We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Victoria

Save Saved
You added Hotel Victoria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   56 Yonge St., Toronto, Ontario M5E 1G5, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
NON-REFUNABLE RATE
Ranked #41 of 142 hotels in Toronto
Christchurch, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We arrived at this boutique hotel by chance. We were greeted warmly. The room was very clean and spacious.It was very central and within walking distance of the theatre.I would have no hesitation in recommending here. Full marks to Erskin Lacey and Ariana Ramserran. They could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    257
    95
    25
    20
See reviews for
64
260
55
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We chose this lovely vintage hotel because it is so close to the main railway
station and we were leaving early the next morning for Niagara Falls. The hotel
has modern interior decor but is one of the classical turn of the century hotels with
lots of charm. Staff were very helpful and rooms were comfortable and reasonably
priced.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed for three nights at the end of October. The rooms are small but very stylish with comfortable beds. Receptionists were very helpful. The hotel is In the centre of Toronto and close to many attractions. We walked to the CN Tower, Chinatown and the St Lawrence Market. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a resonably priced stay and doesn't mind small rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights in August and was somewhat disappointed with this hotel. I was swiftly checked into my room (rm 525) at 12pm which was great considering i had just arrived via train from Montreal. But, I was allocated a very tiny room on the 5th floor and upon entering it, i noticed there wasn't any room to swing a cat in, let alone a place for my luggage.
The rooms although recently renovated are lovely, BUT, the floors creaked with every step you took which was annoying, the bathroom was tiny and you couldn't sit on the toilet properly (even with the door closed), there was absolutely no where to place your toiletry bag on the vanity, which for a female is a problem. My room faced three brick walls and i couldnt tell whether it was day or night, i requested a room change and was advised it would cost me a further $125 per night, i had already forked out enough for my 3 night stay, i dont need a view, but be nice to know whether its sunny or raining......in my case the weather wasn't the best in late august.....lots of rain.
The small table was cluttered with gadgets for the tv, that never worked for the 3 days during my stay (I like to listen to the news in the mornings, but never could)
Like other reviewers, i was sold a king size and found the bed to be a lot smaller, not very comfortable either, but if you like claustraphobic, this hotel is for you. The elevator is old and your wait was long, considering it only had 6 levels to travel.
As for location, it was centrally located on Yonge St and close to the shops, restaurants and Dundas place, which is ok.
I took the chariots of fire tour to Niagara falls and when i had advised front desk clerk that i had done that, he wasn't too happy that i hadn't booked the tour the hotel offered and questioned whether i had already paid for chariots of fire and go for theirs instead......that kinda bothered me a lil, but didn't ruin my stay.
All in all, the only thing i can say is that if your travelling alone, its fine, but if there is two of you staying at this hotel, be prepared to climb over each other.........If i was to return to Toronto, i would seek another hotel......in saying that, if i got a cheaper rate, then i would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent location, helpful staff, updated rooms, very, very good value. Limited services - no laundry, no room service, no business centre or gym or pool. We use this hotel regularly for our business trips to Toronto - basic functional accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, UK
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I don't like big, chain hotels but it's hard to avoid them in cities. Hotel Victoria is a great find.
It seems to have been stylishly refurbished and the rooms are a reasonable size for a city centre hotel and well appointed.
We had a deluxe king room for a reasonable (city) price of around $160. Good bathroom, decent TV, fridge, desk, free wifi, aircon and heating...
Staff were very helpful and there is an attached coffee shop for breakfast - or one over the road.
We would stay there again.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking Yonge Street so it can be a bit noisy. A room at the back may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We travelled to Toronto in August and stayed in this hotel for 5 days. It was in a great location and for the budget was a really good hotel. The hotel is 2 minutes from the subway so very convenient. We took the 192 bus from the airport (which is much cheaper than the official airport bus) to Kipling station and then the subway into central Toronto. The hotel is an easy walk away from the key sites in Toronto (CN Tower, ferry to the islands etc). We would also recommend a visit to the Steam Whistle Brewery. There tour was very informative and very reasonably priced and there were plenty of free samples!!
The hotel room was on the small side, but this did not bother us. There were tea and coffee making facilities in the room. It had a subscription to Netflix so you could watch films on demand for free.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay here and would definately return if we are ever in Toronto again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Address: 56 Yonge St., Toronto, Ontario M5E 1G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victoria 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victoria has been completely renovated! Our brand new guestrooms feature new beds with pillow top mattresses, hardwood floors, LCD TVs, and custom designed, modern furniture. The new lobby features a mix of classic and contemporary furnishings. The hotel's ideal Yonge Street location is within walking distance of shopping, dining and major downtown attractions, and just steps away from the Subway and Ground Transit Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Toronto
Hotel Victoria Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.