit of traffic noise from the very busy street the hotel sits on. That being said we did hear some noise from inside the hotel itself as the rooms don't seem to be exceptionally sound proof. Nothing we couldn't tune out by turning the tv on though. Our very tiny bathroom had an excellent shower and that's all we really needed for the weekend.
There's a very good breakfast/lunch place located in the lobby behind reception, everything you could get at a Cora's. All in all we would definitely go again.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the quieter your night. Also rooms with a brick wall view are even quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Address: 56 Yonge St., Toronto, Ontario M5E 1G5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victoria has been completely renovated! Our brand new guestrooms feature new beds with pillow top mattresses, hardwood floors, LCD TVs, and custom designed, modern furniture. The new lobby features a mix of classic and contemporary furnishings. The hotel's ideal Yonge Street location is within walking distance of shopping, dining and major downtown attractions, and just steps away from the Subway and Ground Transit Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Otel, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Toronto
Hotel Victoria Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.