We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place/great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Victoria to your Saves list
Hotel Victoria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   56 Yonge St., Toronto, Ontario M5E 1G5, Canada (Downtown West)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 139 Hotels in Toronto
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Beautiful Place/great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed one night to meet up with friends. The manager is a doll and soooo welcoming. The staff was so very helpful and friendly. They advised us to better parking. The rooms were great, the beds comfy and the breakfast in the restaurant hot and delicious.We definately will be back.Close to all amenities.(Eaton Centre, St.Lawrence Market.) Thanks to all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    329
    116
    38
    24
See reviews for
84
328
68
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We arrived at this boutique hotel by chance. We were greeted warmly. The room was very clean and spacious.It was very central and within walking distance of the theatre.I would have no hesitation in recommending here. Full marks to Erskin Lacey and Ariana Ramserran. They could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We chose this lovely vintage hotel because it is so close to the main railway
station and we were leaving early the next morning for Niagara Falls. The hotel
has modern interior decor but is one of the classical turn of the century hotels with
lots of charm. Staff were very helpful and rooms were comfortable and reasonably
priced.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed for three nights at the end of October. The rooms are small but very stylish with comfortable beds. Receptionists were very helpful. The hotel is In the centre of Toronto and close to many attractions. We walked to the CN Tower, Chinatown and the St Lawrence Market. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a resonably priced stay and doesn't mind small rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights in August and was somewhat disappointed with this hotel. I was swiftly checked into my room (rm 525) at 12pm which was great considering i had just arrived via train from Montreal. But, I was allocated a very tiny room on the 5th floor and upon entering it, i noticed there wasn't any room to swing a cat in, let alone a place for my luggage.
The rooms although recently renovated are lovely, BUT, the floors creaked with every step you took which was annoying, the bathroom was tiny and you couldn't sit on the toilet properly (even with the door closed), there was absolutely no where to place your toiletry bag on the vanity, which for a female is a problem. My room faced three brick walls and i couldnt tell whether it was day or night, i requested a room change and was advised it would cost me a further $125 per night, i had already forked out enough for my 3 night stay, i dont need a view, but be nice to know whether its sunny or raining......in my case the weather wasn't the best in late august.....lots of rain.
The small table was cluttered with gadgets for the tv, that never worked for the 3 days during my stay (I like to listen to the news in the mornings, but never could)
Like other reviewers, i was sold a king size and found the bed to be a lot smaller, not very comfortable either, but if you like claustraphobic, this hotel is for you. The elevator is old and your wait was long, considering it only had 6 levels to travel.
As for location, it was centrally located on Yonge St and close to the shops, restaurants and Dundas place, which is ok.
I took the chariots of fire tour to Niagara falls and when i had advised front desk clerk that i had done that, he wasn't too happy that i hadn't booked the tour the hotel offered and questioned whether i had already paid for chariots of fire and go for theirs instead......that kinda bothered me a lil, but didn't ruin my stay.
All in all, the only thing i can say is that if your travelling alone, its fine, but if there is two of you staying at this hotel, be prepared to climb over each other.........If i was to return to Toronto, i would seek another hotel......in saying that, if i got a cheaper rate, then i would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent location, helpful staff, updated rooms, very, very good value. Limited services - no laundry, no room service, no business centre or gym or pool. We use this hotel regularly for our business trips to Toronto - basic functional accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I don't like big, chain hotels but it's hard to avoid them in cities. Hotel Victoria is a great find.
It seems to have been stylishly refurbished and the rooms are a reasonable size for a city centre hotel and well appointed.
We had a deluxe king room for a reasonable (city) price of around $160. Good bathroom, decent TV, fridge, desk, free wifi, aircon and heating...
Staff were very helpful and there is an attached coffee shop for breakfast - or one over the road.
We would stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking Yonge Street so it can be a bit noisy. A room at the back may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toronto hotels
Downtown West
The Strathcona Hotel
The Strathcona Hotel
#67 of 139 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 stars 1,005 reviews
Downtown
Bond Place Hotel
Bond Place Hotel
#57 of 139 in Toronto
3.5 of 5 stars 1,855 reviews
Downtown
Novotel Toronto Centre
Novotel Toronto Centre
#50 of 139 in Toronto
4.0 of 5 stars 1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown West
One King West Hotel & Residence
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Toronto Downtown
Downtown
Doubletree by Hilton Toronto Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Address: 56 Yonge St., Toronto, Ontario M5E 1G5, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown West , Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victoria has been completely renovated! Our brand new guestrooms feature new beds with pillow top mattresses, hardwood floors, LCD TVs, and custom designed, modern furniture. The new lobby features a mix of classic and contemporary furnishings. The hotel's ideal Yonge Street location is within walking distance of shopping, dining and major downtown attractions, and just steps away from the Subway and Ground Transit Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Toronto
Hotel Victoria Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.